We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A disappointment.”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was optimistic after reading the reviews, but the experience did not live up to expectations.

Check-in was distracted and spent the whole time on the phone talking to others. They offer a bowl of soup at check-in, which is a nice idea, but the soup was cold and not very good.

I still had high hopes for the room. But when we got there we were very disappointed. There's "design" and then there's a lack of design pretending to be design. This was the latter. It was a large room, but it felt like an insurance office that had been retrofitted to be a hotel by taking out some desks and rolling in a thin fairly unpleasant bed. It lacked any sense of fun or personality. It's just a big wasted space. The idea of using a cork board to put information on in the room is OK, but not if the cork board has fallen off the wall and just left the marks on the wall where it was. The walls and ceiling are an unpleasant off-white, like they hadn't bothered to paint when the insurance company moved out. There were two small low-end pillows for the two of us. It was more like a high end hostel than a moderately priced modern hotel.

I'll give them credit for nice bathrooms. But they lacked shampoo, etc. They just had soap containers attached to the wall. And free wifi throughout the building is always good.

There was no view at all. We looked out over parking and then the backs of some bulidings.

But what was supposed to be a nice, interesting and kind of cool hotel was very disappointing. I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Jack_Shaw,

We still would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We feel sorry that the hotel experience did not live up to your expectations.
Could you please contact us via management@townhousehotels.nl?

Kind Regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    565
    127
    42
    14
See reviews for
114
730
53
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights. The breakfasts were great (ample choice) and the room minimal but comfortable. We had a large room, I don't think I would have wanted any smaller, but the bed was enormous, a nice surprise for my partner who is 6ft3!
The hotel was right next to the station which is handy and only 5-10 mins walk to the centre of town. Although it was very cold (-12C) whilst we stayed, the room stayed warm.
I agree with some of the comments - design may have overtaken comfort a little, but we had everything we needed, so no complaints!

Room Tip: 'Large' was average to small compared to other hotels so I would recommend going for as larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreampearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Andreaseedhouse,

Thank you for the “Excellent” grades and compliments! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your 3 nights at our hotel. We hope to see you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The Townhouse hotel has won awards for its design:too bad that doesn't carry over into making guests comfortable in the very designed rooms. here for a winter conference, and the hotel was not welcoming: couldn't check in until 3 p.m. "or Later" they encouraged, I was left to wander around out in the cold for 3 hours. When I finally got into my room, it was as cold and drafty as a meat locker. I complained and was told that it was part of their "green" policy to keep the thermostat set low. So much for the fact that it feel likeI could see my breath in my room. Add a shower with only half a door, so that a shower (with water at what feels like barely body temperature,no doubt another green innovation) means flooding the bathroom floor with water, and you have a beautiful space that, on a day when outdoor temps are -4 Celsius, feels like it's about 15 degrees ,not 23...This place might be fine in summer, but don't stay here in the winter!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffwithtwoels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Jeffwithwoels,

Thank you for writing this review.
We are really sorry for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay with us.
Could you please contact us via management@townhousehotels.nl?

Kind Regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just stayed in the Townhouse Hotel for one night in a very chilly (-7C) stay! The staff was very kind to add another duvet and pillows as well as turn the heat up. Just ask the front desk, its controlled from there.

Upon arrival, the staff was organized and offered a bowl of red pepper soup(yum!) and we relaxed by the fireplace. There are also lots of magazines, books, and board games if you want to unwind. Limburg Flan is available in the afternoon as is coffee, tea and other drinks in the main sitting area. There are also bowls of fruit to help yourself--which is a great touch.

The room was very nice(went for the large-and so glad I did!) and the room had a great Hastens bed(so lekker...). The bathroom did have a body wash and soap, as well as a strong hairdryer. Shower had good water pressure. The design is nice, and I didn't have any noise issues in my room.

I had an overall very positive experience and would most certainly return.

Room Tip: Get a large room (116 is very nice!) and enjoy the view of the street and station from a lovely wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC-IMF-FAOtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear DC-IMF-FAOtraveler,

Thank you for the lovely comments, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Townhouse Design Hotel Maastricht! We hope to see you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ichtegem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had a great time at Townhouse Hotel.
The ppl are very friendly and helpful, The rooms are clean and nice.
We had a great time and would like to go back soon
Breakfast was nice, choose enough off bread, meat, there is fresh juice and fruit.
For eating at noon or evening I don't know, but there are restaurants, close and center if 5-10 min away from hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Sanders G,

Thank you for the awesome compliments and grades! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I agree with a bunch of other reviews that the focus seems to have been more on the design than on practicality or usability or comfort. A bathroom with wooden shutters doesn't seem very thought-through for such tiny rooms (you can hear *everything* and even see if take a peek); the rain shower was great but there was no door to close it so the bathroom got flooded whenever you took a shower; there is no wardrobe in the room, only coat hangers on some hooks on the walls; the towels are tiny and budget-quality at best.
On the plus side are the location, the friendly staff, the large lobby that's decorated to resemble a living room and the breakfast. All in all, however, the place is overpriced. It's fine for a night or two on a city trip, but I wouldn't want to spend any longer there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettina1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Bettina1705,

Thank you for your compliments and the feedback! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your review give us the opportunity to improve our hotel and service.

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

all good, really nice, location, room, service: no complaints at all

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liviapatriziaremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Liviapatriziare,

Thank you for the compliments! We are pleased to hear that you've had a really nice stay at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht.

Kind regards,
Team townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.9 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
682 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Property: Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Designhotel is a unique hotel in Maastricht. You are our guest and not just an overnight visitor. We offer authentic hospitality and southern local coziness, decorated in a modern style. Winner of the IMMENS CSR award 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing