We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel in an excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Miss Blanche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miss Blanche
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in an excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Miss Blanche already the second time and we really love the rooms, the outstanding friendliness of the staff and of course the fantastic location. First time my wife and I stayed there we took a superior suite with a roof terace, the interior and uniqueness of the suite have been outstanding and we decided to go back when we come to Groningen again. This time we went with friends and we decided to take an executive Appartement for 6 person, as our friends have been travelling with their daughter. Again, the interior and the location have been very good, but the appartement has some shortcomings need to be mentioned, as it is not inexpensive and therefore you need to make up your mind if you can live with it. When I booked the appartement I was under the impression we will get the appartement with 3 bedrooms and not the one with 2 bedrooms and a sofa bed in the living room (but could have been an oversight from my side), as it was not very convenient to prepare the bed every night when we came back. Further, and this was the biggest issue we had, there is only one bathroom and this is an open ensuite bathroom in one of the bedrooms. So this makes the appartement, best case, only usable for families, as everybody has to use this bathroom if you wnat to take a shower or a bath and you have to go thru this bedroom and are visible the entire time you are in it (ther is no wall or door seperating the bedroom and bathroom). There is also a toilet in there, but the is also a seperate one in the appartement. The next problem we had has been no windows can be opened in the bedrooms (an even bigger problem in the one with the ensuite bathroom) and it gets very sticky during the night. A smaller issue is the missing TV in the second bedroom as I believe a luxury appartement witht this price should have a TV in every bedroom.
Just to clarify, we zhad again a fantastic time and the friend we where travelling with are very good friends of ours, so we could arrange us with the weird bathroom set-up, but I can not recommend this appartement if you are travelling together and are not very, very close to each other.
Other than that the short trip was excellent again and the view from the appartement is super and also the kitchen, living and dinning room arrangement is very nice.
We would rather go for a suite again when we come back next time, as the suite concept did not really convince us with the shortcomings explained above.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wozomuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemien S, Front Office Manager at Miss Blanche, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Wozomuc,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice and detailed review of our accommodations! It does help fellow travelers make their decisions on where to stay and which type of accommodation to choose.

We hope we will see you back often.

Kind regards,

Miss Blanche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    56
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
53
97
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for a conference for 4 nights. Everything was amazing--apartment was pristine, had all the amenities, was in a great location overlooking the canal, and the excellent cafe was right next door. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemien S, Front Office Manager at Miss Blanche, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Jamel V,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Miss Blanche and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Groningen.

Kind regards,

Miss Blanche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

4 of us came to Groningen for a conference. We stayed 3 nights in a very comfortable 1st floor apartment, beautifully but simply decorated with quaint furniture. The highlight of course was the livingroom view on to the canal. It was hard leaving every morning...Theapartment was immaculatly clean, beds were comfortable and the beddings freshly clean as well. The coffee maker worked over time..
We were welcomed by Martin who was very kind and patient with all of us. Thank you Martin. An added asset the bar right next door. although we tried other resaurants that were recommended, we feel that this one had the best atmosphere , drinks and choice of food.We all decided to stay at Miss Blanch again during the next conference!!

Room Tip: Room facing the canal is quieter.We had friends staying on the street side and for them it was noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varditkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemien S, Front Office Manager at Miss Blanche, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Varditkin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our standards to be extremely high. We too hope that next time you visit Groningen you can stay with us again.

Regards,

Miss Blanche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A group of 7 of us were sharing a 2x 4 person room at Hotel Miss Blanche over Koningsdag as part of a climbing trip from the UK. The hotel was easy to find from the statin with the help of google maps, but given it's very central it's not too tricky. Check in was easy and the lady at reception was very friendly and helpful.

The room itself was spacious with one double bed and one pull out double bed. It was very clean and well furnished (tea/ coffee/ oven/ fridge / microwave/ dishwasher). Each room was like a self contained apartment. The location was central to Groningen with the main square only a 5 minute walk away and right next to one of the canals.

Despite being in a central location on a large party night the noise in the room was minimal and the beds were extremely comfortable. Even the pull out bed from the couch lead to a good nights sleep.

We're already looking at coming back to Groningen (and the climbing wall at Bjoeks), and we will be staying at Miss Blanche again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemien S, Front Office Manager at Miss Blanche, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ben B,

Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We hope that you will return one day as you are passing through Groningen again. We wish you all the best.

Kindest regards,
Miss Blanche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Positioned right beside a canal and convenient for walking to all the sights and good restaurants too. Stayed for three nights and ate in on one night. The kitchen has everything you need. Good quality equipment including a coffee machine. If I were to be picky a teapot would be a nice addition. We had a first floor apartment (really one big room) overlooking the canal so we could watch the bridge opening to let the boats through.
The staff were very helpful. Free wifi.
Stairs very steep as in typical old Dutch canal houses.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemien S, Front Office Manager at Miss Blanche, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Silverfox54_12,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Hotel Miss Blanche, this really means alot to us! We are happy to hear to enjoyed your time in Groningen and had a comfortable stay at our accommodation.

We hope we may welcome you and your family again.

Warm regards,

Hotel Miss Blanche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We decided to take a weekend break in Groningen with my wife and two daughters and stayed one night at Miss Blanche apartments. Wonderful, spotless apartment, beautifully furnished with a fully functional kitchen and spot on location. Free WiFi. Limited off street parking is available at 15 Eur/24 hr. Very friendly staff who leave you to enjoy your stay, but are available.
My daughters slept on the sofa bed, which was put up in seconds. Expensive but TOP END.
We didn't want to leave. Groningen is a busy city full of friendly people and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfox54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemien S, Front Office Manager at Miss Blanche, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Silverfox,

Thank for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear you had a comfortabel and relaxing stay in Groningen. We hope we may welcome you again in future.
If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Hotel Miss Blanche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consett, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at Miss Blanche when going to visit my son who is studying in Groningen.
The position of the apartment was ideal and within walking distance of the main square and lots of good restaurants. The apartment had everything required for a short stay and was of a high standard.. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful throughout the trip which helped enormously

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kim795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemien S, Front Office Manager at Miss Blanche, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear kim795,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Groningen.
If we can assist with a future booking, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Hotel Miss Blanche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groningen hotels
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 17 in Groningen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
NH Groningen
#3 of 17 in Groningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadscentrum
NH Groningen Hotel de Ville
Binnenstad-Zuid
Asgard Hotel
Asgard Hotel
#10 of 17 in Groningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Blanche

Property: Miss Blanche
Address: Hoge der A 4, 9712 AC Groningen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Groningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Groningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miss Blanche 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Miss Blanche, a unique hotel in the city centre of Groningen. Where privacy, luxury and comfort come together. The 36 Suites and Apartments are situated in monumental buildings from the 19th and 20th century and in a few modern buildings along the Hoge der A, Brugstraat and Kleine der A. Hotel Miss Blanche offers a wide range of possibilities for both business guests, long stayers, guests who want to explore Groningen, visit friends and family or plan other activities in Groningen. With the unique location and our luxurious facilities, we make your stay an amazing experience. Please be aware that our Suites and Apartments are reachable by very steep stairs. Our international guests call them the real Dutch experience, Some of our Suites are reachable by elevator and we are happy to consider this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Miss Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing