We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not really a luxury hotel, it's a good average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It's not really a luxury hotel, it's a good average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The rooms are large, and well decorated. The bathroom is nice, but sounds hollow and is guarded by a heavy door that - annoyingly - keep shutting automatically. There is a decent swimming pool and steam bath, which we appreciated after a sporting day.

The restaurant serves nothing better than an average Dutch pub. It's plain, simple. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. A bit strange though for this location that there is nothing better.

It's an excellent location if you want to walk in the woods and visit the Loo Castle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    127
    72
    36
    9
See reviews for
52
117
19
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

On a positive side - it is clean, has good breakfast and staff is very friendly and helpful.

Annoying:
- wi-fi set up - does not allow you to send emails using outlook
- breakfast ends at 9 am, which for me is not acceptable. Should be at least 10 am.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cumlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here on business for three nights. The seats in the bedroom were a tad threadbare (not a great look for leather seats !). The bathroom was clean (and huge), bar and restaurant were OK. If you want somewhere located close to the Het Loo (that's cheaper than the Keiserkroon) then this is for you.

ps, the swimming pool was freezing !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattandAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We loved the location, just out of town and close to "Het Loo". Only 20 minutes walk from shopping, but with good public transport stopping just outside the hotel. Very pleasant room and good, generous breakfast. Reception staff very helpful

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Bastion Apeldoorn to visit Het Loo. We were able to park with no charge at the hotel and easily walk to the palace. The service was excellent and we enjoyed dinner in the dining room that evening. Our room was on the main floor which we found very convenient and it was large and very clean. The hotel has a very comfortable feel and a number of sitting areas to read a newspaper or enjoy a book. Bastion has done an excellent job of providing simple yet comfortable design and decor.
The hotel is quite a distance from the city centre. However, if you are only in Apeldoorn to view Het Loo, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 312802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We chose this hotel for its location to the Het Loo Palace and were pleased with its location and comfort. It's a good walk to the centre of Apeldoorn but was perfectly located for an early visit to the palace. The hotel was undergoing some renovations but these were unobtrusive. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and breakfast was good. Staff were helpful and approachable. The hotel was on a main road but the rooms were quiet. Reasonable size car park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were on a short driving trip to see antique-airplanes and sites near Amsterdam. It was a convenient hotel for our little drive... This hotel is almost across the street from the Het Loo Palace (Het Loo Paleis)... though we drove to the parking lot, since we had checked out. The room was nice... we were there on a hot day and the air-conditioning worked fine. Both dinner and breakfast were very nice, and for us, the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousetourstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Apeldoorn hotels
Hotel de Echoput
#2 of 7 in Apeldoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binnenstad
Hotel et le Cafe de Paris
Hotel et le Cafe de Paris
#5 of 7 in Apeldoorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Hotel-Pension Berg en Bos
#7 of 7 in Apeldoorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo

Property: Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo
Address: Loolaan 556, 7315 AG Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Apeldoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Apeldoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo is a luxurious four star hotel. The hotel stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Apeldoorn het Loo is located close to Palace The Loo, with a view on the nice gardens. The natural environment with National Park the "Hoge Veluwe", offers a lot of possibilities for walking and cycling fanatics. The beautiful centre of Apeldoorn offers a variety of culture. Apeldoorn is the biggest city on the Veluwe and is known as residential of the Family of Oranje. Rooms The hotel has 70 comfortable deluxe rooms, 24 Junior Suites and 10 Suites. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, WiFi, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Junior Suites and Suites are more spacious than the Deluxe rooms and have a separate sitting area. The suites are also fitted with sofabed. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apeldoorn
Apeldoorn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing