We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice! But still overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We loved the location of this hotel, on a beautiful square and very convenient for shopping and sightseeing. The service was excellent and friendly. But I must say the room was rather small and the bathroom wasn't really super (shower in the tub with a clinging plastic curtain etc.). It certainly wasn't uncomfortable, but for the price they charge it isn't what you would expect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NetherlandsSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2010

This hotel is in a good location, walking distance from station, good restaurants, lovely shops etc. Staff were really helpful and provided everything we asked for. Information given by girls at desk about things to do with our toddler was brilliant. The room was clean and spacious. Would return here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenSKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The location is great! It's in the middle of the city center with other squares within close walking distance. The entrance is a bit weird, with a simple desk as a reception area (no lobby, lobbyis used as restaurant). The staff is very helpfull. We received information about the city. Also there was free internet. The room was big, with 2 chairs and a big desk. The price is very high, but every hotel in the neighbourhood has similar prices. We didn't breakfast, because the price was to high (25 euro p.p.) and there are enough cafes in the area to have a good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed at the Derlon for four nights to celebrate a family birthday. The hotel is decorated in a modern style with interesting artwork in the rooms. The furnishings are very modern Scandinavian in feel and the beds were very comfortable.
We had a lunch and several before-dinner drinks in the small restaurant and the service was attentive. The breakfast is plentiful; fans of both European-style and American-style breakfasts will go away satisfied. On weekends it is served in the basement where the Roman ruin exhibit is--that was interesting but all the notes I saw were in Dutch so didn't really learn about them!
I had a cold one day and stayed in the room dozing. When my husband returned the cleaning staff had left a bag hanging from the door with clean towels and toiletry refills.
The hotel is on a square in the mainly-pedestrian (but watch out for the bikes!) district in the part of town near the river. Lots of shops and interesting sightseeing in easy walking distance in every direction.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K2DangerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

we just spent one night in the Derlon, made use of their summer special (including breakfast and free parking ticket). Location is perfect and our room was ok, breakfast a litlle bit poor for this kind of hotel. A convenient hotel but no whaouw effect.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliaslili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

The Location of the hotel is great, just outside are so many restaurants, bars, cafes and shops, right in the centre of Maastricht, however I wouldn’t call this a 4 star hotel, checking in is more like checking into a youth hostel or worse. The Reception is shared with the Bar and it is extremely dirty both day and night. The only thing visible are dirty glasses and more dirty glasses, plus even the receptionist is busy sipping what seams to be a glass of coke as you are trying to check in friends! Also there was a bad odour in the air.
Service is not great, there is no friendly atmosphere, no style and no class. Rooms are modest. There are no lifts at all especially when you are on the 3rd floor with extremely steep and narrow stairs.
Personally I would not reserve any more rooms for people in this hotel. If I were staying here I would be checking out the moment I saw all the dirty glasses everywhere.
Health and safety should arrive for a surprise visit!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euroboyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Hotel Derlon is the ideal place for a romantic holiday. Superb interior, great breakfast, good beds, nice staff. The loation in the heart of Maastricht is superb.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltrixRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
#18 of 38 in Maastricht
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £124 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing