We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and nice rooms.”
Review of Prinsenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prinsenhof Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good service and nice rooms.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The price might be a bit on the high part of the scale, but we made it a bit of a treat. Nice resturant, clean rooms with a pleasant interior. Very helpful and serviceminded personel. The breakfast buffé isn't big, but of hight quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brainkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    30
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
120
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very stylish and friendly hotel in a historic building hidden in the centre of Groningen. Quality of rooms and food is exceptional. The staff are very helpful and all speak excellent English.
The hotel is so well hidden you will not believe your satnav!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorbobNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Fantastic hotel. Beautifull old building which is restored in a stunning way. We had the standard room which was already fantastic, very luxureous and big. The beds are superb and I slept like a baby. They have a very nice bar, restaurant, lounge area. The location is really in the middle of the city on walking distance from everything. So you do not need your car which the hotel will park for you. Great hotel. I immediately made a reservation for my next stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diederik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A huge well done to the team at The Prinsenhof - the service is excellent! From the moment we arrived the service was impressive, and it continued from reception to the cafe, and from the restaurant to the housekeeping team. It really feels as if the staff care about you having a good time, rather than just doing their jobs. And this is a beautiful hotel too. A fabulous old building which has been sympathetically restored and now contains the very best of modern in an ancient setting. Our room was stylish, well equipped and comfortable. The bed was gorgeous, with super quality linens, loved then espresso coffee maker, and the hair dryer was the best I have used in any hotel. Aqua di Parma toiletries are a lovely touch too and in decent sizes with an open invitation to take them home with you - I did! Only 2 things detracted from 'perfection': the room was dark, in an atmospheric rather than gloomy way, but it did make it really hard to put on my make- up; and the breakfast, which although beautifully served was simply too much - we would have preferred something simpler, and self- selection as we had an early start.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great hotel in very nice somewhat secluded area, spott-on in the centre of Groningen. Hotelinterior looks lovely. Great rooms. Nice staff. Spoil yourselve and book this hotel if you want to visit Groningen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickvanmastrigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This IS a fantastic hotel on many levels, but there are problems around some of the things that are really important to travelers. The general description of the hotel is spot on from all the positive reviews, so I will list the pros and cons.

CONS

1) My room was so DARK. Especially at night but also during the day. The ambiance and decor of the room is lovely. The problem is that at night it was so dark I could not see the contents of my open suitcase enough to prepare for the next day - despite having ALL the lights on. I also tripped over items on the floor because I could not see them. As the receptionist pointed out the next day I could have rung reception and asked them to bring up an extra lamp, but at 11 pm at night it is the last thing I wanted to have to do. The lighting in the shower/hand basin area was brighter but not great for applying make up. The next morning, even with the curtains up an floor to ceiling windows, it was still difficult to sort through stuff on the bed or desk. Maybe the dark brown grey paint on the walls needs reviewing?

I was on a business trip and it would have been impossible to do any work in my room. A colleague who did have to work during the stay said it was very difficult due to the lack of light. And this was in a room in a different part of the hotel.

2) LIMITED BREAKFAST OFFERING
As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfast situation is very strange and very limited. The hotel chooses what you are given and if you don't like it that's tough! Well that is a bit harsh, you could I suppose ASK for something different, but as with the asking for more lamps it is an annoyance.

What DO you get? There are tiny bags of cereal on a central table with a fruit bowel, tiny pot of dried fruit and 3 individual pots of yogurt and 1 type of local cake. Writing it down here gives the impression there was more than there was.

You have to ask for milk and they only have full fat. You are then have brought to your table a tiered plate with the hotel's choice of bread, croissant, ham, cheese, beef and a boiled egg. If you are a vegan or pescatarian you are stuffed! You can request other types of cooked egg but it takes some further time for these to arrive. Anyone who is used to the standard buffet breakfast choice in a 3 star hotel MAY be bitterly disappointed. On the other hand you might LOVE the location and the pretty tiered plate.

To make things better, it would not be that difficult to have a small selection of breads

3) SHOWER PRESSURE
Is very low. And I am from the UK where we have weak showers.

4) The window in my room did not open. (And no I don't want to have to call someone to un-stick it at 6 am in the morning when I have just woken up and am half dressed. I expect it to be working.)

PROS

On the other hand
1) staff were friendly and attentive (well I did have to chase several times for some items at breakfast)
2) there were a reasonable amount of power plugs in the room
3) the bed was comfortable
4) the QUALITY of the breakfast food was good, despite the limited offering
5) the evening food was excellent,
6) WiFi was free and reasonably fast
7) Aqua di Parma toiletries are super big and a nice treat
8) Free mini bar with 2 x mini-wine bottles, 2 x beer, 1 diet coke, 1 full fat coke and mineral water and crisps and peanuts.
9) Fluffy robe made up for tiny bath towels.

Room Tip: Room 36 is very very dark, making it difficult to either work or pack/un-pack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monday1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

WOW! The food served here was delicious - we had an amazing dining experience.
The service was great, the staff were considerate and catered for our needs. The food was of an amazing quality, this experience will be in my memories.

The hotel is situated near by Grote Markt in the center of Groningen, and at the back of the C13th gothic church called Martinitoren. Nice building, nice area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creativestartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groningen hotels
NH Groningen
#4 of 17 in Groningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Stadscentrum
NH Groningen Hotel de Ville
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Apollo Hotel Groningen
#6 of 17 in Groningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof Hotel

Property: Prinsenhof Hotel
Address: Martinikerkhof 23, 9712 JH Groningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen > Stadscentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsenhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Prinsenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing