We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great human quality”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Papaya Guesthouse

leading to paradis
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
leading to paradis
from the garden surrounded  by papaya
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
leading to paradis
from the garden
surrounded  by papaya
outdoor shower for coming back from the beach
view from the main bedroom
main bedroom with private bathroom
breakfast area
kitchen
stair leading to the living room
dining area
veranda with hamac
bathroom
room with outdoor shower
relaxing in style with hamac
30 SQM living room
bedroom
inviting relaxing area
main bedroom
view from the road
fully furnished kitchen
45 SQF living room
hope to see you soon :)
just waiting for you
BBQ area with Ferocious guard dog :)... careful those sausage though
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Eden Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Vero R
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great human quality”
Reviewed 8 December 2017 for a stay in October 2016

This is an atypical review because we were not guests of Papaya, but we had the chance to feel the great human quality of their owners. The story goes like this : My boyfriend and me were on vacation in Mahé and we rented a car to travel the island. On our way back to the hotel the brakes of our car began to fail, we were on the middle of a slope and we couldn't stop ... we almost crashed, but finally we managed to hand-brake and ended up on the other side of the road. I was completely in shock and couldn't stop crying ... luckily just in front of us there was the Papaya Guesthouse. We entered and they treated us like if we were real guests ... they gave us a cup of tea and allowed us to make a phone call to the car rental service (our phone had no signal). Not only they offered us their hospitality but really calmed us and let us stay with them until the car-rental picked us up. In our conversations we could really feel that there are still people that will give their best completely for free, and that's something that's quite forgotten nowadays. Our review is just to truly say THANK YOU. Next time we decide to visit the island we will stay there for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rellielop...
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a pleasant stay at Papaya guesthouse last July2016. It is far from the city proper but you'll find the place relaxing. The room is clean and the staff are very accommodating.Thank you to the owner for their warm welcome to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDTravel2...
Sabie, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and hot”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the guesthouse at the end of September. The house was nice and clean and the owner very friendly and helpful. The bedding was ok. I would recommend this guesthouse more for a group of backpackers. Good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p c
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, welcoming, charming guesthouse owners”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I travelled to the Papaya Guesthouse with a group of self-centered, rude people. After two excruciatingly painful days with that group, we decided to part ways with them and organize our own vacation. The Pellisiers, owners of the Papaya Guest House, provided outstanding service in making us feel welcome, helping with the logistics of organizing a car rental, sports equipment, providing sightseeing advice etc. They made us feel a part of their wonderful family. Prospective renters who would like to get away from it all will appreciate the tranquility of the area and the stunning views of the papaya garden and dense vegetation, from the cool terrace.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Guesthouse owners were warm, welcoming, very helpful; stunningly beautiful location.
Liked least: No fan in bedroom, could be stuffy when temperatures topped 30 celcius.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
You are most welcomed!!
Best regards and hope to see you guys one day!

Garry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the welcoming of owner
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing