We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Assen
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Assen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very large room with a small space to sit outside. Free wifi. Functioning and quite silent airco. Large bathroom with bath and separate shower. Good bed, slept very well. Service friendly and efficient. Very clean. Filled mini bar. Absolutely value for money.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank mrs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Van der Valk hotel group are all over Holland and provide most major towns and cities with comfortable and I would suppose affordable hotel rooms to a very high standard. The hotel in Assen is more functional than funky and although all the meals I ate there were of a good standard with large portions it is certainly not haute cuisine. The hotel is a bit out of town placing it closer to the motorway and is obviously designed around this passing trade, although I did see family groups meeting and perhaps celebrating there. The majority of the staff speak perfect English and are always pleasant and very helpful.

Room Tip: The newer rooms at the rear are larger but the wifi reception is poor. There is a military training...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Major99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We chose this hotel because it's central to discover a major part of Friesland.
It's next to the A28 motorway and a 15-20 minutes drive to Groningen.
The hotel is real big and with a huge parking area. Disabled people have reserved parking close to the reception, otherwise you have to make a long walk. Check-in was fast and staff very professional.
Our room was at the far end of the hotel on the second floor. We had a nice balcony with 2 chairs and view of the garden.Room was big-36 m2- and had flat screen, safe deposit, free Wi-Fi and all comfort which you can expect from Van der Valk.
Restaurant was nicely decorated which gave a warm feeling.
The à la carte food was much better than in most "big chain-hotels" ; nicely presented, hot and tastefull ! Also the winelist was interesting and gave value for money.
The buffet-breakfast was nicely presented with a big choice of Danish, ham, sausage and of course the Dutch cheeses. Your eggs were prepared to order at their egg-station.
We enjoyed staying here for 3 days and can recommend this place to all my fellow-travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roboesGistel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Arrived at 12.50 at the hotel, staff spoke perfect English, could even have dinner at that hour. Room was great, comfy and very good value for money. Stayed with a group of colleagues, used the meeting rooms and lunch and dinner. Overall great experience.
Vand der Valk has come a long way to be level player on international play field, but they are there!
Rein

Room Tip: Luxury room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNRMBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for the dutch darts open very easy to find only 2 minutes from the motorway.The staff from receiption to cleaners were all extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were exceptional with 2 twin beds and huge bath double shower and heated flooring. The restaurant was supurb a great choice of food some of the best hotel food i have ever had. Will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CirencesterPaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Over the years we have stayed in many van der Valk Hotels and we have very rarely been disappointed. The brand has improved a lot over the years athough there are quite some differences between the new ones and the old ones, so to say.
Assen is a good mix of old and new. The older part is well maintained and kept up to date and the new part is fully state-of-the-art. We had room 414, at the end of the corridor in the newly build extension, sold as a comfort room and it was just perfect. We have stayed in many international 5 star hotels where the room was not as good as this one.
The room is clean, beds are great and the bathroom is excellent with a nice bathtube and a separate walk in rain shower. Very spacious. The breakfast is just very good with life cooking (eggs to your liking), a good selection and a good lay-out so can handle lots of traffic at rush-hour.
You do need you walkingshoes though as it's not a small place. And like all van der Valk's, it's not in the city centre so you do need your car. But on the motorway A28, exit 33, with plenty of free parking available.
W'll be back, no worries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tejostr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed here for a ten day business trip and I really liked it so I will be using it regularly. My room was very nice with an enormous bathroom with a spa bath and seperate shower. I was up on the second floor and I really liked the balcony which was great for getting some fresh air in the evenings. Food is fine and the room service was spot on. The hotel is large and is pretty confusing to find your way round at first it took me a few days to get my bearings. All in all a good stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moulin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assen
1.7 mi away
Best Western City Hotel De Jonge
0.9 mi away
De Bonte Wever
De Bonte Wever
#3 of 3 in Assen
205 reviews
12.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Spier-Dwingeloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Ruyghe Venne
23.9 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Emmen
12.1 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Bieze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Assen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Assen

Address: Balkenweg 1, 9405 CC, Assen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Assen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Assen
Price Range: £71 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Assen 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Assen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing