We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick drink”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Longnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quick drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stopped off for a quick pint before meeting up with friends to go for a walk around Longnor.
Service was not the fastest as there only seemed to be one person on duty.
I didn't eat but looking around the food seemed to be very nice.
I had an excellent pint of Unicorn bitter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    27
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
60
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We visited longnor for a Royal Marines memorial service . We we rebooked in for the Sunday lunch carvery !! What an excellent meal!! Good value for money and a hearty portion !! This is a hidden gem in the Derbyshire countryside!! Well worth a visit!!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This b&b is under new managements so the previous bad reviews can be
Ignored . We stayed here after our first day of a walking holiday. We were made very welcome both us and our dog, with a bowl of water to clean her. The room in a converted barn opposite the pub was excellent with everything we needed, plenty room huge wet room and comfortable bed. We ate in the pub in the evening which I can thoroughly recommend excellent food great beer and friendly bar staff. Our breakfast in the pub the next day was also excellent. I can say this b&b is a must stay if you are visiting/walking in this area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We wanted a quiet break, spent two nights here and can't fault it; It's quiet, comfortable, clean, lovely food and a friendly welcome from the owner. Great location for walking, or if you're lazy like us, an easy drive from Dovedale & Tissington. Great beer as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spent a great bank holiday weekend here recently. The family running it, who took over last year, were extremely welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was across the road from the inn, so we weren't bothered by any noise. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had impressive pressure. We ate here both nights. The food was lovely pub food, well-cooked and huge portions. There's a good selection of real ales too. We had the full english for breakfast on the Sunday and managed a ten mile walk round the Bakewell and Chatsworth area without any thought of stopping for lunch. The countryside round about here is truly beautiful and we hope it's not too long before we return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The pub is located in a delightful village in the southern Peak District. Clean, modern rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Food was good English pub style food. Highly recommend this pub/hotel, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardGoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful olde English pub. Village of Longnor is a time warp. Hospitality in this place is second to none, food good, locals even better. At £75.00 a night inc. breakfast is a steal. Highly recommended, rooms are excellent

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toddylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longnor
3.7 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.8 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn

Property: Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Address: High Street, Longnor, Peak District National Park SK17 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Longnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated barn to a very high standard. Three en-suite double/twin rooms, one double/twin en-suite disabled room. Ideal base for exploring the Peak National Park, and many local attractions - Alton Towers 20mins, Chatsworth House 20mins, Haddon Hall 20 mins. Family run traditional village inn with well-stocked bar offering real ales, lagers and beers, good wine and fine food freshly prepared on the premises.crisps etc and chocolate, pool table dartboard dominoes cards something for everyone. The Inn is full of interesting old knick knacks, old photos of local scenes and local people. Large car park, beer garden, open fires for a very warm welcome. Food served all day every day.All our dishes freshly prepared on our premises. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Hotel Buxton
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn Longnor, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing