We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here for three nights for pleasure. We were extremely impressed by the design concept and above all the friendliness of the staff. They were extremely helpful and accurate with recommendations for restaurants in the town. The hotel is extremely clean with high quality furnishings.
Breakfast is continental and delicious. There are lots of healthy options.
We had an extra large room without a walk in shower but it worked for us. I understand the comment about hanging space. If you were travelling for work or staying longer it could be inconvenient.
The location by the train station is excellent for travellers. It's not a long walk into the old centre across the river and the area around the hotel is upmarket with good shops, bars and restaurants.
For a fun weekend away this hotel was great value! Also extremely clean with high quality furnishings.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Fiona B,

Thank you very much for sharing your personal experience in our hotel with others.
Great to hear that you had a good stay with us! We hope we may welcome you next time again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Rino Soeters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night in this hotel, and I have a little bit mixed feelings. The location close to the railway station was very good for us, but if I was going to spend a longer time in this beautiful city, I would definitely want to stay in the old town across the bridge.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful - the hand shake was a nice gesture as well as bringing us delicious soup. Our room was clean, and as a nice bonus there were some books in Dutch so I could practice my Dutch skills, too. :-)

However, I had made a mistake by not taking earplugs... In our room they would have been necessary! We stayed on the 1st floor above the entrance, and all the noises just floated in. People were standing below our room smoking and chattering, and there was quite much noise from the traffic, too. In the morning I woke up to the lovely sound of suitcases rolling on the pavement...

I couldn't quite decide whether I liked the interiors of the hotel or not. I understand that all the elements have been carefully chosen, but I found them a bit odd: like laundry hanging above the reception desk, old scruffy rag carpets in the breakfast space and the lift covered with street posters. But I paid attention to them, so they made an impact!

The breakfast was quite ok, but very basic. The cake with the Dutch flag was cute! With more details like this the breakfast could become more memorable. In any case, we had a good stay and enjoyed our stay in Maastricht.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear SandraMix,

Sorry to read that you have a little bit mixed feelings about your stay with us.
We want to thank you for sharing your personal experience with us and thank you for your 'attention points'. We are open for comments and tips to improve our product and services.
We hope we may welcome you in Maastricht next time and show you that we have taken care of your feedback.

Kind regards,
Rino Soeters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Very nice, modern and clean hotel. The hotel have a modern and extravagant architecture. A very nice place located - near the railway station. The staff is very polite. Soup to welcome is a very good idea. The rooms are cozy and nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Dear Karla D,

What a lovely review, thank you for this! Great to read that your stay was fine.
We hope to see you again in our living room, the soup is from 12am waiting for you!

Kind regards,
Rino Soeters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed here for work and actually my company booked it for me, this is a nice hotel but not if you are in town for work. Rooms are very very small, there is no place to put your luggage or even hang your clothes, no phone so if you need something has to come down to front desk for anything, no iron or iron board so again has to go downstairs to request one that on top you have to bring back to your room on your own. No amenities, so if you did not bring your shampoo, conditioner or body lotion you have to buy it at the authomatic machine... breakfast is poor and all is cold, so if you are a vegan you will have to bring your own soy products; maybe for other kind of travelers would be fine, but it is not nice to have all your clothes on your bed because there is no place to put them, buy your shampoo and run into your luggage during the night.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank adpollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear adpollo,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
We believe that our guests experiences are very heplful to improve our product and our services.

We are very sorry to read that your stay was not as desired. May we ask you to contact the following e-mail address: management@townhousehotels.nl, so we can talk about your experience and find perhaps a possible solution.

Thanks again and we hope to hear from you.

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Arriving at the airport, walk directly over the road and hop on the 59 Veolia bus. This is 4 euros per person and will drop you at the main train station. From here, the hotel is literally across the road, about 30 seconds away! There is a cash point at the airport directly outside to the left if you need cash straight away.

Now the hotel:

Check in was very quick and easy, the member of staff introduced herself to us and shook our hands. Very welcoming indeed we thought. There is hot soup at reception bubbling away for you to taste which is a nice touch.

The room we booked was a medium. It was clean, fairly spacious and very minimalistic which I personally prefer. Funky stencilled pictures adorn the walls throughout the room and hotel and the whole place is pretty well kempt. There were however one or 2 dirty marks on the wall in our room, but that can be overlooked. Housekeeping never replaced our dirty glasses and never removed some used packaging in our room that we had returned with, which was a little disappointing as it sat there for a day and a half. No mini bar in the room, and no tea making facilities. Shower hot, powerful and very refreshing.

The location of the hotel is very good. It is situated very close to the airport drop off and is a nice 5-10 minute stroll to the old town over the bridge, past many shops, bars and restaurants. It is situated in a good part of town and we didn’t feel any threat walking at night back the hotel. There is a take away pizza place around the corner and a late night mini-mart if needed.
We didn’t eat in the restaurant or have breakfast at the hotel. We thought the breakfast price was a little pricey considering you can get similar in the town for less. The restaurant area in the hotel is very smart though, with funky touches of furniture and decorative items. They even have 2 SMEG fires to keep you warm – nice touch.

Overall, a great hotel in a very nice City. If we were to return to Maastricht, we would certainly consider staying here again. If you were to book to stay here, I very much doubt you would regret your decision as it is a good standard.

One thing to note though is the extra charges on top of the hotel room price. 4 Euros 75 cents per person per night City Tax/Tourist Tax. A disgrace in my opinion, but it’s not the hotel’s fault, but the City’s itself.

4.4/5 in my honest opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear javab29,


Thank you very much for the great feedback about your stay in our hotel! Good to hear that you enjoyed our service and hospitality.
Thanks for giving your advice points, we will take care of these.

We hope we may welcome you again in Maastricht!


Kind regards,

Rino Soeters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

very small rooms but didn't matter as the lounge/eating area was so large and welcoming. An all day soup pot is a lovely idea. Breakfast selection was good and tea and coffee all day. We drove but the station was so close without any noise it would be the ideal way to arrive. A very short walk took you straight to the centre which is lovely. A very prompt and pleasant shuttle service took us too and from the mecc which was our reason for being there

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parklane_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear parklan_13,

We would like to thank you for your great review!

How nice to hear that you had a good stay with us.

We are hoping that we may welcome you again during TEFAF 2014.

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Very warm, inviting, friendly staff and decor. Free soup in lobby plus open space to work, talk, play games. Room was very clean, size was acceptable for Europe (but no closet). Location is great -- 1 block from train station, allowing easy access to MECC for conferences, 5 minute walk to river, 10 minutes to main sites of Maastricht.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear Daniel G,

Thank you very much for your great review!

Good to hear that you had a nice stay and we hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £63 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Designhotel is a unique hotel in Maastricht. You are our guest and not just an overnight visitor. We offer authentic hospitality and southern local coziness, decorated in a modern style. Winner of the IMMENS CSR award 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing