We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Smallest room I have ever been in. I had booked a "Deluxe" room, but that translated into a medium
room. Im afraid to actually have a look at a small room. Little bit of space left on all side of
the bed, and that filled the whole room. After a shower the room would be so hot and wet, because its so small.
Bathroom soap broke down as soon as you touched it. No place to hang up your towels so they would actually dry.
Not much towels either and you already lost one to dry the floor as after a shower the whole bathroom floor was soaked.
Bathroom soap broke down as soon as you touched it.
There were no instructions about the hotel and all available in the room for instructions on environmental control,
so playing around with this took two days to make sure you were not freezing or boiling in the room.
The craziest thing was that is no actual privacy to seperate the room with the bathroom, so everything
you do on the toilet is on show for the other person. Imagine being on a romantic weekend away. You dont want
to share everything if you know what I mean.
The people behind the reception didnt care about anything else then getting you away from their desk asap,
but when you walk out of the hotel at least they wish you a nice evening.

For 150 euro a night, you expect a lot more. Its the most I have ever had to pay for a hotel room a night
and it was the worst experience I ever had. Even in 40 euro rooms, I at least had a hair dryer, moisturiser a shower cap
and at least some space to turn myself around in the room.

Cant believe they got an award. They must have not seen this room when they stayed over there.

Room Tip: Book a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeslieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear LeslieBelfast,

We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not according to your wishes. However we would like to thank you for your honest review and sharing your experiences with us.

May we ask you to contact us at management@townhousehotels.nl, so that we can discuss this matter, clarify things and find a possible solution.

Thank you and kind regards,

Edith Vonken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Townhouse Hotel Maastricht is my preferred location to stay when down in Limburg. Rooms are comfortable and the area is convenient to reach by car. Next to the privacy of your room, there is a large living-room area where you can lounge and in the morning breakfast is served. When the hotel rooms are fully booked there are might be some spacious apartments available as well. This all for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PropertyOfJobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear PropertyOfJobi,

How amazing to read that we are your preferred location in Limburg! Great you do feel at home with us.
Please call us to book your next stay, we love to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Found this hotel absolutely relaxing,very welcoming,had a double room,ground floor,staff where very helpful on arrival.What i liked about the hotel was the design very open planned reception,the room was very nice,nice large bathroom plus large shower.Had breakfast here lovely
selection of choices to eat.Also make time to visit the town centre in maastricht splendid place to look around.

Room Tip: tip safe for your valubles look under the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leicester_ukValais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Leicester,

Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you for this! How amazing to hear that you like our design concept and open reception, as a kitchen like at home. We love to be helpful so call us for your next stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again in Maastricht.

Kind regards,

Edith Vonken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We only had a one night stay - and now I wish we could have stayed longer.
We booked a basic room, so we knew it was going to be on the small side, with no wardrobe, but that was fine.
In fact, it was better than fine. We loved it, from the cranky, creaky lifts, to the hammock in the lobby to the offer (which we actually declined) of a complimentary cup of soup on our arrival.
The room was clean and light, with a good sized bathroom, comfortable bed and the added fun of a remote control to operate the blind on the skylight.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and their recommendations for drinks and dinner (Cafe Zuid was terrific!) were spot on and much appreciated.
We also appreciated the indoor car park around the corner. The location is good, with a pleasant walk into the main shopping and eating area, and not terribly far if you want to wander across the bridge to the "Main" side of the river for the department stores and high street brands.
We would love to stay again, and next time - hire bikes!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Tete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear 123Tete,

Thank you for this amazing review. Great to read your experiences! When you are back in Holland, please contact us because we would love to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Edith Vonken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel was really lovely and very good value. We took a bus from the airport to the station; the bus dropped us across the road from the hotel (Bus Number 59, €4, every 30 minutes). We were offered complimentary soup or an ice lolly on arrival. Our room was a 'Large' with a balcony on the 3rd floor (322) and it was quite modern and clean. The air conditioning was brilliant and really quiet. The only problem was that our double bed was two singles pushed together which was a bit annoying but the receptionist checked and said that they do not have any medium or large rooms with one mattress. This receptionist was really friendly and very obliging – even carrying a heavy leather chair into our room for me. We didn't eat breakfast here as it cost €14.50 per person and this seemed too expensive besides there are lots of cafes nearby. The Townhouse is situated two minutes walk from the station but in a very quiet area which felt very safe. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel and it is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk to the main square across the river. The hotel has several bikes available to hire but they were not available the days we wanted to use them but they directed us to a huge bike hire shop by the station which was even cheaper (€10 per day, €100 deposit). They had a good gym downstairs, a bar, plenty of comfortable seating and lots of board games on the ground floor. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: 322 is a great room with a balcony looking onto a very quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Jenny,


Thank you for sharing your compliments and advice!

It's good to read your honest experience. If you book including breakfast it is cheaper and you enjoy the buffet with local products. Call us next time for your reservation and we will offer it to you.

Hope to see you soon.


Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I really like Townhouse Hotel! Its in a good location... near the train station (where you can rent bikes) and bus line, in a neighborhood scatted with interesting restaurants and shops for browsing, away from touristy areas. The hotel itself... the staff very helpful and accommodating, the rooms, clean, quiet and comfortable. The only regret is that I never tried the breakfast which I heard was wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Hulal,


Great! Thank you very much for your nice review.

We have bikes as well for the next visit and a lovely healthy and tasty breakfast with local and fresh products. See you in Maastricht for coffee during breakfast?


Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My spouse and I stayed here for the first time recently and very much liked the hotel itself. Staff is super-friendly and helpful, rooms are a bit spartan but clean and comfortable, and breakfast was tasty. The location is on the same street as the train station, a bus terminal and a police station, but is still very quiet, especially if you can get a room on the back side. One issue is that the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the city center, so be forewarned, if that maters to you. Otherwise, Town House is delightful and we'll stay here next time we're in Maastricht.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Land_Rover00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Land_Rover00,


Thank you for your great review!

Good to hear that you had a nice stay with us.

We are looking froward to welcome you next time with us in Maastricht, the soup will be ready for you!


Kind regards,
Rino Soeters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Designhotel Maastricht
Designhotel Maastricht
#9 of 38 in Maastricht
1,595 reviews
1 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#14 of 38 in Maastricht
1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Maastricht
Beaumont Maastricht
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range: £63 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Designhotel is a unique hotel in Maastricht. You are our guest and not just an overnight visitor. We offer authentic hospitality and southern local coziness, decorated in a modern style. Winner of the IMMENS CSR award 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing