We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxed and friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Courage

Le Courage
Reserve with
Le Courage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 399 Restaurants in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“relaxed and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We went here for dinner with friends and chose the tasting menu. The food is delicious and suggested wines an opporunity for us to taste outside our comfort zone. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the team were attentive. The only disappointed is that we did not see much evidence of the food sourced from 'local markets', which to me implies really local Maastricht and Limburg markets. We would go back and we will recommend to friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttons168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    48
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surprize is perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I reserved a table for 12 persons and I told to everybody that this restaurant don't have a menu! and then everybody was so exited, what we can eat tonight... as some people have doubts about surprizes, but this surprize 3-course dinner was really really delicious. I am sure that we all will remember this dinner for years!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piret2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening In A Nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a romantic evening and enjoyed our 3-course meal at Le Courage as well as the coffee. We knew about the concept, as the restaurant was recommended by a friend. You get no menu, as the chef cooks according to the ingredients he get on the market the same day. It's more like a surprise type of courses but they don't give you what you don't want to eat. The staff was really attentive to our needs and made sure I didn't get red meat like I've asked (the chef even came to our table to ensure so). We didn't have to wait long for each course. The place is well located in an old street in Maastricht and was only 10 minutes walk from our hotel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Agnès L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We really liked the people and the room - food was very good but not stunning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Ee had a very good 4 course meal. The amuse bouche was gorgeous, fish course fine but uninspiring, Guinea fowl delicious and a truly excellent cheese board. I really liked the staff, attentive and genuinely interested in the food, and recommended an excellent Pinot Noir to match our dinner. I regarded the bill as very fair. Overall I really liked this restaurant and would recommend it but would not compare it to a Michelin starred place as some have. Perhaps we arrived with excessively high expectations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LolaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maastricht
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“nice but not spectacular restaurant in maastricht”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This nice restaurant is located close to the old center of Maastricht, on the opposite side of the river Maas. We had dinner there with a group, and we chose the surprise menu (for which you can choose the number of courses). We were served a mix of seafood and meat, all of it was nice, but there was nothing spectacular. I would even say the selection of the courses was on the safe side (scallops, steak etc). We didn't try the wines, but even so the price of the meal was quite steep. Although this is a nice restaurant, I would recommend several other restaurants in the same price category in Maastricht over this one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExploringScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Courage also viewed

Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Maastricht, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 

Been to Le Courage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing