We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
saskatoon, saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

PERFECT location on a beautiful square. Could walk everywhere with ease on either side of the river and in the historic core. Odd arrangement for check-in in the bar area. We had a room on the back side, with windows that opened onto the roof of adjacent building, hence very quiet. Excellent breakfast for a hotel in Europe. Interesting archaeology in the basement where the breakfast area was located. Nice linens, bathroom and fixtures. On time wakeup call done by a "real" person. Nespresso machine was a nice surprise but a few more capsules would have been appreciated. Very friendly and accommodating staff with late checkout and holding of the bags. As our room was not ready when we arrived, espresso and biscuits were served to us. Thoughtful.
We would stay there again, however it is pricey.

Room Tip: For quietness, ask for the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    133
    74
    24
    8
See reviews for
33
185
6
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Putten, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you're planning to stay a few days in the wonderful town of Maastricht, there's no better place to stay around the area of Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. There are lots of good restaurants, bars and shops in the immediate vicinity. The Derlon hotel is situated at this excellent location. The hotel is a mixed bag of nice design, atmosphere and outdated interior (the stairs and halls need an update!). Quirky but lovable. My room was clean and nice, situated at the front side where you could see the whole square with the terraces. Which brings me to the biggest negative: the rooms aren't really insulated well, so you can hear a lot of noises from outside. This was a problem in the early morning when touring busses are parked in the front of the hotel and kept me awake.

Still, the was the third time I stayed at this hotel, and I'm planning to return in the future. There's much charm and identity in this hotel to recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights last week and had a pleasant stay. Staff are very friendly, entrance of the hotel is through the bar so it doesn't feel like entering a hotel. Outside on the hotel terrace there was live music when I arrived on Sunday afternoon (Jazz). I was in a standard room on the second floor, basic hotel interior, quite spacious and bright with lots of mirrors and windows. My room overlooked the side of the OLV church, so no one looking in the room and quiet but for the church bells sounding on the hour. Very clean room and bathroom (shower over bath), good bed, nespresso machine and paper cups in the room. I had breakfast downstairs in the bar/café area, good coffee, breakfast basic. The best thing about this hotel is its location right in the centre of Maastricht at the OLV square!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

on this top location (most beautiful square of the Netherlands) you will find the best hotel of Maastricht hotel.
Nice people, great rooms, cosy lounge....
Tip visit around Christmas time...staying a night in one of the beautiful rooms with view on thr square feels like being part of a little (Disney Christmas) fairy tail....

Room Tip: take one with view to the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Maastricht was an excellent choice for a short break and I would really recommend the town . Derlon hotel staff couldn't be friendlier. Excellent restaurant and breakfasts. Hotel is surrounded by good cafes and bars. Nice seating outside on the square for evening drinks. Room had a Nespresso machine and that helps first thing in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I didn't stay here... but I had a reservation which was cancelled 2 days before arrival. I had carefully chosen this hotel as my absolute favourite in Maastricht, but I received an email saying they had over booked and had moved us to another hotel across the river. Very, very disappointed. I did eat here for lunch during my stay - its well located and an impressive building, but having my booking cancelled 2 days before arrival was completely unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The location of Derlon is great! Right in the middle of the centre. The room we had was at the front with a nice view on the square. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were good. However, the bathroom is a bit outdated, not very fabulous, for such a hotel. Unfortunately there was something missing in the Nespresso machine so we could not use it. We always prefer to use the stairs in stead of the elevator, however there was a very intense smell of smoke in the stairway. We noticed that this was because of personnel smoking in the half open door downstairs.
Overall our stay was fine and we will surely book there again, however, as the hotel is quite expensive, it would be good if they would take care of these points of attention.

Room Tip: In case you book a room with square view, take in mind that it is noisy, by people going out late (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Property: Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing