We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a short visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western City Hotel De Jonge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Assen
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed in the hotel for a night as I was in Assen for work.

Location is good, right in the middle of town. Close to shops and restaurants.

A basic hotel which probably serves mostly business travellers. Surprised by the size of the room, much larger than expected. Bathroom looked like it had not changed since the 70's, but functioning. Very simple toiletries, soap in dispensers on the wall. My room had run out of shampoo and reception could not find me any spare.

Was worried about noise as there were a few pubs nearby (plus earplugs in the room!). However, it was really quiet and managed to get a good night sleep.

Don't think the room had any air-conditioning. I was there in the summer, and had to leave the windows open.

I must say staff were really good and friendly, both at the reception and restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasszir88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed two nights, the first was very noisy (probably brawl between drunken because I don't understand dutch ). I changed the room, the second night was more quite, but room was very small. Clean Rooms, comfortable beds. No fridge in room. Staff helpful and friendly. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HADI_DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This little Hotel is very peaceful and sereen. The food in the restuarant is excellent and excellent value. Assen is a quiet little town where not a great deal happens. The surrounding areas are most scenic and when the TT comes to town the place really gets lively. The hotel is smack bang in the centre of Assen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the Hotel as there is a Market on Wednesdays and Saturdays and the ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biffa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

On a business trip through Holland, we just pulled in to Assen and found this hotel in the center of the city. We had four "comfort rooms" (I think that's what they were called). Huge rooms with a large seating area with a sofa and two chairs, flat-screen TV and an excellent office chair for the desk. Wish the bed would have been the same quality, low and hard... (These rooms were in the adjacent building).

Decent breakfast, nothing out of the ordinary.

Just fine for a one-night stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Napoleon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you are one of those travelers seeking luxury and the best of service, this hotel is not the one for you. If you are seeking a great European adventure, living in this hotel is the only one for you. From the moment you walk up, the building exudes the ambiance of the old style that used to be. With minimal staffing, they make you feel welcome and take care of your business in typical style. The lobby of the hotel is already part of the restaurant and it seems to blend together well. Off to your room, and you walk into the past. Old fashion tubs with new fixtures, and you do get a TV, however the real amenities are few and far between. You’re there to sleep, because otherwise would be a waste of time.

Within just feet of the hotel, you can start on your marvelous journey walking through the downtown area, with all the main streets and little side streets that wind around the central city. Most places are within a fifteen minute walk, and if you ate dinner out every night for a month, you would run out of days before you ran out of restaurants. However it will probably take you about an hour to walk a few blocks as you take your time peering through the windows of the shops that line the streets. It is truly a marvelous experience. And don’t forget Wednesdays and Saturdays where the street vendors sell everything from food to yarn. The streets are lined with the trucks and trailers and where you can get a great bargain on many things. And the best fresh fruit you can find anywhere. The back alleys are full of small shops, well worth exploring and a place you can actually walk around at night. The alleys are dark, and people are few. Yet you walk with confidence and not with fear. The people will say hi (if you see them) and you feel a great sense of safety.

The hotel in not even three stars by comparison of amenities. However, they know you by name and room number. Go for their breakfast and they don’t even have you check in…they know already. And dinner, forget ever going hungry. One of the finest menus and prepared with all the fixings. And for a hotel, at extremely competitive pricing. No high markup on food, however beverages are a little steep. Don’t want to spend money on restaurants, walk right across the street to a food market, buy a little meat, cheese, and bread. Enjoy it on the patio (weather permitting) or in your room.

Minor repairs are quick and the hotel is not in the best state. The beds are truly European in nature, mostly singles. You might get two of them side by side. And the lack of a refrigerator in the room may be troublesome for many, but really makes little difference.

So if you really want luxury, stay at the hotel down the road apiece which is crowded with business people, families, weddings, etc. or book yourself into this quaint little hotel, where the quiet and peacefulness abounds.

This hotel is not for the many, but for those who want a true adventure in European simplicity, there is no other. I’ve stayed at both, and there is no comparison. Don’t miss this one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aisfam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was my second stay at Hotel de Jonge. I must have liked it first time in order to come back! The rooms are very comfortable, clean with a separate seating area. Breakfast was excellent, staff friendly and helpful, nice bar for drinks in the evening. I didn't eat there in the evening so couldn't comment on that. WiFi internet was free, fast and reliable.

My only minor faults that make this less than an excellent review are lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms plus the lighting in the rooms isn't the best so they are a little "gloomy" - fine for sitting, sleeping, watching TV but I struggled to read/work sat at the desk. Also, on this occasion, my shower wasn't very good (ran hot/cold) although this wasn't a problem at my last stay so presume the one in my room was faulty. To be fair, I didn't report it as I was only staying a couple of nights and once I had finished my shower knew I wouldn't be using it again. I don't doubt the friendly, helpful staff at reception would have sorted it out for me had I told them.

P.S. Location is excellent - 5 minutes walk from Assen Station, right in the centre of town with lots of nice bars & restaurants nearby. Also, given such a central location, was amazingly peaceful and quiet in the evening/night. Best of both worlds really!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jugganaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, we arrived early and reception staff were fab. They stored our luggage and called for taxi to take us to the racing track at Assen. On return check in was very fast.
The rooms are vast and spotless they all have a seating area.
Food and drinks are very reasonable compared to Amsterdam and service was very prompt. Lovely outdoor seating area.
The buffet breakfast which cost 12 euro was amazing well worth the money.
A Gem of a hotel

Room Tip: Assen is very quiet place so don't think any room would be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiebdurisdeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assen
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Assen
1.2 mi away
De Bonte Wever
De Bonte Wever
#3 of 3 in Assen
206 reviews
13 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Spier-Dwingeloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Fletcher Familiehotel Paterswolde
10.2 mi away
Abdij de Westerburcht
Abdij de Westerburcht
#1 of 3 in Westerbork
127 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Ruyghe Venne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western City Hotel De Jonge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western City Hotel De Jonge

Address: Brinkstraat 85, 9401 HZ, Assen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Assen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Assen
Price Range: £57 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western City Hotel De Jonge 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western City Hotel de Jonge is situated in the center of Assen's shopping district, a 30-minute drive from Groningen. It is a perfect location for your nights in our newly renovated rooms. The very spacious rooms of this Best Western have a relaxing seating corner and a flat-screen TV. Each has a private bathroom and free coffee/tea facilities. An elevator and 24-hours reception are available. The excellent cuisine of the Grand Café and restaurant is popular, A full-English and a buffet-style breakfast are available daily. The surroundings of Hotel de Jonge offer plenty of hiking and biking routes. The hotel is 250 m from Drents Museum, 600 m from Assen Station and 4.5 km from TT Circuit Assen. Groningen Eelde Airport is 14 km away. Parking can be covered in the garage Doevenkamp/Stadshuis. Hotel guests pay a special daily rate. Best Western City Hotel de Jonge also offers private rooms for meetings, trainings and parties. Inquire about the possibilities or special requests! We are here for you! We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western City Hotel De Jonge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Assen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing