We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in the south of the Netherlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in the south of the Netherlands”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Good room and good beds, small shower in otherwise spacious bathroom.
Very good breakfast, lots of choices. Pleasant staff.
Building activities during the week, but quiet in the weekend.

Room Tip: There is a nice walking trail, which begins at the castle at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    201
    56
    17
    5
See reviews for
91
166
12
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Good restaurant. Very good breakfast with lots of
choice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be noiser due to parking and motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Room had a damp, musty smell and needed a good lick of paint and bringing more up to date. It was clean though. Construction work going on outside in the morning was annoying.

Was very expensive for 3 nights though. Would consider looking elsewhere before booking again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecfc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed there for 1 night. The staff was helpful the menu in the restaurant was rich but the room was really freezing even I used 2 blankets it was not enough and there was a construction going on just next to my room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I've been here in Mid-October 2011. I asked in check-in for a quiet room. When I opened the porch I saw construction scaffolding almost under my room. I asked the receptionist if this is going to wake me up in the morning. She said "it depends what they will do, but they only start in 9:00". Well, I wanted to have a late morning, and got really annoyed getting this room after I specifically asked for a quiet one. She then moved me to another room on the other side which was not more than ok. Also I could not check outlook emails because the wifi is strange (only surfing worked).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaron_Naveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The hotel is conveniently located and is easily accessible from most locations in the area.
The rooms are fairly well equipped with a safe, hairdryer but if you want a refrigerator you will have to ask for one which they will place in your room as an afterthought.
Except for one member who was very sympathetic and cheerful, the staff was somehow detached and a bit cold, but remained professional and helpful.
The breakfast on the other hand, was a bit of a disappointment. I must say that they were renovating the normal dining room on the main floor so the breakfast (and I guess dining room?) was moved downstairs to one of the conference rooms which is of course acceptable but actually caused an atmosphere of chaos and messiness. The young people preparing the eggs had obviously never received "instructions" on how to prepare eggs - in fact, I can confidently say that they must have never prepared eggs in their life and possibly have never even seen or touched an egg as they seemed truly terrified when anyone would approach the "egg counter". On a positive note this provided our 14 year old daughter with some entertainment and a cheerful discussion point for the whole family.
Overall our stay was a pleasant one and we would not hesitate to visit the Van der Valk Hotel in Heerlen again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherDe105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Pleasant staff, eager to help you out. Even through rebuilding and modernising the hotel is able to give you the feeling of being welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heerlen
0.3 mi away
Kasteel Terworm
Kasteel Terworm
#2 of 6 in Heerlen
268 reviews
10.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
695 reviews
3.6 mi away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stadshotel Botterweck
Stadshotel Botterweck
#4 of 6 in Heerlen
22 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
Address: Terworm 10, 6411 RV Heerlen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heerlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful places in the Netherlands, centrally in South Limburg, is the 4-star Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen located. This unique location is directly located to the beautiful estate TerWorm and is within walking distance (15 minutes) from the center of Heerlen. In addition, the many tourist attractions in South Limburg, Belgium and Germany are easily accessible.If you are looking for peace and nature, Hotel Heerlen is an excellent choice. For a nice mini vacation with family or friends, a business trip or a weekend away: Hotel Heerlen is the ideal location.Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen offers 189 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, 12 meeting rooms, modern and internationally oriented à la carte restaurant, cozy bar, free parking, free WIFI and a wellness center with swimming pool, gym and sauna.Hotel Heerlen features a golden Green Key label. The Green Key is an international standard for businesses in the tourism and leisure industry who are serious and verifiable concerned with the environment in the company.Let us surprise you with the many possibilities Hotel Heerlen has to offer. The best mini-holiday, you celebrate with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing