We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

This hotel was the biggest lodging surprise of our 10-day trek through The Netherlands & Spain - we loved it! It is well located right by the train station but also very much within walking distance of the river, good restaurants, shopping and the overall city centre. The staff was incredibly friendly, the breakfast was good, and all throughout the day they serve soup, or other small tidbits to nibble on. The rooms are small, but we found that to be the case throughout Europe regardless of hotel quality. We would stay here again if we returned and recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marasis111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Dear guest,

The best hotel in your 10 day trek, great to read your review! Thank you for your compliments. Townhouse has four kinds of hotel rooms; basic, medium, large and extra large. Maybe when you visit us in the future we can offer you a larger room. Hopefully we will meet again in the future, the soup is waiting for you!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    553
    125
    42
    14
See reviews for
111
719
52
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lokeren, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

I was travelling alone, but i never felt lonesome in your hotel, there was a very friendly girl at the reception that made me feel at home right away.
Very comfortable room, great curtains that blocked all the light from outside. Very nice furnishing/decoration, original and stylish, great mix of design and vintage. I loved the "Banksy"-like paintings on the walls!
I took a nice bath, watched tv for an hour or so, and went to bed, completely relaced.
I'm a light sleeper, and i forgot my sleeping pill, but the glass of wine the lady at the reception poured out for me helped to get to sleep.
The breakfast was great, and i will never worry again becouse some of my cups and dishes do not match!
I agree with the little decoration painted next to your door: "I'll be back!"

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Dear madam Rooms,

Great to read our hotel felt like home. We hope to see you again in Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht for a wonderful night sleep.

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We went for a golf trip to Maastricht with a 1 night sleepover in the Townhouse hotel. What a nice design hotel, close to the centre of town. Reception was really friendly, got a cup of mustard soup. The lounge is around the reception area like home away from home. You can sit here, read one the books lying around, have a drink (you can poor yourself) and have breakfast, which is adequate and good. Rooms (we had the large one) are modern and have fantastic beds. A large bath. We have to say, it was all better than we expected and really good price/quality.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rilex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Dear guest,

Great to read that we exceed your expectations! Thank you for your kind words about Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht. See you next time.

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

This is a brand new design hotel. I have nothing against design hotels, and this looks particularly well designed. On the other hand some of its details were not very practical, if not plain awkward. We were staying in a ground floor room right next to the main stairs. The bed was not the most comfortable (despite the expensive Hastings mattress) and very squeaky. The bath room door was an open type, like old fashioned blinds. Though basically you could not see through it, some sounds I don't want to share.
Another annoyance was the breakfast. In the morning I am not always totally social. However, this room only had long narrow and completely crowded tables on which you have your breakfast shoulder to shoulder with the other guests. Maybe I had just the bad luck that we walked in at peak time (the buffet and the single coffee machine were jammed), but this just ruined my appetite.
We only stayed one night, so perhaps I did not have the time to see the benefits, but I am not fully convinced regarding the concept of the hotel. Except for its hip looks, and its location, I am not sure whether I could see a lot of benefits.
My wife certainly liked the place, adding that I shouldn't whine. Well...you have read my objections. They could be irrelevant to you too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Please do not hesitate next time and ask for the rooms with a normal bathroom door. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. We do hope we will see you next time, we can serve breakfast in your room if you want to!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

The rooms and staff felt more like a youth hostel which would have been fine but the prices were of a regular hotel.
Two of the three rooms we saw smelled like smoke.
If you need shampoo, conditioner, soap, you need to buy these at reception.
I half expected that I'd need to buy a towel too but they did provide that but it was like sand paper.

From the photos I thought this was a boutique hotel but this would be a stretch to put in the hotel category which after I got here I realize why they call it "townhouse".
I was shopping for rooms online and realize I got confused by the Eden Design hotel and this hotel. I did go look at the Eden's rooms and they were much nicer and similar in price and it was a legitimate hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodWineFunSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

I'm all for stylish boutique hotels, but this one forgot the essence of what a hotel should be like. I stayed in a room with direct access from the stairwell(ie noisy, but that's unimportant next to the rest). No closet, nor shelves, just a few hangers on the wall. No place to put your luggage except on the floor. No shower door so the bathroom floor is inundated, a wooden shelf in the bathroom that is too narrow to allow you to place your toilet kit. A shower system where you have to spend 10 minutes figuring how to use it. Never did understand how to go from the shower head to the hand held spray. No phone in the room so you can't even reach the reception!!!! A stupid aluminum bed where the foot of the bed blocked the view of the TV on the wall and an aluminum headboard bar prevented you from sitting up in bed to read. No bedside tables, just two chairs stacked with old Dutch books, No extra pillow. When I asked at the reception for one, I was told I had to wait 1/2 hour for his replacement so he could go look for one. A view onto a brick wall, Breakfast 17 euros....parking 23 euros.....oh, and if you are looking for the safe, it's hidden under the bed...not very convenient access.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestlyParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your honesty. The closets we did not provide in every room because most of the people do not use them. We are very sorry we were not more clear about this. Nowadays it is an extra option in the confirmation. Thank you for the tips!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troon, ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

This hotel is really handy for the railway station.Staff are very helpful.Rooms very nice. I felt like i was in Ikea !! Breakfast very good with a mish of plates and cups.
The hotel is near the river , and the wonderful shops and pubs.
Im hoping to go back at the end of the month Its about a good 20 mins walk to the University.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audtroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownhouseHotel, Sales Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kinds words about Townhouse and Maastricht, great!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Property: Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Designhotel is a unique hotel in Maastricht. You are our guest and not just an overnight visitor. We offer authentic hospitality and southern local coziness, decorated in a modern style. Winner of the IMMENS CSR award 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing