We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”
Review of Stenden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stenden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Highly recommended.
Beautiful hotel situated in a beautiful school. Super friendly staff and prepared.
Great location, very convenient for visiting the city. Convenient parking and wifi working perfectly

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cer3157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine H, Guest Relations Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Dear Cer3157,

Thank you for your kind review. We are grateful that you will recommend us to your friends.

We are working on a true sense of hostmanship every day.

If you have plans to visit Leeuwarden again, we hope to welcome you in Stenden Hotel.

Kind regards,
Team Stenden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Visited Leeuwarden to do a try out of a new workshop regarding talent development and innovation in organizations. Therefor was the Stenden Hotel a best choise, to experience their workplace learning concept as a guest. It was a good fit; interesting question: how to use our Collin methodology as a concept for life-long-learning (developing and innovating) in the hotel business in general?


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The stay was lovely but I felt like the employees were hovering a little too much, like I was always being watched. A bit more distance and privacy would be welcome and I will most certainly ask if I need help with anything :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine H, Guest Relations Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We would really like to thank you for your feedback.

We can see what you mean. In our hotel we are constantly busy with hostmanship and service

The young professionals are eager to help and learn. Sometimes the effort can be a little overwhelming.

We hope to see you again whenever you are in Leeuwarden.

Kind regards,

Team Stenden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I did not know that it was an education Hotel. I found it interesting to see how the students did there very best to service as good as possible, but to recognize that they still have to learn a lot.
We had also dinner in the restaurant and were very pleased about the quality of food and the perfect service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank H.j.j.m. V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine H, Guest Relations Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Good to hear that your experience was a good one. We are now busy working on refurbishing our restaurant. The opening will be in September.

If you need to be in Leeuwarden anytime soon, pay us a visit. We wll be happy to show you around the new restaurant.

Kind regards,
Team Stenden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great quality for great price. The hotel is really nice. The facilities are new and modern and the service is excellent. The personnel is very kind and helpful. On top of this, everything is really cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine H, Guest Relations Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Dear M.M.

Dank your very much for your feedback.

We are happy with every comment of our guest to keep up our service and improve.

Hope to see you soon, again, in Stenden Hotel.

Kind regards,
Team Stenden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very nice hotel, with friendly staff. They learn on the job and make a huge effort to give you a high level of hospitality. They might ask more questions than you are used to. And some are more confident than others. But they will help you out with near anything you need. Kitchen is very good and the city centre is around 5-10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pieter6656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine H, Guest Relations Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Dear Pieter,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We try every day to give our guest a memorable experience in Stenden Hotel.

We are grateful that you mention our high level of hospitality. We think this is very important and hope our guests enjoy our view on hostmanship.

We will share your compliments with our colleagues.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Team Stenden Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location and the room were OK, but I was not very enthousiast about the quality and the diversity offerd at your breakfast buffet. I missed a.o. fresh fruit. The price/quality ratio is not OK regarding this aspect.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martine H, Guest Relations Manager at Stenden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Luc,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really like that.
Sorry to hear that you weren't completely happy with our breakfast.

Thanks to your review, and other ofcourse, we upgraded our breakfast-buffet big time.

Hope to see you again in Stenden Hotel so we can show you.

Thanks again for your effort.

Kind reagrds,
Team Stenden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeuwarden hotels
0.7 mi away
Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Cafe
1.2 mi away
WestCord WTC Hotel Leeuwarden
1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Oranje Leeuwarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
Bastion Hotel Leeuwarden
#6 of 11 in Leeuwarden
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Paleis Stadhouderlijk Hof
1 mi away
Eurohotel Leeuwarden
Eurohotel Leeuwarden
#9 of 11 in Leeuwarden
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stenden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stenden Hotel

Address: Rengerslaan 8, 8917 DD Leeuwarden, The Netherlands (Formerly Stenden University Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Leeuwarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Leeuwarden
Price Range: £54 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stenden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stenden Hotel is a modern 4-star hotel located within 10 minutes walking distance of the historic center of Leeuwarden. A bus stop is located right across from the hotel. Free parking is also offered on premises. The hotel offers spacious guest rooms all equipped with modern facilities, such as flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and Nespresso coffee machines. The new restaurant, ' Wannee', offers an all-day dining experience. Here you can enjoy fresh and organic dishes according to the 'New Dutch Cuisine' concept in a relaxed and modern atmosphere. In the cozy bar and lobby you can relax and enjoy a drink or small bite. Right across the street you will find the beautiful Rengerspark, where you can enjoy a walk or a run. Extensive gym facilities are available for hotel guests at the fitness studio next door, for a small fee. Stenden Hotel is committed to training and inspiring international young hospitality professionals within a dynamic and hospitable environment which allows them to evolve and grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stenden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing