We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A party of 6 booked this Hotel to see the Andre Rieu Concert on July 19th, the Hotel reception is very small but reasonably swift with the booking, and they do keep you looked after with free Sweets and macaroon tasters. The lift is very slow but it is easy walking down the stairs if you are able.
We had deluxe premier rooms which were of reasonable size, very clean and facilities were very good. With having so many restaurants available to us in this lovely town we did not dine in the restaurant but did have lunch in the hotels outside square which was very good. The hotel is ideally situated been very local to all the town, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Did not have choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerlonHotel, Manager at Derlon Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Harold, Thank you for your time to write such a positive review concerning your stay at the Derlon. We are happy to hear you enjoyed this beautiful city, our rooms and services. We hope and would love to welcome you soon! Kind regards, Management Derlon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    132
    72
    23
    8
See reviews for
33
179
6
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely modern hotel, excellent location but most of all the staff were very helpful and charming.

Our room at the side of the hotel was very quiet but our friends had one on the front and with the windows open it was quite noisy late at night.

Room Tip: Ours was located at the side of the hotel and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerlonHotel, Manager at Derlon Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Tom, Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your stay at the Derlon. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our services. We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Management Derlon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for four days during an Andre Rieu concert
The room was very plain with an open rail for a wardrobe and hardly any shelves or drawers.
We should have taken the hint when each bed was equipped with ear plugs. There were toe nail clippings on the floor.
The square which our room overlooked was filled to the brim with tables and chairs for e hotel restaurant and drinking area. The noise from this was dreadful and went on until 2 a.m. When the customers went home the staff started shouting to each other. On one occasion this was followed at 2:45 a.m. by a sort of leaf clearing machine making a horrendous racket for half an hour. On the other days this clearance started at 6 a.m. Then the street cleaner arrived to wash the streets and sweep the gutters and then the rubbish collection and afterwards the glass and bottle collection.
Basically four nights without any proper sleep.
I did tell them we would never return as they removed 445 euros plus tax per day from me.

Room Tip: Do not face the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerlonHotel, Manager at Derlon Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sir, First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at the Derlon Hotel. We deeply regret to hear that - despite the double glass windows and the ear-plugs - you have experienced a lot of noise from the Onze Lieve Vrouwe square. We wish you had informed us so we could have allocated you another room. Although you did not get a good experience in our hotel we hope we get the chance to welcome you again in a more quite room. Kind regards, Management Derlon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very good value for money !
The personnel was very friendly and polite! Thank you for a lovely stay !
Strongly recommended !
A lovely time in a lovely place and environment. Location in the middle of the town !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romanian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerlonHotel, Manager at Derlon Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear sir, madam,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are happy to hear you've had such a wonderful stay in Maastricht and the Derlon Hotel. Hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards, Management Derlon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is an ok hotel in a great location in the centre of Maastricht. The restaurant is ok, but given the number of restaurants in Maastricht, why would you want to eat in the hotel? My room was large and clean and comfortable. Check in went smoothly, as did the check out. However, if you are staying there on a Sunday night, ask for a room at the back of the hotel well away from the front. This is because the refuse collectors collect all the bottles from all of the restaurants in the square at 6am in the morning. The noise is unbelievable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid early morning noise from the refuse collectors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guitar_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nicely designed, in a former convent, very friendly staff. Excellent location on a quiet square in the town center. Holds Roman ruins in the cellar! Rooms include a Nespresso machine and well-stocked mini bar. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sassy_Traveller_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is an ok 3-star hotel. On its website, it is presented as a 4-star luxury boutique hotel, which it is not. It is also over-priced.

Although location is great, the reception/bar area is great, but the rest of the hotel has absolutely nothing luxurious to it (and I am not particularly picky). The furniture in the room looked cheap, the room did not have a practical lay-out, with the bathroom light switch behind the door, an awkwardly small space to enjoy your shower if you choose to use the shower curtain, and the room was generally worn down.

Choose another hotel that provides value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NORHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Property: Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing