We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italio-fusion restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Boccaccio

Boccaccio
Reserve with
Boccaccio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 340 Restaurants in Groningen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Specialised in the Toscany kitchen Italy
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
312 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Very good Italio-fusion restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

An authentic Tuscan restaurant with a Dutch chef? Well, as much as the interior is redolent of Italian scent, music and atmosphere, the food was kind of a fusion between Italian and international cuisines. But executed professionally.

We had the three-course menu. The antipasti with different bites was tasty and presented very nicely. The secondi of risotto with salmon exceeded expectations and wouldn't cut a poor figure in Livorno. The Apulian house wine (white) was more than satisfying too.

Along with friendly service and reasonable prices (65 Euro for two persons), Boccaccio is well worth a visit when you're in Groningen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nice cosy restaurant with genuine Italian dishes! Good quality and very tastefull.Really recommend the 'Landleven'dish; first dish contains several entrees to taste, main dish you can choose between 3 courses and last dish I really recommend tiramisu. Very nice waitresses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fromgrunnwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I really enjoyed my evening here. The atmosphere was lively and service very good. I tried the Chefs Surprise menu which is something I've not seen in the UK. You leave the choice of your 4 courses to the chef, and the waiter selects a different wine for each course. When each course is served, the waitress explains exactly what it is, then you are shown the bottle of wine used for each course. Both the food and wine were excellent and dining on my own, it made a nice change and added a fun element to the evening.
A definite return visit when I'm next in Groningen!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Every plate I've had here has been bursting with taste. Unique recipes that are exceptional for the area. I highly recommend this place for a top quality meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EnergyGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I think this is also called the Via Vecchia. If so, it served a dish of rare duck which was good and some excellent halibut.. The starter meal and cheeses were very good as was the service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosalindLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boccaccio also viewed

Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 
Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 
Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 

Been to Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing