We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfectly located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfectly located hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Derlon Hotel is comfortable and cosy. The staff and reception were very friendly with permanent smiles. The rooms are neat and clean and beds are quite comfortable. The bathroom door though is semi-transparent and has no locking facility (not everybody's cup of tea). TV chanels are very limited especially if you only understand English. The breakfast room is cosy with a nice variety of hot and cold meals. The hotel is perfectly located and walking around the beautiful clean streets of Maastricht was like a dream come true with old buildings and cobbled streets. One has a complete sense of security when walking through the streets - any part of the day or night. Would i go back - yes definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    132
    72
    23
    8
See reviews for
33
179
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

In the heart of Maastricht is the Derlon Hotel. Friendly staff, cosy, intimate......just nice!!!

We walked and walked and walked and enjoyed the scenery of the buildings and came very tired back and enjoyed nice local cold beer at the hotel.

Hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Is your relationship feeling stale? Have you been thinking about taking it to the next level? Well, Hotel Derlon in Maastricht is the place for you. Obviously designed for couples who like a bit of toilet action, Hotel Derlon offers rooms which have a transparent glass partition between the bedroom and bathroom so you can watch your partner crimp one off. There's nothing like looking your loved one in the eye as they drop the kids off at the pool to set the pulse racing and make sure your romantic break in the beautiful city of Maastricht one to remember.

So, next time you're in town, don't forget to check-in to Hotel Poolon.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Can recommend this hotel to everyone! Excellent location near bars, restaurants and best shops in Maastricht. Parking nearby. Very nice rooms, good beds. Great price value! Excellent breakfast buffet. I liked the check in counter where you can sit comfortably. it feels like a nice living room. little cakes and a drink at reception at all times. We would love to go again to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I loved this hotel - the staff, the location in the square and so central and the food. Everything about it is wonderful and I'd go back in a heartbeat. It was clean, I was welcomed by the staff; they assisted with my luggage, answered questions and were just generally the most pleasant staff I'd encountered on my trip. I ended up eating both lunch and dinner at the hotel as the food was so good and it was great to be able sit outside and eat. Highly recommend it. One thing: it's close to church towers and the church bells that are so lovely during the day aren't throughout the night - small price to pay though. Oh, and in the basement, check out the ruins of the ancient town...cool exhibit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofinogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My sister , my niece and myself stayed in the Derlon Hotel recently when we visited Maastricht for an Andre Rieu concert.
It was just out of this world, The staff were so helpful and spoke perfect English.
The Rooms had everything one would need for an enjoyable and comfortable stay.
Its location is excellent and walking distance to all places of interest.

i would highly recommend the Derlon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I think the above says it all really. This hotel is outstanding and the most central 4 star hotel in all of Maastricht. We were there for an Andre Rieu concert and chose the hotel for its central location.
We arrived at 10.30am and were rightly advised that our room was not available but they would make sure it was ready first and to come back at 1.30pm. We had booked one of their apartments that are located across the square from the hotel but when we returned to check in at 1.30 we were advised that they had upgraded us to a hotel room (Room 114). We at first thought that it was a downgrade but upon seeing the room we were extremely satisfied with their change.
The room was refurbished and was covered with mirrors everywhere making the room seem larger than it was. The room was lovely and cool with 4 windows that opened and had blinds and fly screens built in. We had a Nespresso machine with over 20 coffee pods provided and more available if required, we had a mini bar with drinks included in the price and a huge selection of toileteries and extras.
The room had slippers you could take home and dressing gowns as well as a trouser press and unlimited towels and extra pillows.
The service was excellent from all staff who spoke perfect English and they provided free wine and water at reception as well as small cakes and chocolates.
The restaurant was POSH, it was very smart and expensive and typically small portions, the quality though was again excellent but you need a large wallet to eat there and drinks are equally as expensive. The restaurant and hotel does attract famous people and we had some of Andre Rieus staff and co hosts staying including one of his famous violinists who was sat to the table to the side of us one night.
Overall we will return to this fantastic hotel when we next visit the Gem in Europe. Forget London, Paris or Rome. Maastricht is the most relaxing luxury destination in Europe and totally free of cars and so traffic. One hour on the plane from Stansted and 15 mins in a taxi.

Room Tip: Room 114 is excellent and away from the noisy rooms overlooking the square. The hotel is a 2 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMC663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Property: Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing