We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful square great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful square great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

on this top location (most beautiful square of the Netherlands) you will find the best hotel of Maastricht hotel.
Nice people, great rooms, cosy lounge....
Tip visit around Christmas time...staying a night in one of the beautiful rooms with view on thr square feels like being part of a little (Disney Christmas) fairy tail....

Room Tip: take one with view to the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    127
    72
    22
    8
See reviews for
32
175
6
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Maastricht was an excellent choice for a short break and I would really recommend the town . Derlon hotel staff couldn't be friendlier. Excellent restaurant and breakfasts. Hotel is surrounded by good cafes and bars. Nice seating outside on the square for evening drinks. Room had a Nespresso machine and that helps first thing in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I didn't stay here... but I had a reservation which was cancelled 2 days before arrival. I had carefully chosen this hotel as my absolute favourite in Maastricht, but I received an email saying they had over booked and had moved us to another hotel across the river. Very, very disappointed. I did eat here for lunch during my stay - its well located and an impressive building, but having my booking cancelled 2 days before arrival was completely unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

The location of Derlon is great! Right in the middle of the centre. The room we had was at the front with a nice view on the square. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were good. However, the bathroom is a bit outdated, not very fabulous, for such a hotel. Unfortunately there was something missing in the Nespresso machine so we could not use it. We always prefer to use the stairs in stead of the elevator, however there was a very intense smell of smoke in the stairway. We noticed that this was because of personnel smoking in the half open door downstairs.
Overall our stay was fine and we will surely book there again, however, as the hotel is quite expensive, it would be good if they would take care of these points of attention.

Room Tip: In case you book a room with square view, take in mind that it is noisy, by people going out late (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

lovely location, nice area, rooms overlooking the square particularly pretty. Stayed here 3 times, 14 nights in total , on business. Once got a room under belltower of the church which was claustrophobic and i didnt like it, other rooms were nice. Beds are comfy. Rooms clean. Breakfast pretty good. efficient check in and check out. Downsides: internet was awful and worked only 50% of the time - and half of the time it worked it CRAWLED. Had to phone reception multiple times to reset the router - very annoying. very inconsistent turn down - some nights i got chocolate/ bottle of water other nights not at all...if they bother to do it at all should do it every night!! also on my last stay i was assigned a room but when i went to it there was a laundry cart inside the door and room was untidy. This was at 11pm after travelling all day. i waited about 10 mins to be assigned a new room - just seemed like a bad system to allow this to happen. Also, as this was a business trip its a pity there were no leisure facilities on offer - ie no gym pool and didnt seem to be any arrangement with a nearby gym / pool for guests. Parking in underground nearby was 20 euros per night.

Room Tip: front of hotel overlooking square - less noise on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed for four nigths at the Derlon, attending a conference. The hotel is superbly situated in the hardt of the city centre. Still the surroundings are quiet, and there is no bothering traffic noises.

The Hotel is nice enough, but lacks the little extra. The room was spacious, but a bit cold. As other has commented before me, the breakfast staff can improve somewhat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makeni05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel was advised by local friends as the best hotel in Maastricht and this was our first stay. Next time I will go to other, better hotels I have been to in Maastricht.
The location is very good, right in the centre of town and that is the best.
Downside of this hotel is that when you enter you think you are in a restaurant. We booked a Premium Deluxe room, which was ok however the bathroom was very old fashioned. When you take a shower it takes about 2 minutes before your big toe gets wet!!!
The breakfast was poor as the staff were not able to handle all guests eventhougs they were with 4(!) people. Breakfast items were not replaced, tables were dirty and not cleaned and the staff gave the feeling that everything was too much hassle!
At check out I have mentioned these points as feedback, what surprised me was that the comment was that this is possible as the hotel was fully booked. The General Manager stood next beside the receptionist and she didn't say a word..... very strange!
Next visit in Maastricht will be definitely in another hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Property: Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing