We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, nothing spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“excellent location, nothing spectacular”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

right in the heart of Maastricht, parking just a block away, friendly staff and shops and terraces around. What would you desire more? Well we for exaple would have loved a little bit more spectacular room. All very standard, rooms are not very well lit, just mediocre.
We were a little bit dissapointed, but on the other hand we just spent some hours in the hotel, the city called!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    135
    74
    25
    8
See reviews for
34
187
6
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stamford, ct
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have stayed here before, and checked Trip Advisor reviews prior to booking again to make sure that the property has been maintained. I read one recent review saying that the hotel was for "voyeurs", simply because they have frosted glass doors on the bathrooms in the rooms, ostensibly to make the room feel larger--but how wrong that person was to fixate on this very minor attribute. Privacy and quiet as well as service are paramount at this lovely boutique hotel on a wonderful square in the heart of this gem of a city. There are fascinating Roman ruins in the basement, and everyone associated with the hotel aims to please. Before we knew it, our bags were scooped up from our car and brought to the room, with no one standing around waiting for a tip. Every time we came to the lobby/bar area, we were offered assistance, maps, directions, recommendations for restaurants, and anything else we needed. There is water, cookies and candies available in the lobby for the taking, and last, but not least, the rubber duckies in the bathrooms are incredibly adorable. The only slightly negative is that the elevator is very small, and not swift, but everything fit, nonetheless. I can't wait to return to Maastricht and the Derlon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reginalampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We finally spent a weekend at the Derlon after years longing for a stay at this hotel. As other people have said the location is unbeatable. Other than that it was a complete disappointment. Let me start with the cleaningness: not great. I'm not particularly picky but when you find black hair on top of the toilet seat and in the bathtub you know someone hasn't been doing their job right. There were also splashes of dried up soap on the tub tiles and to top it all off the celiing fan was covered in dust. Not exactly what you expect in a deluxe room!
Also missing in the bathroom are simple amenities such as a bath cap and a magnifying mirror.
Outside the room the hotel looks like it's in need of some deep cleaning. The carpet on the stairs is plain filthy, overall on the walls are black blotches and the floor of the breakfast room was covered in crumbs and dirt. Even though you sit in de midst of beautiful Roman ruins, it is still disturbing to eat while looking at a dirty floor. The breakfast buffet was also not spectacular (cold croissants, terrible scrambled eggs) but that is unfortunately a given in most hotels.
Finally, if you are planning to sleep in on a weekend morning, forget it! Our room faced the front side (looking on the square) and at 7am on saturday morning we were woken up by a
leafblower right under our windows. After the leafblower came the garbage trucks and then more noise from the people setting up the terraces chairs and tables in the square. There was so much noise that we thought we were sleeping next to an airport!
Sorry Derlon, the black duck in the bathrooom doesn't do it, you gotta get your act together.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oalessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great location,good restaurant, helpful staff, very high quality. The place has roman ruins in the lower floor and the breakfast spot there was very sterile anf kind of odd for my americamtastes but the breakfast was good. The hotel arranged a first rate guide to take us to the American cemetery to see my uncles grave and he was wonderful. Would stay again in this charming hotel and very nice town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is superbly placed, being in a wonderful square and truly central. One can walk everywhere. It purports to be a 5* hotel which is pushing it a bit, to my mind.
Our room, No.307, was in the eves with 2 dormer windows. Either you have them shut and have no fresh air, or you have one open and hear the church bells.....every hour, the full number, and a ding on the half hour. Not too bad, and certainly copeable with. But the floor was not particularly clean and neither was the carpet outside the lift.
The bathroom is the weirdest thing. It had an opaque, translucent glass door, right opposite the bed. The door neither fits tight nor has a lock. If you need to go to the loo on the night and put the light on, it will wake people in bed. There was no extending magnifying, make-up mirror, despite the main room being FILLED with mirrors. And although there were lots of towels, they were all of a mean size; certainly not 5* type towels. The sink unit and hair-drier were just cheap. The bumph said we'd get bathrobes, but they were not apparent. When we went to ask we were told that the management had decided to cancel that 'perk' but if we really wanted them, of course we could have them. And 2, fairly small bath robes duly arrived...not plush things by any means.
We sat outside for lunch and felt the food was expensive for what it was and that the whole hotel was odd. The entrance is through the restaurant and you find the reception desk behind a glass wall at the end of the bar. It was not always manned and we certainly had no idea who was a member of staff and who was just sitting having a chat.
It was a shame because the position of the hotel is fantastic, but it's too odd for me to want to stay there again. My husband's line was that it's a hotel designed by young people, who seem to be going for quirkiness rather than use.

Room Tip: TOp floor overlooking the church rooves is not wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camphillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, clean rooms, fast wifi connection, clean bathroom, quiet rooms. The breakfast was good, wide selection of food.
Check in was quick. They brought ironing board and iron immediately as I asked. Also, helped me to build the running route on the map.
And there is black duck for bathroom - charming!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DctrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Derlon Hotel is comfortable and cosy. The staff and reception were very friendly with permanent smiles. The rooms are neat and clean and beds are quite comfortable. The bathroom door though is semi-transparent and has no locking facility (not everybody's cup of tea). TV chanels are very limited especially if you only understand English. The breakfast room is cosy with a nice variety of hot and cold meals. The hotel is perfectly located and walking around the beautiful clean streets of Maastricht was like a dream come true with old buildings and cobbled streets. One has a complete sense of security when walking through the streets - any part of the day or night. Would i go back - yes definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Property: Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing