We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Pauw

De Pauw
Reserve with
De Pauw is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 336 Restaurants in Groningen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Swindon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

If you get the chance, just go!!. The food and service are both excellent, and for the quality a reasonable price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank soluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Resting on its laurels - good food - but arrogant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Cold, perfunctorily "welcome" ambiance - predominantly white decor with one large composition of flowers - needs warmth.
Service was concentrated on center tables, either good or well known customers - the other 80% of customers was dealt with in a remote manner.
Food was excellent but portions were small.
Pauses between courses were far too long.
Manager thawed out towards the end of the evening - but needs to remember where the money comes from!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Netgezien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unexpected quality restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We did not expect to find a fine food restaurant in this pleasant town, while casually strolling around. However, we were very pleasantly surprised by this establishment. The 5 course degustation style menu was very good at Euro47, and the English speaking waitress, was delightful, and explained each course well, but without unnecessary over embellishment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy-but-choosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food & drink at expected prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

One a drizzly Tuesday, a local colleague recommended De Pauw to my wife and me for our one night alone together during our stay in Groningen. We arrived at about 7 PM and the place was, in retrospect, amazingly empty. We had been afraid we might not get a seat since we had made no reservations. Further, we were not much spruced up for the evening, so upon seeing the decor, we felt somewhat out of place. Still we were very much welcomed by the maitre d'. Service was excellent, if a bit slow at the first, and the food simply superb (lamb for my wife and a dish of duck confitte and roast quail for me).We has the house chardonnay (Louis Latour), which was light and crisp.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikelahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level Contributor
178 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I have been 5 times for business to this restaurant, the food is always fresh and tasty,
The menu du chef excellent and a good winecard, service nice

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Pauw also viewed

Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 
Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 

Been to De Pauw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing