We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would definitely stay here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We decided to stay here because the hotel was conveniently located and I really liked the design. We were not disappointed. Almost right across the station we found the hotel. The room wasn't big, we knew that beforehand but it had a great atmosphere. Minimalism meets romanticism. The bathroom (we booked a room with only a shower) wasn't small at all. It was very comfortable and it had a "rain shower"!

Also thumbs up for...
The huge bed, with Hastings boxspring. So comfortable!!
The front desk is staffed 24 hours.
Free wifi that is actually working

Points to improve:
two bath towel hooks in the bathroom would be more practical.
Breakfast is far too expensive. (Instead, go into town, Maastricht has so many places to have breakfast.)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margreet1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Magreet 1980,

Thank you for you stay at Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht. We’re glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay. And thank you for your nice review and good feedback. Great!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    549
    124
    42
    14
See reviews for
109
712
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tsawwassen, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Our recent stay was very disappointing. Reservation was made in February.
I spoke with a great English speaking girl who assured me that we would have a great room.
The room we were in turned out to be the smallest room I have ever seen in my life. In fact, due to the sloped ceiling it was impossible to stand at the foot of the bed! No end tables available as there was no room. Having cuff links and blind-fold painted onto the walls was also not funny. To top it off, no telephone? We were told to use our mobile.
We were told from a local resident about the hotel and it’s awards prior to booking. I am in complete disbelief of the rating and will not recommend. My friend is the city planner for Maastricht and also told us the hotel was 1st class.
Since we arrived from Canada I could not sleep and went downstairs at 3AM only to find the staff at the front desk on a porn site with some of his drunk buddies making phone calls and being very disrespectful to girls they were phoning. They did not care that a guest was only 3 meters away listening to everything.
All in all, after all the trips to Europe and hotels and pensions and the like, this was our least rated place to stay. Sorry for the comments, but this was our experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Owner at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Dear AngelBoy1,


We were shocked to learn about your experience in our hotel.

First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay.

The reason we do not have phones in our hotel rooms anymore is that 99% of our guests is using there mobile phones. For guests that do no have a mobile phone, or want to make an overseas call, they may use our phone at the desk. The stencil graffiti on the walls is for a fun factor and is part of the concept. Rather it could not improve you. We have different sizes of rooms, medium, large and extra large. The room you stayed in, 416 is a medium room.

Regarding the behaviour of the night porter I would make an extra and even more serious apology ! Unacceptable it is! Please do trust us that we take all necessary actions to avoid this in the future.

I hope you will contact me if you come to Maastricht again. We would like to offer you a complimentary night in an Extra large room with breakfast, this to show to you that we take your complaint serious and that we want to prove to you the reason why many travellers rate our hotel as being very pleasant and comfortable.

Kind regards,
Owner and Manager
Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Bought a voucher for our stay from a charity auction. Friendly, clean and fun - not much space in rooms but perfect for a weekend away. Shame they did not honour the champagne breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales and Marketing at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Sher50_11

Thank you for the nice review. Although the champagne was served at breakfast, we’re sorry to hear you didn’t get any. We’ll make it up to you next time!

See you soon.

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I was really looking forward to our stay at the Townhouse Hotel. I did not want to risk having a tiny room so for once I did not select the standard room upon reservation. When we opened the door I was sure that we have received the wrong room. I went to the reception and expressed my disappointment. The service minded receptionist explained that the smallest room was even smaller and that I indeed had received the correct room type. Don't expect big rooms but perfect service. So if you are happy with the latter don't hesitate to visit the Townhouse Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johanmenso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales and Marketing at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Johanmenso,

Thank you for your nice and honest review. This gives us the opportunity to improve ourselves further.

We hope to see you again in Maastricht.

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed in townhouse Design hotel in Maastricht and loved it with my sister We went for the Andre Reiu concert and they gave us bottle wine afterwards The breakfast was healthy and as I am Ceoliac was happy there were rice cakes Room was small but was all we needed So clean IT is so central near the station and will be back !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales and Marketing at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Gretta66,

Thank you for the nice compliments! And we’ll see you soon in Maastricht.

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed for 4 nights to celebrate our Anniversary and to attend Andre Rieu concerts when price of rooms increase dramatically which is to be expected.
Situated conveniently for railway station (from station - turn right then 1st left). On entering hotel, reception area unlike any other with rocking chair, scooter!! Staff very friendly (Claudia especially welcoming) cup of warming soup on arrival is nice touch.
Found room to be perfectly adequate (318) minimal storage, large bathroom loads of very hot water. Large comfortable bed and free room safe. Unusual wall etchings pair of handcuffs at bed head! thought they were real at first - disappointed!!
Ample selection at breakfast, but as other reviews state, a bit pricey 17 euros, shame the price not shown anywhere. Mix of crockery is quirky and seating arrangement very casual.
Only 10 mins to city centre with numerous cafes and restaurants.
Overall, a very pleasant stay with friendly welcoming staff. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithpjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales and Marketing at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear keithpjenkins,

Thanks you for the great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genval
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Nice hotel, nice people, nice welcom, nice breakfast, a very good adress

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hervé D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales & marketing at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Dear Chonchong,

Thank you for your nice compliments!
We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Property: Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Designhotel is a unique hotel in Maastricht. You are our guest and not just an overnight visitor. We offer authentic hospitality and southern local coziness, decorated in a modern style. Winner of the IMMENS CSR award 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing