We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kasteel Terworm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kasteel Terworm
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Certificate of Excellence
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great experience !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were here during the Dutch "Carnaval-weekend" and were expecting the worse (because Heerlen is in the centre of "Carnaval-land"), but we had a great experience. A real castle in a beautiful surrounding, friendly and helpfull staff and a great, luxury room with everything you wish.

Our arrangement included a sort of "surprise-dinner" in the castle-restaurant. Again: friendly and helpfull staff and great cooks. We had a nice dinner experience and a lovely evening.

Breakfast(buffet) is also in the castle-restaurant and includes almost everything you wish during breakfast.

Again: a great experience and we certainly will return someday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amersfoort1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    82
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
125
7
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

place is amazing and charming....,
Some problems with organization of payments : reception cervices should be more friendly (that may be needs more training for personal "how to treat guests if you as a receptionist do not know how to manage credit cards situations and grantee payments).... and some times a bit disorganized service at the restaurant ..... otherwise everything was supper and food was amazing too ... various types of fresh food for the breakfast (buffet) and dinner was excellent

Room Tip: in my point of view all rooms are good ... and we had lake view with a nest of ducks that was a cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eren5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

If location and style are your only criteria, Kasteel Terworm deserves 6 stars. This 17th century castle tastefully converted into a hotel has everything going for a romantic stay.
Unfortunately, you can't sleep in the moat and unattentive service is a bummer everywhere.
The room we had was nice, on the ground floor, with a small patio, where it will be nice to sit down in summer.
The room lacked air conditioning though, the WiFi was slow and mostly unavailable, the bathroom had a separate shower stall with a glass door which had big gaps on all sides, resulting in a flooding after a shower. Although booked as a double there were only shampoo and shower gel for one person.
In the morning there was no room for us in the breakfast room at 10:00 am.... After 25 minutes we were given a table... (This didn't happen only to us, with us there were 4 other couples waiting... Keep in mind this hotel has what, 40 rooms??)
The breakfast itself was good quality.
All in all, the quality didn't keep up with the price we paid.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

After reading all the reviews and speaking to some people who have been in Kasteel Terworm, we had high expectations. The room was nice, there's a great shower. The bathroom floor is flooded, however, after the shower, door must not close well. Breakfast itself was okay, but we had to wait 25 mins before we got a table, "because there were no tables available". There were 4 couples waiting for a table. I have never ever been in a hotel where they did not have enough space for breakfast.
The bar is divided into several spaces, with vaulted ceilings, nice and cozy. Unfortunately the personnel does not pay attention to all the rooms, so you have to get up and go to the bar to get another drink.
Then dinner, which we thought was going to be the highlight of our stay. The wines were good. The food, mediocre. Price/performance not in balance at all. Starter was a salad with lobster, poached egg. I thought it was okay, but my partner found the lobster was overwhelmed by the rest. Second was sweetbread with risotto. I actually got twice as large a portion of the sweetbread than my partner, which was odd. The risotto was so salty, it tasted like a gulp of seawater. We left that. The main was Wellington of venison. The little there was on the plate, was okayish. Not something that sticks out. Cheeses were very nice. All in all, not living up to their reputation. It might have something to do with the fact we saw no one in service who was older than 25. Location is fantastic, we actually talked about coming again in the summer, but that was before dinner. Now I know it will not happen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dutchfarmeress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We've spend some nights here from September 27th until 29th 2013. We booked one of their special arrangements. Our goal was to find a real castle to celerate our wedding day and enjoy a well deserved short break. We found and got what we were looking for and even more than that.

The location itself is really beautiful. A fully restored caslte returned to it's original state. We slept in one of the castle tower chambers (room number 11) which was really nice and beautifully decorated. A big comfortable bed and warm atmosphere. At the same time all modern requirements, shower, hairdryer, bath tub, mini-bar, couch, it was all there.

The restaurant was a real treat too! We enjoyed really good food and good wine. The food was prepared and served with a lot of attention. Also the castle staff was very friendly and service minded. The evening diner was a truely enjoyable diner. But let's not forget the breafast. Also a very rich table with many choices was offered and replenished promptly.

We will most likely return and bring some other guests while doing so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oswinvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waratah Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Revisiting childhood memories in my birth-town was made especially enjoyable staying at the castle for 2 nights. We loved the roomy suite with lovely outlooks on the castle courtyard and moat. Rooms were clean and well-appointed and meals of a high standard, although in small quantities (could be a good thing for some of us!). The surrounding area is ideal for long walks and we walked quite a few km to Voerendaal and Welten during our day and a half's stay.

Room Tip: Can't speak for the standard rooms but the junior suite was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rboelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Good stuff - Great room. Nice and large. Wonderful views out the windows. Large tub and comfortable shower, Staff was very helpful. Had snacks brought up by room service where were very enjoyable. Great luxury for the price.

Not so good of stuff -Slow internet. No screens on the windows and with the water around the compound we were not able to keep the windows open at night due to mosquitoes. Need some signage to show you are at the hotel and then direct you to the reception area. At night it is not so apparent. Need to correct Google. We drove all over not finding it as Google maps and several other internet maps takes you the wrong way. If you exit the road way traveling one direction there is a sign, but not if yo exit traveling in the other direction. Finding it was very difficult. GPS does not help either.

Room Tip: The senior suite was very nice. Upper floor is better, but the lower floor has an outside patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heerlen
0.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Heerlen
8.5 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.7 mi away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
11.9 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Terworm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Terworm

Property: Kasteel Terworm
Address: TerWorm 5, 6411 RV Heerlen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heerlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Heerlen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Terworm 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kasteel Terworm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasteel Terworm Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing