We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still going strong.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haarhuis
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Uelsen, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still going strong.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Must have been around 1960 that I first visited the restaurant here.
Next to the railway station in Arnhem, and on walking distance of the city center, hotel Haarhuis is a great choice for a visit. The rooms are comfortable and no traffic noise penetrates into the room. The bar offers a choice of drinks and some meals for who does not want to spend a lot of time in the restaurant.

Room Tip: A superior room is worth the little extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    121
    78
    21
    14
See reviews for
29
98
24
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

It's not a luxury hotel but neither does it aim to be. For the money this is a very good value hotel. Rooms are clean if a little tired. Restaurant is good, although the menu was quite narrow. Breakfast is a good spread. Bar has some atmosphere. If you happen to be in Arnhem I'd recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

What a lovely hotel , central to Arnhem , directly across from the train station. Stayed for 3 nights and had dinner in the hotel twice , it is well recommended . Nice bar also for a few drinks.

Trains and buses are great in the Netherlands , very clean and always on time and the best bit is all the dutch people speak English which makes it so much easier.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jono3987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Based on earlier reviews I booked a newly build superior room.
The plusses are that the bed is excellent, the room spacious with comfortable seating arrangement and brand new tv, nespresso coffee maker and a not fully stocked but included minibar.
Do take note that some of the superior rooms are on the ground floor facing the innercourt instead of arnhem centre. That isnt mentioned on the internetsite. The bath, shower facilities are excellent but due to the glass wall separating them from the rest of the room maybe a bit noisy for some ... but fortunately without the visual bed <-> toilet/shower contact some new hotels have.
Breakfast is more than adequate but of varied quality. Good coffee, bacon and eggs, fruit, juices and fresh salmon.
But terrible rubbery pancakes and just plain dry raisinbread ad sugarbread.
Location wise, its opposite the main train station (currently being rebuild so do mind the building holidays for peace and quiet), the new wing with the superior rooms faces downtown which is thus just a short stroll away

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rotterdammerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I recently stayed here for three nights whilst exploring the area on a motorcycle trip. The hotel is well situated with the central square, with it's wide choice of restaurants and bars, only about 5 mins walk away. The room was large and comfortable with one of the comfiest beds I have slept in. Although the hotel is non-smoking throughout there was a distinct smell of cigarettes in the room along with an abundance of cigarette ends on the balcony below! There is some refurbishment in progress but this did not impact on us in any way. Work on the railway station opposite did though, with the commencement of a large amount of hammering at 7 am. The on site parking was very limited and, with the refurbishment work, meant it was shared with a rubbish skip and contractors vans. The access to and from the car park was through the basement/ staff areas and no lift was available so luggage had to be carried upstairs to reception and so to the elevator. The self service breakfast was of good quality and choice although on one day we must have arrived after a "rush" and had to wait for the scrambled eggs, mushrooms and oranges for the juicer to be replenished. The staff were helpful, especially in the bar, with Rico advising us on good places to eat. Nothing I have mentioned spoiled the stay for me and I liked what I saw of Arnhem and it's surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I visited this hotel during a motorcycle trip with friends looking at WWII sites. The hotel was relatively easy to find but has very limited parking to the rear. The staff were helpful on arrival although throughout the rest of the stay they barely spoke, apart from Rico in the bar who was really helpful telling us where the good spots to eat in town.
We were upgraded on the room and got a decent sized twin although on entry it smelled really heavily of cigarette smoke. The hotel was also undergoing renovation at the time of our visit so there were contractors all over the place, restricting the already tiny car park.
Right opposite the hotel was a major construction site at the bus/train station, the noise began at 07:00 o the dot.
On the plus side the breakfast options were good with a good selection in the rear of the dining room. Location for resteraunts and bars etc was pretty good with a very short walk to the square and lots of bars and resteraunts and a good lively atmosphere.
Considering all the things going against it I probably would stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

There are few hotel options in Arnhem and Haarhuis is capitalizing on this. The hotel is 3-star at most: once you've found your way from the (tiny) parking lot to reception by navigating through the messy and dirty basement and climbing up the narrow stairs you'll have to haul you luggage back down another flight of stairs to access the (tiny) elevator and finally reach your (tiny) room. First thing you'll want to do is open the window as the (tiny) rooms are stuffy - so ask for a room on the rear of the hotel to avoid the noise of the bus station opposite the hotel. The bed consists of three thick layers of soft foam so you literally sink into it, something I hate but others might enjoy. The interior walls are not very thick, so expect to listen in on your neighbour's phone calls and TV program. Bathrooms are tiny of course, but clean and efficient. The rooms offer reasonably fast wireless internet access.
The restaurant is OK: dinner options are limited but reasonably priced, breakfast is a simple buffet. There is also a pub in the hotel.
Haarhuis is building a new wing to the hotel with an extra 40 rooms (which promise to be "luxury") so expect construction noise starting at 7am sharp.

Room Tip: Rooms are tiny and have no ventilation so expect to sleep with your window open. Ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchmanYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arnhem hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
0.7 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Molendal
Hotel Molendal
#9 of 14 in Arnhem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Postillion Hotel Arnhem
4.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arnhem Centraal
Hotel Arnhem Centraal
#10 of 14 in Arnhem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haarhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haarhuis

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haarhuis
Address: Stationsplein 1, NL-6811KG Arnhem, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haarhuis 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern comforts, fitness center, sauna, solarium, beauty salon, restaurant and bar; near city center shops and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haarhuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Arnhem
Best Western Haarhuis
Arnhem Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing