We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Luxurious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First off... Stephanie, the front desk reception clerk, was awesome. She was so friendly, positive, helpful, and I loved that she always had a smile on her face. I loved this hotel. My husband and I stayed here while in Leeuwarden visiting with his best friends. We had a nice room with the view of the train station which is conveniently located right across the street. Nightlife, restaurants, and bars are within walking distance because it is located in the city center.

We ate at the hotel restaurant... it was quite a delicious experience... GREAT food and service there too.

The room was pretty clean... the only thing wrong was the build up of black dust that fell on me while I was in the shower. It came down from the ceiling when I accidentally pointed the shower head in that direction while putting it back on the handle thingy. OTHERWISE, the room was SPOTLESS and VERY clean.

The hotel has free and paid wifi in the rooms...

We requested a King sized bed for our room and they made it happen.

We decided that we're definitely staying here again when we visit Leeuwarden in the future. Also, we've already recommended this hotel to our friends AND family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggan671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhr-vd-Linden, Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,

What a great review! We're really happy with the time and effort that you used to write about your stay.

We have giving the compliments to Stéphanie, our housekeeping and restaurant team.

We would love to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The rooms are clean and nice and modern, but that's now what make me rate the Oranje Hotel so wonderful. The service from all the staff was friendly and excellent. Room service was delightful. The hotel restaurant delicious. The location brilliant. The only "fly in the ointment" was that housekeeping did a rather poor cleaning on our two night stay - on the second day the coffee cups had not replaced nor were the coffee & condiment packets, etc. Little things in the scheme of a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhr-vd-Linden, General Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madam Thunefeld,

What a lovely comments to read. We are very glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel!
However we will take your points about the room cleaning at heart and discuss them within our team!

Hopefully we may welcome you again next time you will visit Leeuwarden!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Apart from helpful reception staff this is a truly ghastly little Hotel. Service in the bars and restaurant is at best perfunctory (in fact waiting for 20 minutes in the bar on 25.03.14 yielded no service at all); breakfast (entirely self-service) is dishonestly expensive at 15 Euros a head; the rooms (second rate & tired with poly-ceiling tiles) are so dark you can't see your hand in front of your face - and the same applies to the common parts. The bathrooms are tiny; only soap in a wall dispenser & the heating/air-con is noisy and does not work properly. The TV choice available is slight & the TVs too small. Internet connection is a palavour. Overall the impression is that this is a Hotel being run for the convenience of the staff/management rather than the customers. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else. ""Provincial" hardly does this awful place justice. I am here now - I wish I wasn't.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a big window at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E1789LKAlan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The position of this hotel is absolutely great, just opposite the central station, near the main shopping streets and 15 min on foot from expo halls. I liked my single room, it has all the necessary amenities. Cleanliness is also on a very good level. I have to comment though that the soundproof in the rooms is not very good, you can hear everything from the hallways cause of the small empty space between the floor and bottom of the doors. Also, you can hear people speaking in the rooms next to you if they speak a bit louder. Breakfast was standard although there should probably be a bigger choice of food and drinks. Staff sometimes a bit too stern but mostly courteous, promptly helped me with one particular demand. I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: If I understood correctly, only the rooms on the south (facing central station) have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at this property while on business for 3 nights in room 147 a queen bedded room.

PRO's+

Clean
Good Service
room size larger than others I've seen
Very good food
Nice, functional shower

The town is beautiful and I would encourage walking around in the evening near the canals. Beware of rabid bikers.

CON's

Small TV
small work desk with hard chair is not compatible for long stretches on laptop
Finicky internet
Mediocre bed, left side very soft, average pillows

Overall I would rate this room 85/100 some noises creep through the walls, but overall the room is often quiet. I would consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floor-Jan, Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of this stay with us and the brief report of your pro's and con's. We're always very greatfull if guests take the time to inform us about them.

Please consider, for your next visit in town, to climb the Oldehove. A nice part of town!

Looking forward to your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at the Oranje Hotel on business with my son and daughter on the evening of Tuesday 1st October leaving on Thursday 3rd October. The location is in almost central Leeuwarden and as we arrived by car we were surprised to find that the hotel underground car park was full. We then had to park in the street behind the hotel where amazingly parking charges continue until 10pm in the evening from 8am in the morning. Even more strange is that the maximum stay in the street is 3 hours during the payment period. The hotel itself is excellent and we dined on the evening in the hotel restaurant enjoying the delicious Mustard Cream Soup. Then for main course we enjoyed various items from the mix and match menu. This was a very nice way of trying an assortment of dishes at very reasonable prices.
At breakfast the offerings were excellent from Continental to Cooked Breakfast and a very good variety with excellent coffee.
Also the rooms were very clean and modern and mine even had a balcony overlooking the front street although some would not like this due to the traffic noise from early morning

Room Tip: We were located on the first floor and both rooms were first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frontoffice1, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion. The parking in our hotel is indeed limited, but we’re happy to assist with parking during your next visit. There are two other indoor parking facilities nearby.

We hope that you enjoyed your flight back home and looking forward to your next visit in Leeuwarden.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Oranje Hotel in Leeuwarden on our travels through the Netherlands. What beautiful accomodations! The staff were professional and friendly, and the entire property was clean, modern and well kept. We also enjoyed the variety and quality of the breakfast buffet. It was exceptional!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frontoffice1, Front Office Manager at Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Cristie,

Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our hotel and staff. We will share your compliments with them.

When you return to Holland, we would be very happy to accommodate you again.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeuwarden hotels
0.4 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
0.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
1 mi away
Stenden Hotel
Stenden Hotel
#3 of 11 in Leeuwarden
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
0.8 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#6 of 11 in Leeuwarden
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
Hotel Cafe 't Anker
#10 of 11 in Leeuwarden
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden

Address: Stationsweg 4, 8911 AG Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range: £68 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1879, the Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden is a four-star hotel located directly opposite the station in the charming old town of Leeuwarden. Nearby you can explore the town's famous maze of narrow cobbled streets, bustling with stylish shops, excellent restaurants and cosy cafe terraces. The hotel has 78 comfortable rooms, five conference rooms, a cosy restaurant and lounge bar Van Buren with terrace, and private parking. Come along to experience Frisian friendliness to the fullest. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing