We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

this is a good chain of hotels, at least the ones i've stayed in. Quite a large hotel that has gone through some extensive refurbishment of the rooms, which are very good. Good conference facilities and very helpful staff. Food is pretty good too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here twice - both on work trips - for a few days each visit. I had a beautiful large room with spa bath and a lovely outlook over some paddocks on my first stay. The second stay I wasn't quite so fortunate with the view, but it didn't matter too much. The hotel is very large and has a vast array of different rooms to choose from. The breakfast is very reasonable and I highly recommend you include this. The 'cooked' component of breakfast was pretty standard - but the choices of other options were vast and many. The restaurant is gorgeous and very comforable. The reception staff are attentive and friendly and they all speak English very well. The bar - this was one of the disappointments. Unfortunately on both stays, the bar staff were flustered and lacking in attentiveness. I don't know that it was the individual's fault more so than the hotel did not have enough staff on? It just seemed like long waits in between drinks. It's a shame because the bar area is quite nice with a fire-place to keep you warm. The only other disappointment was the gymnasium. The facilities are ok but the staff are rude and lacking interest to provide any form of customer service to the hotel guests. I got told I could only use the gym for '10 minutes' on one occassion because they were conducting a class. As it turns out, the provide personal training and there was a group of around 4 people that had a personal training session. Not very good for customer service though I am afraid? Overall though, either here or Hotel Kasteel Treworm down the road (which incidentally has sensational restaurant) are the only options in Heerlen. I would definitely recommend a stay - whether it be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down the back looking over the paddocks (not the car park). These are lovely rooms a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyKafoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I will keep this short and sweet.... The hotel was terrific. We stayed in a refurbished junior room (202). This room was spacious and clean and modern. There were tea/coffee making facilities and a large bathroom (one minor issue; there is no shower door so after showering there is a puddle on the floor, this can be both a nuisance and a waste of floor...the floor will stain eventually). The bed was big and very comfortable.
Van der Valk almost always have their hotels situated alongside a motorway. Same here. But Terworm Castle offers a splendid park just one minute away.
Breakfast was plentiful and fresh!
The hotel offers a swimmingpool, fitness and sauna. Beware, these areas are going to be refurbished as well (January/February 2014) so may not be available during that time. Ask the hotel!
Many sites in the surroundings and some wonderful scenery. This hotel is definitely a go to place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markalexanderdegroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellently organized processes and good service! We celebrated a family event and were there with 22 people at one table and they managed to serve all courses at the same time! The services was very attentive and friendly, even though it was very busy in their large dining area. Thumbs up to the management!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Julia_van_Bommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Can only confirm what has been said before. We only stayed for one night but the room was clean, huge and the bed was comfortable despite I believe being in the 'old' wing close to the swimming pool. Despite being a larger hotel the stuff was helpful and a problem with the cot bed was quickly sorted out. No problems with internet either. We enjoyed the Jacuzzi and swimming pool the next morning and the breakfast afterwards was as excellent as previous reviews have said. Free parking as well and we believe the price we paid was quite reasonable. We will come again if we are in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rei2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The money you pay is more than justified, very big, modern, clean, functional rooms.
Wonderful breakfast with all you can imagine. Wifi works great all over the hotel.
The swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, all for free is simply gorgeous and they told me that it will be refurbished in January.
Very friendly staff, definitely I will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My daughter & I spent a night here over the weekend while visiting the Christmas markets in the area and were really impressed by the comfort, staff and facilities of the hotel. The room was very big and the bathroom came equipped with spa and enormous shower, along with a good range of toiletries. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was very impressive, with omelettes and french toast made to order, along with a wide selection of breads, eggs, cereals and drinks. We didn't eat in the restaurant for lunch or dinner but it looked wonderful and was very popular. We'll definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We stayed in the refurbished area of the hotel and it was very good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heerlen
0.3 mi away
Kasteel Terworm
Kasteel Terworm
#2 of 6 in Heerlen
279 reviews
10.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
8.7 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bastion Hotel Heerlen
Bastion Hotel Heerlen
#3 of 6 in Heerlen
61 reviews
3.6 mi away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
720 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen

Address: Terworm 10, 6411 RV Heerlen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heerlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Price Range: £77 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful places in the Netherlands, centrally in South Limburg, is the 4-star Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen located. This unique location is directly located to the beautiful estate TerWorm and is within walking distance (15 minutes) from the center of Heerlen. In addition, the many tourist attractions in South Limburg, Belgium and Germany are easily accessible.If you are looking for peace and nature, Hotel Heerlen is an excellent choice. For a nice mini vacation with family or friends, a business trip or a weekend away: Hotel Heerlen is the ideal location.Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen offers 189 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, 12 meeting rooms, modern and internationally oriented à la carte restaurant, cozy bar, free parking, free WIFI and a wellness center with swimming pool, gym and sauna.Hotel Heerlen features a golden Green Key label. The Green Key is an international standard for businesses in the tourism and leisure industry who are serious and verifiable concerned with the environment in the company.Let us surprise you with the many possibilities Hotel Heerlen has to offer. The best mini-holiday, you celebrate with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing