We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain”
Review of Hotel Papendal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Papendal
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bargain”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Rocked up here on Thursday night after a long drive, easy to find, easy parking, friendly helpful staff all round (all excellent English speakers- puts us Brits to shame), rooms v basic but clean and comfortable. The place has a bit of a campus feel about it but that's ok given you're paying £50 a night for B&B. The restaurant is pretty good for the price and breakfast is extensive. Ideal for a quick stop over or for business purposes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiswickNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    84
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
77
9
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We live in Amsterdam and wanted a weekend away from the busy capitol. Hotel Papendal is positioned in the middle of the Veluwe, a green oasis surrounded with many lovely small villages with Arnhem as a great shopping city. The grounds of Papendal are huge. See it as a small sport village where many associations like OSF/NSF, training schools, sport unions, etc. are based. The hotel is huge, with many facilities for events, congresses etc. There is a great terrace and bar. Reasonably priced as well as the restaurant (where we did not eat). There are 2 kinds of rooms to choose from. We took the 4* which we found ultra practical. Fantastic M-Line beds, airco, great shower en nothing but quietness. The breakfast was more then sufficient. Lots of choices and a great view (golf course). We rented bikes, did a nice tour to Arnhem (25 minutes). Had a great diner at Mimi's, in a small village called Oosterbeek and hiked a day around Papendal. We also had a great lunch in the restaurant of the Edese Golfclub, next door from hotel Papendal.

Room Tip: The 4* is worth the extra 12,50 a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This a relaxt Hotel, verry nice and lovely people there, the rooms are excelent. The location is nice and relaxing, the food is also good, toilets are clean. It is a verry nice place for walking and playing golf.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Good first impression. Reception area was modern and the lady at the front desk very friendly. The restaurant was closed but we were able to order a few options from the menu and they served it downstairs at the bar. Quality food and big portions. Restaurant staff was very helpful as well. No complaints there. Unfortunately, the bathroom in room 319 was a disaster. Mold on the walls, floor and shower curtain, pubic hair in the tub and no toilet brush. Bowel movement is actively discouraged at Papendal. Beds were comfortable, service was great and it was ok for one night but we won't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persephone83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I booked this hotel for the 'Nijmegen Four Day Walk Arrangement' they offered. Although there were aspects that could have been approved, I wasn't disappointed. The peace and quiet I sought after a day of walking, was more than delivered.
I stayed in a 4 star room. It was modern and clean with a great shower, great bed,free wifi and airco, much appreciated with the 30+ temps during my 4 day stay. The toiletries offered were amusing and generous, so much so I took a few home with me, something I never do, but how can you refuse a hair conditioner called 'the sleek shall inherit the earth'? The hotel itself is situated in a secluded wooded area, about a 30 minute drive from Nijmegen, and just off a major roadway. They offer golf and bike rentals, both of which I would have tried, had my days not been filled with walking the 4daagse. There is also a fitness room, which was also spotless and equipped with the basic equipment, Turkish sauna and dry sauna.
As for the food, it was good, when you ate at the restaurant 2028. As part of the package I booked, a packed breakfast and lunch were included, as well as the main course in the evening.
First off, the packed meals were terrible. Sorry, but there's not much more to say about that. Hotel Papendal is an Olympic Sports Training Centre, so you would expect something better than white buns with a smidgen of butter and a slice of cheese or ham. There was no thought given whatsoever as to the physical needs of a participant in this gruelling walk. This was the consensus of every other person who booked the same package.
The dinners, on the other hand, were delicious and served quickly and with consideration. If you wanted a starter and dessert, that was charged extra. I didn't mind to pay the extra, as the main course itself just wasn't sufficient, but again, many walkers were disappointed that this was not more clearly stipulated while booking the package.
Over all, I would recommend this hotel. I plan on doing the Nijmegen Walk again next year, and if this hotel offers a similar package, I need not look elsewhere. One sidenote--I rated the breakfast terrible, simply because I never experienced the 'normal' breakfast offered by the hotel, only the packed breakfast we were given.

Room Tip: Book a room with airco and shower---clean, quiet, modern and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Thought that the locale was very pretty. It was rural, quiet and pretty. The room and bathroom was large, very clean, modern, well furnished and comfortable. Thought that the hotel was luxurious and a bargain.
Breakfast was very good buffet. We did not eat dinner in the hotel restaurant partly because the menu did not have many choices and I thought that the restaurant prices were high.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helsingborg, sweden
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel have very nice view and located nearby sport events. Official hashtag #papendal. Very good breakfast and nice golf view from restarant. This hotel have very nice view and located nearby sport events. Official hashtag #papendal. Very good breakfast and nice golf view from restarant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleshkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arnhem hotels
0.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Arnhem
3.1 mi away
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
NH Arnhem Rijnhotel
#1 of 14 in Arnhem
657 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Haarhuis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Landgoed Hotel Groot Warnsborn
4.6 mi away
Postillion Hotel Arnhem
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arnhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papendal

Property: Hotel Papendal
Address: Papendallaan 3 | Postbus 484, 6816 VD Arnhem, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel en Congrescentrum Papendal)
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Arnhem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Arnhem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papendal 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papendal is unique, with its lively, dynamic and energetic ambience.Guests at Hotel Papendal can sense the presence of top Dutch sporting talent, although you don’t have to practise top-class sport in order to live the experience. On arrival the expansive site with its woodlands and panoramic views feels like a breath of fresh air. All that space and greenery just on the doorstep! Hotel Papendal demonstrates the importance of light, air and space for a pleasant experience. Papendal has something for everyone, and not just in the field of sport and recreation. Papendal likes to put in a top performance for its business guests, too, offering facilities for training courses, congresses and overnight accommodation. The same high standards are offered to business groups getting together for team-building days or special events – and to all who fancy a weekend break or just want to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning sun. Visit Papendal and experience our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Papendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing