We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Overbrook Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Living room and kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom 3
Bridleway
Overbrook Barn
Alpacas
Alpacas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have stayed at Overbrook Barn twice with our children. it is the perfect getaway and gives them freedom to roam, plus there is so much to see and do in the Peak District. The barn itself is clean, cosy, comfortable, nicely decorated and has a well stocked kitchen. The children are free to run around in the adjacent fields and there is a beautiful stream just down the bridlepath by the barn - a lovely place to picnic if sunny. We will undoubtedly be back for a third time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simons57...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overbrook Barn”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Overbrook Barn is a wonderful barn conversion located in Flash near Buxton in the Peak District, it consists of 4 bedrooms which sleeps 8. The amenities are excellent and all rooms are well appointed and beautifully decorated and very clean. The open plan dinning kitchen is an excellent area to relax and prepare meals.
Our party used Overbrook Barn as a central starting point to enjoy a weeks walking in the Peak District and it was a pleasure each day to return and relax there. Our communications with the owners was a delight and we felt that there wasn't anything we couldn't ask for. We will certainly be returning to Overbrook in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well decorated interior and all amenitites
Liked least: nothing to note
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catferg
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent accommodation and friendly hosts.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I normally only write reviews if I have had a really bed experience or a really good experience. I can honestly say Overbrook barn falls in the later category. From the moment we arrived Gemma and Simon were very friendly and helpful and their two boys are lovely. They certainly added to my three year old son's holiday. He still talks about them!!! The barn itself was very homely and was furbished to a high standard. The kitchen was extremely well equipt, the best we have seen in any holiday home. The Barn was also very clean, which is always good thing, especially with holiday homes. The setting of the barn is Beautiful and the alpacas were a treat. Simon and the boys allowed myself and my son to meet them and help herd them into a holding pen, which was one of the highlights of the holiday. I would recommend Overbrook barn to anyone from families to couples, it is a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of accommodation
Liked least: Rooms were a slightly small, but not a big issue
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G
Gainesville, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exquisite, Enchanting Peak District Country Retreat”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Want to experience the relaxing, uncrowded beauty of the Peak District? If the answer is yes, please contact Gemma at Overbrook Barn! This property is situated in such a lovely secluded location that you will actually "feel" your stress melting away. Do not let the name barn fool you. This property is a beautifully decorated, well maintained, and comfortably appropriated jewel! You will absolutely love Gemma also! Contact her today!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities and location
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andylocky...
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful location and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We had a hugely enjoyable stay. The location is unbeatable as you feel right in the middle of the Peak District and feel you can enjoy the scenery without having to travel at all. The owners are very friendly and took time to talk us through the farming process and introduced us to the alpacas. The house itself is very luxurious and has everything you need, although the single living area is cosy and compact and not a huge amount of room for 8 guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: single living space
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June E
york
1 review
“FAB-U-LOUS!!!”
Reviewed 21 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We spent a marvellous weekend at Overlook Barn with 3 generations for a family celebration.The accommodation was perfect and of a very high standard. The log burner made for a cosy atmosphere and the open plan layout allowed all the family to enjoy each others company to the full.Our 2 year old granddaughter loved the farm animals and we all enjoyed the country walks . The wonderful warm welcome we received set the tone for a fabulous weekend that we will remember forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the open plan layout and general high standard and cleanliness of the accomodation
Liked least: poor phone reception
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin990
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We recently stayed here for a week to celebrate my wife's birthday. The place and facilities are second to none. Overbrook is immaculately clean and with beds that are a real dream to sleep in!! The kitchen is well equipped with everything that you need, even for the most serious cooks. It is a real "get away from it all" setting that is complimented with the beautiful alpacas on the farm that are always on hand to greet you daily. We all loved this place and will be returning soon for more...thank you to Gemma, Simon, and Stephen for making us all so welcome and leaving us with something to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sound of silence....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing