We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in beautiful surroundings!”
other travellers have booked this property
Overbrook Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Overbrook Barn
Bedroom 1
Living room and kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom 3
Bridleway
Overbrook Barn
Alpacas
Alpacas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Longnor, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura T
Barnard Castle, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from three wonderful nights and four brilliant days spent at Overbrook Barn on Farbrook Farm, Derbyshire. We were a party of six adults aged between 27 and 57 and one tiny six week old baby!
From the very start of our experience, the owner, Gemma, was nothing but helpful. She was so prompt and efficient in dealing with our enquiries and provided all the information we needed about our stay, and it really put our minds at ease about travelling so far with the youngest in our party!
From our arrival on Thursday afternoon through to our departure on Sunday morning, we were nothing but completely at home in the barn - it is absolutely delightful. The whole place was gleaming clean, very stylish and contemporary but with a lovely homely "country cottage" feel. The rooms were plentiful and all of the party commented on the softness of the beds (to the point we checked the make so we can look for them at home!) and the comfort we all felt staying there. The facilities are excellent, everything you could possibly need is right there, and the guide which has been put together for guests is really comprehensive and we referred to it a lot to help us plan our stay.
The location is great - remote but the main house is just next door and the views are amazing over the valley below. Lots of lovely Alpacas surround you in the fields which is really quirky, we really took a shine to them! Buxton was just a short drive of around 5 miles away, no more than 10 minutes by car and the village of Flash itself around a two minute drive. Whilst there we spent a lot of time in Buxton (wedding at the Pavillion Gardens, a beautiful place), and we also spent an afternoon in Bakewell which I would highly recommend, and a morning at Chapel-en-le-Frith at the Chestnut Centre Wildlife Park which was lovely. There is an abundance of things to do and places to see right on the doorstep of this property, so much so that we all want to come back and do more in the future!
I really cannot recommend this beautiful holiday let enough to all those considering it. It is such a lovely place, so welcoming and full of warmth. It is a real "home from home" and we will certainly be returning in the future - thank you Gemma and family for a fantastic stay, see you soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall homely feel to the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish C
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, well-appointed barn”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My pre-school age girls and I stayed at Overbrook for a week. The barn is very nicely done and comfortable, with a kitchen full of gadgets. The beds are very comfortable and the towels are very fluffy. I would say the only disappointment was not realising that the grass shown in photo #1 is not the lawn that goes with the Barn; that is the garden for the Farmhouse. The garden for the Barn is just the pebbly part shown in photo #2 (the Farmhouse garden is not accessible from the Barn). There are fields just outside your gate, but if you are looking for a green enclosed space for children, just make a note.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
I'm so sorry for the confusion about the garden, I wish you'd asked while you were with us! The whole of the farm, including the garden in the picture, is available for guests. The gate is lockable so you can have a secure area for children and pets but you're welcome to unlock it and use the grassed garden whenever you like. I've just included a note in the 'Welcome book' to make this clear: sorry it was too late for you! I hope this finds you well, ciao, Gemma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annawooll...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country getaway”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Overbrook Barn for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. Plenty of room for a close group of friends/family (even 8 girls with associated clothing & suitcases!). All the fixtures and fittings are great quality and we all agreed that the beds are the most comfortable that we've slept in for a long time. Beautiful part of the world and Gemma was a lovely host from the start of our booking right through. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne H
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unbeatable holiday experience!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed here for a week with the family, as a surprise 70th birthday treat for my mum. It really was THE nicest self catering accommodation we have ever had the pleasure to stay in and can't speak highly enough of it. The owners have thought of absolutely everything to make it an incredibly comfortable place to stay - not only is it beautifully decorated and furnished, but incredibly well equipped with everything of a high standard and excellent quality. The cottage was so incredibly clean as well, something you rarely find in holiday accommodation! So all told, it was an absolutely fabulous experience and we won't be hesitating to return again soon or recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma F
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Cosy barn in the heart of the Peak District”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is the first rental I have stayed in, normally opting for hotels. It certainly left a positive feeling with us and we would try another rental in the future. The description states 4 bedrooms so you would think you could sleep 8 adults, I personally would recommend no more than 4 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. For us as a group of 7 we found it a little small. 2 of the bedrooms upstairs are a little small when converted to doubles, we had no plug points in our room (they were covered by the adjoined beds) and the living area meant we couldn't all fit in the sofa/tv area. I think the photos make it look bigger than it is. The beds were also very soft and in our bedroom we could only get BBC 1. I thought it was a little expensive for the size and considering it was off season. That being said the location is beautiful, the house was very clean, the kitchen well equipped and the information pack very useful. They also had free wi-fi which was very useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, log fire
Liked least: Beds, size
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeannle...
telford shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just pure pleasure ( heaven)”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We travelled to overbrook on the 28 dec and spent new year there . We all loved it . The location and the barn is well furnished and as all your home from home comforts . The bed s are amazing , best 7 nights sleep I have had in months ,wanted to take them home with me . The only negative of our weeks stay was the weather , but we were lucky it was only rain and not snow .

There are lots of beautiful walks and the views are stunning . If you want to escape from the hustle and bustle of day to day life overbrook is just perfect

Thank you Gemma and Simon , for sharing you beautiful farm and overbrook barn .

Jane lee ( telford , shropshire)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLaura
Lincolnshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Romantic, Peaceful & Stunning”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My Partner and I stayed here in December 2013, It has taken me some time to get round to writing this review however i just have to join all the people in saying what a truly amazing place this is!

Before we set off on the Friday evening there were heavy weather warnings suggesting that we should not travel! That was not going to happen and I am so pleased we did go! Altho the journey was seat gripping at times and we got lost in the dark with the snow we found our way there with the help of Simon who kindly came and met us and let us follow him back to the barn, all this after he had received our shopping delivery for us also!

From the minute we stepped foot into the barn we felt cosy and very welcome, the rooms are spacious and very clean!

Our bed was huge and we opted to sleep in the downstairs bedroom, when we woke in the morning and we could see the view we were very pleased! The vast amount of space was amazing!

We ate out only 1 night at a wonderful restaurant called Fichers in Baslow this is were my other half proposed to me in front of a log burning fire!

It was a very special weekend for us and we would Highly reccomend Overbrook to anyone!

Sam & Laura x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and the Personal touches!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing