We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting, romantic building, good service and great food.”
Review of Kasteel Terworm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kasteel Terworm
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Certificate of Excellence
Waratah Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great setting, romantic building, good service and great food.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Revisiting childhood memories in my birth-town was made especially enjoyable staying at the castle for 2 nights. We loved the roomy suite with lovely outlooks on the castle courtyard and moat. Rooms were clean and well-appointed and meals of a high standard, although in small quantities (could be a good thing for some of us!). The surrounding area is ideal for long walks and we walked quite a few km to Voerendaal and Welten during our day and a half's stay.

Room Tip: Can't speak for the standard rooms but the junior suite was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rboelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    83
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
131
7
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Good stuff - Great room. Nice and large. Wonderful views out the windows. Large tub and comfortable shower, Staff was very helpful. Had snacks brought up by room service where were very enjoyable. Great luxury for the price.

Not so good of stuff -Slow internet. No screens on the windows and with the water around the compound we were not able to keep the windows open at night due to mosquitoes. Need some signage to show you are at the hotel and then direct you to the reception area. At night it is not so apparent. Need to correct Google. We drove all over not finding it as Google maps and several other internet maps takes you the wrong way. If you exit the road way traveling one direction there is a sign, but not if yo exit traveling in the other direction. Finding it was very difficult. GPS does not help either.

Room Tip: The senior suite was very nice. Upper floor is better, but the lower floor has an outside patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two days in August 2013. It is situated close to the motorway, so access is easy, however, from within the grounds one would not know how close the motorway was as there is no traffic noise.

Service at reception was courteous and prompt, on arrival. The room was lovely, we had a suite so that our nine year old daughter could be accomodate on her own pull out double bed.

The bathroom facilities were good with both bath and shower. We had a small area to sit on atside with table and chairs. The side lawn suffered attack from moles, sadly.

We took lunch outside. Service was prompt anf polite. It was very hot, so extendable sail like awnings were employed to provide shade.

Wine list excellent, including many by the glass. The food was beautifully presented and very tasty. An excellent lunch

The vening meal by contrast was odd. We sat ages before being served. we were given an amuse bouche, and assumed that we would be having a set menu. It was cold outside in the evening and we were not offered a table inside. Smokers were at adjacent tables, and were lit up. We were eventually offdered a wine list for drinks and a menu to select our meal. The wait was long but the food was worth waiting for.

My daughter was invited into the kitchen, accompanied by my wife, to make her own ice cream from many fruit and other ingredients provided for the purpose. The kitchens were spottlessly clean.

One problem only. The moat was very stagnant and had been over-run by a green algae. Otherwise, bar the upset with service at dinner, the experience was excellent.

We used the cycles provided for guests at 8 Euros per day, to explore the local countryside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

An excellent and very good value dinner in beautiful settings (a moated castle). 5 course taster menu with taster wines. Delicate and delicious. Nice service. Nice evening. Well worth a detour and a stay..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpeck68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed there with some friends over the weekend, and this unique hotel absolutely deserves the rating they got from the regional tourist board. It's located in a small castle (not a keep...) and it's outhouses. The rooms are spacious, modern and have nice amenities (great bathroom, television, minibar, free wifi etc.). Good service from the staff. We had the pleasure of being able to dine outside for two evenings (great weather). Extensive breakfast buffet served inside (you can't have everything). It's located in a very pretty part of the country with good options for families to get away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PdJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel, clean and stylish. It is set in beautiful grounds and fabulous country views. The rooms are superb. Very comfortable and modern. Beds very comfy. Fab bathrooms. Breakfast is delicious - lovely fresh breads and fruit as well as cooked food. Good value for money - as I would expect to pay more for this level of luxury. Only down side is that you need transport as there is no public transport into town and taxi's are expensive.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meiklejohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

During the year I stay in at least 80, maximum 120 hotels and this one is one I'll never forget! The location is superb, I stayed with the family in room 2, a suite. Great views over the garden and a very spacious room! We didn't have a lot of time during our stay, but I'll definitely will return to enjoy this hotel once more when I'm in the area. We didn't have diner, but I was told the kitchen has a very high standard as well!

The old castle is the perfect setting for weddings and special romantic weekends because of the authentic atmosphere and idillic views over the garden, and old defense channel around the castle.

Visited a small room (nr19) during my stay witch is also perfect and up to the high standard!

As always in a hotel of the Van Der Valk hotel the breakfast was of a very high standard, one of the best I've ever had! (The best would be NH Hesperia Tower, Barcelona)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIRODAANBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heerlen
0.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
8.5 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.7 mi away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
11.9 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Terworm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Terworm

Property: Kasteel Terworm
Address: TerWorm 5, 6411 RV Heerlen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heerlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Terworm 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kasteel Terworm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasteel Terworm Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing