We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheerfull hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nijmegen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Hotel is well located overlooking the satiation and short walk from historical city center with all the restaurants and the market. Rooms are not large but well decorated creating a positive environment with excellent room lighting including bed side reading light. Breakfast is ordinary not bad but not wow. Staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Amr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Amr A,

Thank you for your kind words.

It is the pleasure for our employees to provide a welcome feeling with every guest. It is good to read we succeeded in this goal with you.

Please visit us again in future, we will be happy to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Nice one night stay for a busines trip, recommendable hotel for its central location. Good service and friendly personnel, would stay there again. Sometimes you can here trains moving, as the hotel is located right beside the central station, but that in itself is no big issue. The food in the restaurant and also the breakfast are of good quality. An alternative option are the smaler restaurants close by, which you can find by foot within 10-15 minutes of walking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McGrayPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear McGrayPower,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Since you added positive words regarding our restaurant, it is our pleasure to inform you that we have a new project in our restaurant: Meeat the locals. With this we present 4 local craftsmen, each with their own speciality, such as beer, wine, meat and pastry. Of course we serve their speciallities in our restaurant now too.

As you can see, we continue to surprise our guests and will pursue to strive for complete guest satisfaction. We hope we may give you another nice stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel NIjmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Next to the railway station - although little associated noise. 10 minute walk to the town center. Very friendly, helpful and positive staff - couldn't praise them enough. Good quality breakfast and well decorated and presented rooms. Very enjoyable experience!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGSF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear JGSF5,

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very happy to read that you had such a good experience in our hotel.

Our staff is very happy to make your stay even just a little bit better.

We hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariekje
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Located within an easy walk to the city center it is a good choice. They add 7.50€/day for parking - which they did not make clear when booking the room. Skipped the hotel breakfast,so can't comment on that. The staff was helpful in giving directions and making recommendations for dinner. Nice add-on of robe & slippers for the room. Room was small, but typical for the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Yellowhaus,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to read you experienced our staff and hotel as positive.

It is too bad you did not make use of our extensive breakfast buffet. We hope we may welcome you another time and that you then have a good stay again and a great breakfast!

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed last weekend for one night in the basic room. Simple business-hotel room with a bathroom. Location is next to the station and OK. All in all a decent hotel.

Unfortunately, we had an argument with the staff. We booked a room through booking.com and the day after this they had a promotion for the same price but with free breakfast. When we asked if we could also get this promotion, their answer was a simple "no", with no motivation. Even though we repeatedly asked kindly for a motivation for this no, we didn't get a real answer. Also when we checked in the woman at the reception was pretty rude in her communication and didn't give us a real answer why not. Very poor service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris_ToscaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear sir and madam,

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate you feel this, especially since we responded adequately to your emails prior to your arrival.

As we have mailed you on 19th and 22nd January last already: You had made a definite booking for a special rate, which could not be changed or cancelled anymore. These restrictions are clearly stated on the website.
After making this booking, you discovered the offer in a magazine. In our emails we explained that this offer is only available for direct bookings, not through a website or travel agent and only based on availability. For the weekend of your stay, all rooms for this offer were already booked.

In our last mail, we have offered you the breakfast for a 25% discount. Though you have not replied this email anymore. Upon arrival you demanded to obtain the breakfast for free, which might have prevended our receptionist to give you her usual warm welcome. Our receptionist again offered the breakfast for the discount rate, which you refused.

We regret that, despite our efforts, you have been right in what you wrote in your second email prior to your stay: that this would for sure badly influence your review. However, we feel we have taken your complaint seriously both before arrival and during your stay.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed at the Mercure Nijmegen Centre before, but was amazed at the reform they have undergone. They have done an excellent job and it seems to reflect on the people as well.

The staff is helpful, friendly, courteous, humorous and a pleasure to be around.
Also had dinner at the restaurant and the food/price ratio was good.

All in all a very pleasant stay, and will certainly recommend this to other people.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrikus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvonnevanDeelen, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Mr or Mrs Nieuwmeijer,

Thank you for your praising comment.

All our employees find a great pleasure in their job, however, guests like yourself make our jobs even more fun!

Again we thank you kindly for these compliments and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nijmegen hotels
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
#11 of 14 in Nijmegen
118 reviews
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
#12 of 14 in Nijmegen
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nimma
#6 of 14 in Nijmegen
71 reviews
Stadscentrum
Hotel Credible
Hotel Credible
#9 of 14 in Nijmegen
135 reviews
Sanadome Nijmegen
#5 of 14 in Nijmegen
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nijmegen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nijmegen Centre

Address: Stationsplein 29, 6512 AB Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nijmegen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nijmegen
#3 Business Hotel in Nijmegen
Price Range: £64 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nijmegen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre is located in the city centre of Nijmegen, the oldest city of the Netherlands. The hotel is within walking distance of the vibrant shopping streets. All 112 rooms are non-smoking and include air-conditioning, flat screen TV, coffee making facility and minibar. You can enjoy delicious meals and drinks in the restaurant and bar. Private parking is available behind the hotel. You can exercise in the gym or relax in the sauna. The use of WiFi is free in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Nijmegen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Nijmegen Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing