We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good one!”
Review of The Crewe & Harpur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Longnor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crewe & Harpur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longnor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2007

Lovely old inn in a charming village (with three other pubs!). Our room was large and beautifully decorated with a lovely big, comfy bed and a dining table and chairs (it would have been good to have two bedside tables and lamps instead of just one). It overlooked the market square. There was a shower room rather than a bathroom which suited us fine. It was beautifully equipped if a little cramped: there wasn't a lot of room between the basins and the wall.

The staff were very friendly and quick to help, perhaps the younger members were a little inexperienced. We did wait a long time for our food as we didn't realise that, as we were eating in the bar, we had to give our order at the bar rather than to a waitress, however once the order was placed the food arrived promptly and was delicious. There is a large menu and long wine list (also good ale). Breakfast was very good and generous, the sausages especially tasty. It might speed things along if cereals were on a self-service basis and a toast machine would be good! Also we weren't told what the 'Full English' consisted of and had to ask if we could choose how the eggs were cooked (but again probably down to inexperience and being very busy).

Overall we had a very pleasant one night stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penrose3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2007

Spent 1 nite at the hotel before going to Alton Towers following day. Arrived late at night after Kitchen was closed but owner took pity on us and rustled us up some bacon sandwiches!

Rooms are clean and the bed is big. Bathroom lovely.
Hotel is set in picturesque village and really is an overall lovely stay. Full english breakfast next day set us up well for day at the theme park!

Only problem I have is that the hotel is NOT 15 mins away from the park as stated, it took us a good 40mins to get there and the drive is on bendy country roads so it is impossible to go above 40mph.

That aside, the hotel is amazing value for money and i would def return.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cab84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Stayed at this hotel for just 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food was amazing. The service good. We stayed in a standard room - the bathroom was very, very small although the underfloor heating was nice (even in July) and the decor classy. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. All in all a nice weekend which we will repeat as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank staffnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

We stayed for the weekend with my wifes parents and our 18month old son. The property is situated in a small village in a wonderful location just 6 miles from Buxton and in the heart of beautiful countryside. The current owner has been investing steadily for the past couple of years and the result is an excellent traditional coaching inn with surprisingly upmarket rooms. Bathroom in our room was outstanding with huge freestanding bath and marble finish. My in laws had a room without a bath and although very well finished, the bathroom was a little tight space wise.
Cot was provided in our room and staff were very helpful with any requests we had for our young son.
We ate dinner in the restaurant, a truly excellent meal from a first class menu offering good variety with excellent locally sourced ingredients and an excellent wine list.
Breakfast was good, although service was a little slow seemingly due to a shortage of waiting staff.
Overall, a really pleasant, friendly up market country inn\restaurant with rooms that should go from strength to strength with the current owner. Thoroughly recommended for a short break, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank john10115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Friendly greeting and lots of attention from the owner to ensure a good stay. Very clean (small) room with attractive bathroom but lack of attention to practical detail, e.g. nowhere to hang towels, no mirror (one in bathroom). 'Full Sky TV' as stated in LateRooms turned out to be a TV that couldn't even receive all 5 terrestrial channels! Dinner was excellent with a good choice of meat, fish and vegetarian food and huge choice of wines on the menu, but service was poor, seemed to be too few staff (e.g. white wine not chilled, no water despite repeated requests) and even worse at breakfast (e.g. cereals not replenished so little choice, orange juice not refilled in jug, no menus, having to chase up service to order a drink and main breakfast, no-one to clear plates off the table). Owner said he 'heard' our concerns, but offered an excuse for the poor service and no apology. Overall a lovely inn that fails to live up to it's classy image on the internet and cost - due to lack of attention to detail and to guests. Consequently did not feel like good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newpond16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2007

This is the second time I have stayed at this lovely Hotel and felt moved to comment upon it.

So where to begin, well firstly the setting is beautiful, a lovely quaint Derbyshire Village. The Hotel itself is a full of Character and has been classily renovated. The Bar area is both warm and welcoming and a pleasant area in which to eat. They also have a resturant which has a slightly different atmosphere, slightly more refinded and elegant . Which leads me to the food.... what can I say ... an extensive and first rate menu. The food was beautifully presented and excellently cooked, I could not fault it. I also sampled the Sunday Lunch which was yummy and the great food was accompanied by a live saxsophonist, fantastic!

The rooms..... well both rooms I stayed in were appointed to a very hightstandard. Very comfortable beds with lovely linen and the bathrooms........ the bathrooms are the most luxurious I have come across. Large Showers, unfloor heating and in the room I had a large double ended bath, though I believe not all rooms have baths.

The staff are informal and very helpful which makes for a relaxed and freindly atmosphere and they are at pains to make your stay a pleasant one .

I will definately stay here again and throughly recommend it.

Ms Harvey

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pandora_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We booked this hotel on the strength of Trip Advisor ratings and the hotel website. Beware!! The staff were very friendly and helpful but this place has its faults. On the first morning we were wakened at 5-00am by the noisy plumbing then at 7-15 by the fire alarm. Smoke was coming into the room and I went to investigate. The alarm stopped then started on and off for 20 mins. It turned out to be a stockpot which had been left on overnight. Little was said at breakfast by the staff but most guests made comments about the chaos. The service at breakfast was poor. No menu at all.
We ate at night and the chicken my partner ordered was undercooked so she sent it back. It was dealt with well and she enjoyed the meal.
The next morning the service was excellent and the breakfast choices explained well. The cheap yoghurt probably bought from the local shop was poor but the rest of the breakfast ok.
When we paid the bill and mentioned our problems the owner
charged us less which was good, but also said the hot water had been off too the previous day!! Overall an expensive place that could ,with minor changes, be excellent

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zellam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longnor
9.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
5.1 mi away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Biggin-by-Hartington
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
911 reviews
10.7 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe & Harpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe & Harpur

Address: Market Square, Longnor, Peak District National Park SK17 0NS, England (Formerly Crewe and Harpur Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Longnor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longnor
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crewe and Harpur is situated in the heart of the tranquil Peak District village of Longnor. It is rented on an exclusive use self catering basis and perfect for large groups needing lots of space for dining, socialising and or even working together. The Crewe & Harpur has 8 double/twin rooms all with beautiful en-suite bathrooms in the main building. Just outside to the rear is a courtyard with three traditional stone built cottages (a three bedroom and two, two bedroom properties). The former coaching inn has been renovated to a fabulous standard yet retains many of the original features - guests can even enjoy private use of their own 'pub'! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crewe And Harpur Arms Hotel Longnor
Crewe And Harpur Arms Buxton
The Crewe & Harpur Longnor, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing