We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Groningen
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Tiny rooms but very well decorated, if not so fancy. The staff is extraordinarily friendly, which is not so common everywhere in Europe. Seems one of the best choice for business trips due to its location near highway (you do not hear motorists too much)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank hmtyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review! I will pass on your complement to our team members.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Rick Haandrikman
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have been in the hotel in may. They want to have money for everything. The staff is not helpful. They do not take you to the room. The breakfast is expensive and not delicious. They charged the breakfast with a very high price. We got partly the money back, after complaining to the company.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Oberhausen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Can you please provide me with your personal email address so I can contact you directly.

Kind regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General manager
email: H1241-gm@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Paid a visit to the Mercure with a group of 75. We were a bit earlier as announced and way before checkinn time. Hotel was full the night before but the checkin lady was already busy gathering our rooms and managed to get us all our rooms within half an hour!!! She swapped rooms, called housekpeeing amd did everything possible to help us. Rooms are great, not they are on the small side, but they look great, all amenities are available and the walk in shower is great. Breakfast is great, even free fresh oranje juis.

Location is ok, next to the highway(bit of a sound issue but ok) and a 20minute walk to the city center.

We did not here anything negative about the hotel except the elevators... On the first day i was in it and the doors opened en closed again and again but no movement. Since there are only two small elevators it took some time... The 2nd the same elevator was broken again and now exactly during breakfast and checkout. So our group and others all trying to go down and up in one little elevator... To make things worse the hotel only had one flight of stairs, only tocbe used in emergency, so you can't use it in the cae of a broken elevator. Luckily we used our cell phones and in the end they openede the emergency stairs to speed things up. Elevator repair man was already on site when we checked out. So they really try their best but it would be nice to have two sets of stairs and be abke to use it also without an emergency.

All in all our group enjoyed the stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kbisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you and your group enjoyed the stay in our hotel. It's always nice to get positive feedback. Sorry about the inconvience caused concerning the elevators!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Came over here for a rugby tournament in Groningen, and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel we stopped in. I was a little worried at first as a group of lads tried to find our rooms we had to go in what seemed like the slowest lifts in the world as there were no stairs to our rooms. This took me a good 15 minutes to finally get to my room.

Apart from that issue the hotel itself was brilliant, the breakfast had a mixture of different things and was refreshed frequently, the rooms themselves were big, the showers were brilliant, formula one on the tele, there was absolutely loads I loved about the hotel.

The only other complaint would be the price of the beer. A pint for 6.50 Euro...I wouldn't even have to pay that much in London. But they have to make their money somewhere.

Overall great hotel, helpful staff also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spongy_nathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your 5 star rating on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel during the rugby tournament in Groningen. The slow elevators has our attention!

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Although the room was small, the staff, service and amenities were excellent. Breakfast was refreshed regularly, with a wide choice of food. We loved the Nespresso machine in the foyer and our room! Small extras are always appreciated

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your breakfast and the extra services in our hotel. I will forward you compliments to our staff.

We hope to welcome you again in Groningen.

Kind regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had an excellent service, because a technician came to the rescue within 15 minutes after calling the reception desk for a problem with the power outlets at the desk in my room. Problem solved in 2 minutes and I was able to plug in.
Food was ok, dinner as well as breakfast. Bed ok, bathroom ok, though the energy saving light bulbs take a time to come to full energy level, so it's not too clear the first couple of minutes.
100% non-smoking hotel (fine with me)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yves R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback on Tripadvisor. We are happy that the technical issue was resolved quickly and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here on business the other night, it was a whistle-stop visit due to late arrival and early departure.

The good points: great breakfast (and great service at breakfast), good front desk staff, willing to help and adapt, free Nespresso coffee as you walk in
Not so good: tiny standard room with tiny bathroom and tiny shower, had to lug suitcases changing elevators half-way up as it has "two towers", poor lighting in bathroom, e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g costs extra (except the internet), weird locked fridges at reception if you want water or a glass of wine to take up to your room.

I had a bit of an issue over breakfast as well as apparently two bus-fulls of very slow moving tourists all decided to breakfast together. But this isn't the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main bit if travelling with luggage. Or entourage. Or a zebra.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfg_hightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback on Tripadvisor. We do realise that our single rooms are a bit small. For your next stay we advise to reserve a double room in the main building (only € 5 extra per night)

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Apollo Hotel Groningen
#6 of 18 in Groningen
954 reviews
NH Groningen
#3 of 18 in Groningen
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 18 in Groningen
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza

Address: Expositielaan 7, 9727 KA Groningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Groningen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Groningen
Price Range: £56 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza is the perfect location and meeting point for your business trip or holiday to Groningen in the northern part of Holland. The hotel is very easy to reach, just off the A7 (exit 36) and right next to Gasunie, Martiniplaza and the Trade Centre. The hotel features 157 comfortable functional modern non smokingrooms with airconditioning, minibar, free WiFi and ADSL (paid). We have 44 parkingplaces (paid), and a non smoking restaurant and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Groningen Martiniplaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing