We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Matuchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Matuchi
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Maastricht. The staff are friendly and there is a comfortable little bar on the ground floor. The beds and very comfortable and bathroom clean.
The stairs into the hotel are very steel so not great if you have big luggage or if your not so mobile.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToryCassells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Gay-friendly, comfortable, beautiful rooms, clean and decent bathroom (not big), friendly staff.

Not for people who carry big/heavy suitcases as there are only steep stairs, no elevator. Perfect for young backpackers, light travelers.

Room Tip: There are rooms in front (more crowded street) and back. We had no trouble with noise but might be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Maastricht. The staff are friendly and there is a comfortable little bar on the ground floor. The beds and bathroom are clean although the room is very small.

I had problems with two features of the hotel. Our room is located on the first floor and the windows face the air conditioning units. These units are very noisy and the outflow from the units left an unpleasant smell in the room. Also the main door of the hotel was very difficult to open with the key. At some time someone will be locked out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALreporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A bit "hit and miss" this hotel which is a shame as I would like it to be successful. It is imaginatively decorated around a Moroccan theme and is quirky and interesting throughout. The staff are friendly and helpful and the bar area is lovely. The building itself however, is (like Maastricht) very old and access to the rooms is difficult as it is by climbing several flights of steep, narrow, twisty stairs. The rooms are furnished comfortably but are pretty basic, with little storage room. The worst part of my experience was getting locked out of my room late at night and having to sleep in another (unoccupied) room until the door to mine could be opened in the morning. The lock giving access to the rooms from the street was also temperamental for everyone, and it is only a matter of time until someone gets locked out of the hotel overnight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beardy_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly when we showed up at 7pm asking for a room for the night. The room was well decorated and clean so we took it without giving much consideration to the fact that it was above a cocktail bar and on a fairly busy street. Unfortunately both of these things made it quite difficult to get good sleep later that night and the following morning. It's in a great location, just moments away from shops, restaurants, bars, and the river. For one night it was adequate, though for EUR 80 without breakfast it is perhaps slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms directly on the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarletmelete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Maastricht seems to have a many over-priced hotels with variable standards of quality, so the Hotel Matuchi deserves praise for being clean, friendly, offering free internet, large rooms, and being in an excellent location. It is a good choice for young independent travelers: prices are reasonable, there is a hookah/shisha lounge, restaurant, and cocktail bar on the first floor that offers a bit of an interesting scene in a city that otherwise seems overly sanitized. However, I don't think I'd personally stay there again. It feels less like a hotel than like staying in your Aunt's attic after she got back from a trip to Morocco and decided to decorate it with souvenirs. There aren't the usual amenities (such as a closet/wardrobe), and the building doesn't seem quite structurally sound. Be advised that there is a very steep and narrow staircase that would be difficult to navigate with heavy luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zydec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel during TEFAF and, whilst the staff were nice I cannot sat the same for my experience. The room I was put in had at least two broken light bulbs so it was incredibly dim and difficult to see. There was no wardrobe and no hangers so I was not able to hang any of my clothes. There was no hair dryer and no soap, after asking I did eventually manage to get hold of an iron. I spent a long sleepless night listening to every guest ascend the stairs which caused my bathroom door to rattle in its hinges and you can only get wifi in the dark and smoky bar/restaurant area.
I sampled the food one evening, choosing lamb tagine. Considering this place markets itself as Moroccan inspired I was expecting something nice, what arrived was not a tagine (no shallots, no dates or apricots, no cous cous, no almonds etc.). It was a lamb stew and a very very bland one at that. I resent paying for food when I could have cooked this myself and it would have tasted infinitely better.
All in all, a pretty awful experience. The one good thing is the location, perfect if you want to explore the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanamanana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel De la Bourse
Hotel De la Bourse
#25 of 38 in Maastricht
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Botel Maastricht
Botel Maastricht
#36 of 38 in Maastricht
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#13 of 38 in Maastricht
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
#18 of 38 in Maastricht
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Martenslane
Hotel St. Martenslane
#16 of 38 in Maastricht
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matuchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matuchi

Address: Kleine Gracht 34, 6211 CB Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £52 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Matuchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing