We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what to expect...a place for students or those on a budget”

Hotel Friesland Garni
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Friesland Garni
Ranked #12 of 14 Groningen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The pluses here are the location and the niceness of the staff. The price is commensurate with the comfort. Beware, rooms are without toilet.
The hot water did not work but the gentleman at the desk brought me a thermos to shave with. Of course these things should be checked by any staff worth their salt. That and the radiator that was making watery noises and should have been "bled."
Breakfast was included and was ok.
Ask for a room NOT on the street if on a weekend because there are noisy students on the street side.

Room Tip: not on street side
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Friesland Garni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Well, it's clean and the showers are nice and strong/warm. The beds are comfortable too, and it's well located. It seems cheaper than other hotels in town, though not significantly so.

But it's very shabby - paint peeling of walls and old furniture. The breakfast is pretty poor and while the staff were not unfriendly, they didn't seem particularly enthusiastic/helpful either. The facilities seem a little poor - one toilet and two showers on a floor - but I never found them full.

I was travelling for work but with a limited budget, so I was just looking for somewhere to sleep at night - for that it was fine. I wouldn't recommend it for a holiday unless money was very tight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuccir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This place is very old and extremely noisy. You won't get a good night sleep when staying here.
It's actually not even a hotel but a hostel (you share toilet and shower with other guests) all though they charge you for a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Remcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

No en-suite rooms. Breakfast times poor - 8am start on day one, switched to 8:30am on day two with no warning of this in advance.
Beds reasonably comfortable. Overall value poor at €55 per night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brianback1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Well, its not the best hotel in town, but it's a very charming hotel right in the middle of the centre of Groningen! The hotel is very old, and i'm sure my ears would be flapping if only the walls could talk :)
I've been told Curt Cobain stayed in this hotel when he and the band had a gig in Vera, before their breakthrough.
The owner is a remarkable character, friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiva66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

We booked this hotel because it is in a great location. We turned up and had to wait until 5 o'clock to check in. We were then served by a teenage boy who was friendly enough but continued to smoke throughout our conversation. We can cope with this. We could not cope, however, with the terrible, unkept, mouldy state of the bedrooms. With paper falling from the walls and mould growing around the pipework, we instantly decided that we would have to be paid to stay in this hotel (let alone actually paying to stay). The whole building needs to be refurbished, cleaned and updated.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomatenkopf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 18 in Groningen
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binnenstad-Zuid
Martini Hotel
Martini Hotel
#13 of 18 in Groningen
207 reviews
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hotel Schimmelpenninck Huys
Hotel Schimmelpenninck Huys
#12 of 18 in Groningen
354 reviews
Stadscentrum
NH Groningen Hotel de Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Friesland Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Friesland Garni

Address: Kleine Pelsterstraat 4, 9711 KN Groningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Binnenstad-Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Groningen
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Friesland Garni 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Friesland Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing