We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Hurdlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Postcode: SK17 9QJ
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

The best place to eat bar none. The food is great staff are friendly. There is a massive choice of specials on the board. You will need to book ax it gets full regulary.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    155
    30
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, Uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hearty fare for walkers (or drivers!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Just off the Ashbourne to Buxton road by the Tissington Trail is this welcoming dining pub. Really friendly people, good quality home prepared food using local suppliers, varied menu, generous portions, reasonable prices, real ales and an open fire - what more could you ask?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Supersized portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

The food at this pub is always brilliant. The menu is very extensive so there is always something for everyone no matter what their tastes are (also has some coeliac and gluten free options) Good selection of beers and wines and as it's winter there were mulled wine and cider available (very tasty!) The main part of the pub has an open fire which makes the place feel welcoming. We have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed with the food. If I had a complaint at all it would be the portion sizes - they are huge! In order to manage a dessert I had to leave half my meal (it wasn't wasted though, it was kindly wrapped in foil so I could take it home to savour the next day!) It always seems to be busy here so booking is recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULENEHighPeakUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

At last a decent pub! The Royal Oak at Hurdlow. We were warmly welcomed by a super efficient and very friendly young lady who arranged our drinks and told us to sit where we liked and brought the menus to us. The four ales on pump were all local except for the Cornish Doombar, and served at the proper temperature and not icy cold as in other pubs we had visited. As it was my turn to drive I could only sample one which was excellent.
As for the food I had taken a recommendation from the Peak District Food & Drink guide and ordered the Beef & Stilton pie It did not disappoint and lived up to its recommendation as being ‘humungous’ (not a word in my vocabulary) and was as delicious as large with home made chips and veg. My wife had slow cooked Lamb Shank which was equally large and delicious.
We spent the evening perusing the menu deciding what we will have the next time we called. As we live nearly 200 miles away we agreed we must have a fortnight staying up here a call every night!
I finished the meal by being greedy, as I really had no room left, and had had the sticky toffee pudding, which was also recommended in the guide. Again home made and excellent. How the reviewer in the guide managed a starter as well I’ll never know. The staff, all young ladies, were very pleasant, chatty and helpful and looked after not just us but everyone in the pub very well – what a great experience. No wonder its one of Peak Districts favourite pubs, and one of mine now.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorbertSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carsington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

This a great place I will be visiting again and again.The portions are big no need to have the starters just share one with friends.The menu is large so I think some must be cooked from frozen but good anyway.relaxed no rush to get you out.Very efficient service just wish it was closer to our home.There is space in a field outside to camp not tied that yet,maybe a plan for 2013.I here the breakfast is worth a try! Have a good walk first and treat yourselve to a feast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DougCarsington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Hartington, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing