We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Nijmegen Centre
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Nijmegen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I opted to stay at the Mercure because I had a late arrival by train and its conveniently situated next door to the train station. I also booked it because the price was good value compared to other hotels within Nijmegen.

We were pleasantly surprised. Our room faced the train station from across the tracks but there was a great view in the distance (including a windmill) and there was hardly any noise at all from the trains on a Friday night.

The room was a great size. Plenty of room to move around and not bump into one another. Plenty of places to put your cases and/or store your clothes. Choice of various teabags and coffee in the room.

The room had a nice atmosphere to it.

The bathroom was a good size, very clean but ever so slightly dated/beginning to get worn out. But it was fine for our needs. There were two small problems in the bathroom. One was the shower took us an embarrassing half an hour between the two of us to work it!! We weren't the worse for wear but we were too embarrassed to phone down for help. In the end it took pressing of buttons and twisting in opposite directions (iirc) to make it work. No colours or pictures on dials to help you out. We are probably the only people to experience this, but if you are stuck, the left 'throttle' twisting dial does the converting from bath to shower (you need to push the button underneath at the same time). The right 'throttle' twisting dial does the pressure/amount of water -I think! If there had been little motifs on the controls we might have guessed sooner. Either that or we are just plain stupid. The other problem was the glass shower door needed to be moved to get to the taps. Ours appears to have slipped downwards a bit and needs oiling, and it made a very loud groaning noise every time we wanted to get to the taps (prior to getting in the shower/bath. Turned out you just need to lift it towards the ceiling and it doesn't make a loud noise when moving it. However this noise combined with the of us comically trying and failing to make the shower turn on made for a comical half hour and probably a disturbed half hour for our neighbours.

Apart from those small problems, it was a lovely hotel that you felt very comfortable and secure in.

The staff were always smiling and always helpful.

Only took a few minutes walk to walk into the centre of Nijmegen, so its perfectly situated.

I'd definitely stay here again without a doubt, though this time we didn't pay for breakfast as the cost was too steep for us - however from a distance it looked lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_den_Hartog, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear MrsTeapot,

To read your review just make me smile. Besides from the fantastic enthusiasm about our hotel and staff, it is written in a fun way.

Please, and also all other travellers, never hesitate to ask our staff anything. There is nothing we have not experienced yet and even if you have a brand new question: we are always willing to assist you. Please do not waist your time in our hotel sorting things out yourself. That is what we are here for and have pleasure in.

You will be happy to hear we are working on plans to rebuild all bathrooms and we hope to be able to start as soon as possible.

We sincerely hope you will visit us again and then try our extensive breakfast buffet then too. It is really worth it!

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great room, no noise whatsoever from the nearby train lines (wonder if they were actually running this weekend!), great food (starters and desserts), large portions but really well done.
Good friendly staff, could answer questions on the local area, recommendations for food, bars etc., onsite parking was also really excellent value
One negative was that we didn't have the breakfast because at 17eurosit was way too pricey!

Room Tip: We had a room on the front of the hotel and didn't hear a single train our entire stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulT35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_den_Hartog, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear PaulT35,

Thank you kindly for your review! It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Trains were definitely running, though our hotel is well isolated, so you do not hear too much noise from outside.

Also great to see our staff and restaurant did well. It is always our pleasure to take well care of all our guests. You really missed out on something with breakfast, though. We offer an extensive buffet with only fresh and tasteful items, of which you can take as much as you like. It is most certainly worth the price.

Thank you again and we hope we may welcome you on your next visit to our lovely city.

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here for one night on business and had a great experience. It is conveniently located beside the train station, which made my late evening arrival straightforward. Then the staff are caring and very good ambassadors for Mercure and for Nijmegen. I was upgraded to a Privilege rooms which was very comfortable on the 1st floor. Then breakfast was a pleasure with a good selection. Well done!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_den_Hartog, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Jonathan H,

Thank you for your beautiful review! It is nice to read you felt so welcome with us.

Especially when you arrive late, after a tiring day, it is nice when you feel a little 'home away from home'. That is what our staff understands and they are always happy to help you in any way they can. Besides that, they take pride in their work and also in our chain Mercure Hotels.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The new restaurant and entrance looks good. The rooms are confortabel, the bathroom in my room was a bit, but only a tiny bit) outweared. Otherwise it is a good decision at an excellent location for travellers with trains.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pál S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_den_Hartog, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear szilagyipal,

Thank you for your review and enthusiasm about our restaurant.

We are happy to tell you we are working on plans to rebuild all bathrooms. We hope to be able to start with them as soon as possible, so they will be as updated as the excellent rooms.

Of course, because of our location next to the station, we are an easy location for travellers with public transport. But also with your car, our hotel can be easily reached and your car can be parked in our own private parking. And even for guests who arrive on their bicycle we offer a safe parking!

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope we may welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have to visit Nijmegen at least once every year. Couple of weeks ago, we stayed in this hotel again. Ivonne van den Hartog of the hotel management is a wonderful person that made us feel at home. Even though the hotel is at the railway station it was very quiet. The privilege room we got was quite large. Housekeeping (jacqueline) was very conscientious and kept the room very clean. In the past we tried several hotels in Nijmegen, but now we cannot think of staying in any other place.

Room Tip: Privilege rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardtofindagoodhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_den_Hartog, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear hardtofindagoodhotel,

With this review you made both Jacqueline and myself blush... Together with our colleagues we have a lot of pleasure in our jobs and making our guests comfortable.

Feel free to contact me if we can do anything for you. We look forward to your next stay already!

Best regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were here for a conference, and we really were blown away by how great this place is. Yes, it has a "corporate" feel to it, but in the end, it had absolutely everything we could possibly want: a clean room, a quiet atmosphere, a comfortable bed, an exceptionally polite and professional front desk staff, and some of the strongest coffee I've ever had in the morning! We would absolutely go back here, and it's a real testament to the staff of this hotel as to how much we enjoyed our stay there. The helped us with directions, gave us good tips on places to go, and assisted with mailing postcards. By far one of the best places we have ever stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_den_Hartog, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear MC32,

We are somewhat blown away by your rave review. Especially since you are probably an experienced traveller.

Thank you kindly for your outstanding compliments. We will share them with the staff and are convinced this will encourage them to keep up their good work.

We hope to welcome you again in future.

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Modern hotel with parking, next door to train station, absolutely clean rooms, comfortable bed (although sheet thread count is a bit low) and a pillow that for once was firm enough but not too large. Nice bathrooms, great staff at front of hotel and in bar. Quite good breakfast. By far the best hotel that I stayed in during this 12-day trip to Germany, France and Netherlands. Room was air conditioned (helpful this week, since there was a heat wave in that part of Europe). Good WiFi (although you have to change password every day). If you are in Nijmegen (a very nice little town), this is probably where you should stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houstonscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_den_Hartog, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Nijmegen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Houstonscientist,

Great to read we were the best hotel you stayed in during your journey through Europe!

In the meantime we have changed the accessibility of our WIFI. Guests do not need a password anymore and can log in easily. Also ADSL is free of charge in our hotel, which gives you even better and easier use of the Internet.

We thank you kindly for your review and hope you will visit us again some time.

Kind regards,

Ivonne den Hartog
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nijmegen hotels
Bastion Hotel Nijmegen
#11 of 14 in Nijmegen
118 reviews
Amrath Hotel Belvoir
#12 of 14 in Nijmegen
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nimma
#5 of 14 in Nijmegen
71 reviews
Stadscentrum
Hotel Credible
Hotel Credible
#9 of 14 in Nijmegen
135 reviews
Sanadome Nijmegen
#6 of 14 in Nijmegen
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nijmegen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nijmegen Centre

Address: Stationsplein 29, 6512 AB Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Nijmegen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nijmegen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nijmegen
#3 Business Hotel in Nijmegen
Price Range: £65 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nijmegen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Nijmegen Centre is located in the city centre of Nijmegen, the oldest city of the Netherlands. The hotel is within walking distance of the vibrant shopping streets. All 112 rooms are non-smoking and include air-conditioning, flat screen TV, coffee making facility and minibar. You can enjoy delicious meals and drinks in the restaurant and bar. Private parking is available behind the hotel. You can exercise in the gym or relax in the sauna. The use of WiFi is free in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Nijmegen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Nijmegen Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing