We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bampton triangle cycle challenge”
Review of Bull I' Th' Thorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bull I' Th' Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hurdlow B&B and Inns
Bampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bampton triangle cycle challenge”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay during our 730 mile challenge. We found this pub by chance and it was great. Mike the landlord was very hospitable. He made sure that we were very well looked after when we arrived tired. He made an extra special effort to be around for us when we wanted to leave early. He provided the best breakfast we have had for a long time. More than we could eat I would very highly recommend this pub for a stay if you are near Buxton.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    48
    10
    8
    11
See reviews for
17
94
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I went here for a meal with my mother after buying a voucher on groupon. The meal we had was delicious and good value for money (even without a groupon!) the interior of the pub is just amazing, eclectic and unique. We had fun looking at the different things spotted around the place, including the toilets where we found elvis! I would highly recommend giving this place a visit for dinner or lunch!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AMY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First time camping and was in the lower of the fields, the view is amazing, however there is no nearby shops or banks therefore would have to get in car, if your looking for absolute quietness then its ok but if your like me and need more then it wouldn't suit. Restaurant was reasonable in price and pub full of character. It could do with being updated and they did say a new shower/ toilet block was planned. Overall a nice locations

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzab72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was camping in the area with about 14 others, and we decided to try and find somewhere local for us all to eat. I telephoned here and they were happy to accommodate us giving us a room all to ourselves. We had a young children with us as well as adults and everybody was very happy with the food which was of a very high quality. I have been here in the past and it has always been very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a2gxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came to the Bull I' Th' Thorn on a GCUK Paranormal Investigation.

Arrived early and had a lovely meal and a chat with the locals. Lots of families with their dogs, walkers, cyclists and people just having a relaxing time.

The food was well cooked, good portions, plenty of choice and good value.

We then met up with the rest of our team and guests for an overnight investigation at the pub.

Turned out to be a very active evening with plenty of interaction for team and guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natwinstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was a very wet afternoon when we turned up at the Inn. The owner Mike turned up with his 2 lovely old dogs soaking wet - Super welcome - Should us to our room which was very spacious clean and tidy with antique furniture and accessories. The evening meal was superb well prepared and presented. the breakfast prepared by Mike was also of good quality and quantity to set one of for the day. The whole atmosphere of the bar and associated rooms have to be seen to be believed. And the selection of real ales and other drinks were well to expectation. When you try to find the place It is a good 5 miles south out of Buxton on the A515 towards Ashbourne not as the directions given on some sites. It has a camp site situated to the rear of the premises for caravan/campers and tents, which is ideal for touring or walking the local area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This has got to be one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. The food is incredible and the chef knows what he is doing, he talked me through all of his recipes and clearly he makes it all from scratch! Mike who runs the place is just always willing to help in anyway that he can. The building is old and like nothing you've ever seen before. If you really want a magical place to stay and a warm welcome then this is the place for you! I shall be staying here again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The1bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurdlow
5.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
3.8 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull I' Th' Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull I' Th' Thorn

Property: Bull I' Th' Thorn
Address: Ashbourne Rd, Hurdlow, Peak District National Park SK17 9QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hurdlow
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hurdlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bull I' Th' Thorn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bull I' Th' Thorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull I' Th' Thorn Hurdlow, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing