We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Boccaccio

Boccaccio
Reserve with
Boccaccio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 343 Restaurants in Groningen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Specialised in the Toscany kitchen Italy
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I spent the week in Groningen and went to many different restaurants. Boccaccio was my favourite eating experience. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the staff were very nice. The food was amazing, starting with anti pasta, moving into stuffed duck and finishing with the selection of desserts to share. Pannacotta and tiramisu to die for! Looking forward to my next trip to Groningen.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jappyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Waiting long for salty food”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Boccaccio's menu presents robust Italian dishes. Unfortunately some of them were underseasoned, some of them were way too salty.

We opted for an a la carte menu of antipasti, primi and secondi. Because of the long waiting times between courses, we did not take any dolce. The antipasti looked promising, and some were great tasting, such as the crab-salad and and fried risotto-balls. Others were either bland or very salty. We ordered glasses of white wine with the antipasti, however, service forgot to breng them. After a reminder it took ages for the glasses to arrive.

For primi we choose the minestrone soup. With a view at the open kitchen, we could see that the soup first was placed on the counter, then withdrawn to reappear 15 minutes later. It turned out to be canned tomato-soup, with the distinct conservative taste, with some pasta and large chunks of courgette and paprika added. Disappointment.
Having learned from the first course, we ordered our red wine for the main course, as soon as the soup was served. It arrived just before the secondi was served. Secondi was swine-steak. The accompanying sauce was extrmely salty and tasted as a prefab wholesale sauce. The meat was not seasoned at all and very chewy. Vegetables were hardly cleaned and the (celeriac) mash was again very salty.

We paid 60Euro per person for 2 glasses of wine, 1 prosecco, and three courses. Not realy value for money.

Service was slow, unfriendly and ran around the house uncoordinated without anyone taking the lead. Plates on the counter of the open kitchen sometimes waited for 15 minutes before someone picked them up.

I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TooN2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Ate dinner here last week and thought the food was exceptional. We had a mix of anti pasta to start. The main course was mushroom stuffed duck which was amazing. The dessert for 2 was small portions of 5 different desserts. The tiramisu was amazing! Definitely want to go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jappyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed in Groningen on business. I had a prawn starter and salmon main course. Had a lovely meal here and would definitely go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 794BDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good evening”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had dinner in boccaccio last Saturday. Although we had a good eveningen, the service was below average. The food was good but it wasn't good enough to be the best restaurant in Groningen. Please improve the service and maintain attention for good food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boccaccio also viewed

Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 
Groningen, Groningen Province
Groningen, Groningen Province
 

Been to Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing