We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for big parties!”
Review of The Crewe & Harpur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Longnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crewe & Harpur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longnor
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place for big parties!”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I hired out the Crewe and Harpur and all of the cottages for the weekend to celebrate my 30th birthday. It was a perfect venue for this with excellent rooms, all with en-suite and decorated to a luxury standard. The pub was the main area we used in the evenings, but there is also a beautiful large lounge room with sofas. It was great novelty having a fully working bar, which we stocked and ran ourselves. All 30 of us were able to sit around a table for a meal one evening and we used the fully functioning catering kitchen to prepare the dinner. The owners were really helpful in every way, and they also run the Royal Oak pub down the road which I would also highly recommend for Sunday lunch! It was the perfect weekend and a birthday to remember!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

15 of us went for weekend in August 2012. We only hired the pub,not the cottages but loved the whole concept of having your own pub. 8 double bedrooms were fine - clean, new bathrooms, some a little small but all were decent, Huge sitting room with loads of sofas and a tv and kitchen with plenty of stuff for large groups. But we spent all our time in the pub part, was great having your own bar, felt like one big lock in. Fully recommend it for large groups, not much of a garden but plenty of space around and loads of days out to see caves, villages, walks etc.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the best
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank randmfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We booked the Crewe and Harpur for a get together with friends who were travelling from all over so the Peak District was pretty central for us all. We seriously fell on our feet with this gorgeous place - so much fun feeling like we were at a pub but also it was all ours! There were 14 of us and so much space. Fully kitted out. We would thoroughly recommend it and will definitely be staying there again in the future. Thank you for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyDimples0115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We hired the Crewe and Harpur for the weekend along with all the cottages in the courtyard bringing family and friends together (a group of 32) for my 50th birthday celebrations. It was a perfect venue, all the bedrooms were of a high standard and the catering kitchen provided us with everything we needed to cater for over the whole weekend.The bar provide a fabulous space for our party on Saturday evening, we stocked the shelves ourselves and everyone loved being behind the bar. We all had the most memorable weekend thanks to the Crewe and Harpur I couldn't recommended it highly enough.

Room Tip: The bedrooms in the Crewe and Harpur are all spaceous with modern stylish en-suites. Most of the dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We booked the Crewe and Harpur for a 4 night stay over half term with three other families- 9 children in all! It was a perfect place with enough space to accomadate us all easily. It's fully kitted out for a lot of people and great fun sitting in a bar relaxing in the evening.

We would thoroughly reccomend it to everyone but don't want it to be too popular as we want to be able to book it again next year!

Thankyou for such a great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaywith9kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had an absolutely fantastic time at the Crewe & Harpur and our guests couldn't get over what an amazing venue it was - it's such a simple and yet brilliant concept to be able to hire a former hotel and its adjacent cottages as a self catering venue! The whole weekend was perfect from start to finish - from the fish and chips we ordered in advance from the village chippy on the Friday, to the catered meal provided on site by Peak District Fine Foods and the party afterwards, through to Sunday lunch at the Royal Oak, Hurdlow. The brilliant weather we enjoyed helped of course! Big thanks to Paul and his team for helping our celebrations go so smoothly.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautifully presented, and the bathrooms ... AMAZING!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lineyj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here in August 2011 for a 40th birthday, a large party including lots of children, all the rooms and outbuildings were used. We had the best time ever!! Loved having the whole pub to ourselves!! So much fun. Fantastically equipped for families. Would highly recommend for anyone wanting to get together a big group of friends!!!!

Kitchen well equipped, rooms really nice and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longnor
9.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,666 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
882 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
5.1 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe & Harpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe & Harpur

Property: The Crewe & Harpur
Address: Market Square, Longnor, Peak District National Park SK17 0NS, England (Formerly Crewe and Harpur Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Longnor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longnor
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crewe and Harpur is situated in the heart of the tranquil Peak District village of Longnor. It is rented on an exclusive use self catering basis and perfect for large groups needing lots of space for dining, socialising and or even working together. The Crewe & Harpur has 8 double/twin rooms all with beautiful en-suite bathrooms in the main building. Just outside to the rear is a courtyard with three traditional stone built cottages (a three bedroom and two, two bedroom properties). The former coaching inn has been renovated to a fabulous standard yet retains many of the original features - guests can even enjoy private use of their own 'pub'! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crewe And Harpur Arms Hotel Longnor
Crewe And Harpur Arms Buxton
The Crewe & Harpur Longnor, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing