We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prinsenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prinsenhof Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

WOW! The food served here was delicious - we had an amazing dining experience.
The service was great, the staff were considerate and catered for our needs. The food was of an amazing quality, this experience will be in my memories.

The hotel is situated near by Grote Markt in the center of Groningen, and at the back of the C13th gothic church called Martinitoren. Nice building, nice area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creativestartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    28
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
118
5
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I organized my family reunion in the Prinsenhof Hotel in the beginning of May 2014. This hotel is housed in what used to be a convent or church and it has been refurbished in a very pleasant way. The rooms are quite wonderful, some with a lovely view onto the pleasant garden behind the hotel. We got the special arrangement of hotel plus dinner which turned out to be quite good and the total price was reasonable albeit not really cheap. There is also a "Grand Cafe" that serves very good lunches and one can spend a lovely time there with attentive staff and a great decor. The hotel took care of the valet parking, so no worry about getting close to the hotel by car right in the center of town. I can highly recommend this hotel with it's restaurant.

Room Tip: Try the special arrangement (hotel and meal) and most likely one gets an upgrade to a luxury room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robrecht8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wonderful hotel in the centre of Groningen very close to the Grote Markt.

This feels like a boutique hotel and has the service of a 5* big city place. I had a very nice welcome on arrival. The building is very impressive, the bar and casual restaurant is in a high ceiling beautiful old room, the menu and drink selection is excellent.

Wifi was not happy with good.com but excellent coverage and speed otherwise. Bicycle hire free, simple. Iron available on request.

Having stayed at numerous Groningen hotels over the past 12 month this is far and away the best in town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have a view that feels very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyDave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very pleasant hotel that differentiates itself from other places to stay in Groningen. By far the best. Not quite the 5* slickness more established luxury hotels provide but indeed a very comfortable, nice please to stay. No gym though. Overall recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reindert-Jan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the Prinsenhof for a wedding. We could not fault anything. The staff just couldn't do enough. The room was perfect and the location is excellent. We had an amazing day and the food, drink, service were absolutely 5 star! We would absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Groningen and it isn't that expensive for the top quality you receive.

Room Tip: We had an attic room/suite overlooking the courtyard, but it was huge! Separate TV area, desk etc. a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels in Groningen but, without any hesitation, de Prinsenhof tops them all. Location is fairy tale like: on the old beautiful Martinikerkhof. Very close to Grote Markt and yet it feels like being in the country. The building (buildings) are monumental and stylishly decorated. The rooms are luxurious, very nice beds, soundproof, Acqua di Parma amenities. The service impeccable. Very high value for money

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArentvanWassenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

What a nice surprise to stay in Hotel Prinsenhof in Groningen.
Perfect Old building.
Perfect staff.
And a very, very nice breakfast in the beautifull great dinnerroom.
Hope to see you again.
Nicest place we stayed in Holland!
M & R te E

Room Tip: Does not matter: any room is a good room in the Prinsenhof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groningen hotels
NH Groningen
#3 of 17 in Groningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Stadscentrum
NH Groningen Hotel de Ville
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Apollo Hotel Groningen
#6 of 17 in Groningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof Hotel

Property: Prinsenhof Hotel
Address: Martinikerkhof 23, 9712 JH Groningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsenhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsNL, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Prinsenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing