We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, nice location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“OK hotel, nice location.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed here two nights in room 105 (Bollinger room). This room has no windows, which I knew so that was no problem. The theme is Bollinger and that is nicely done. Bathroom was all black and looked nice. Problem was that it was too dark and there was not enough light around the mirror.
The location is very good. Near the centre and nice shopping streets and near to the train station.
Breakfast is ok.
My only problem was that I stayed two nights and my room was not cleaned after the first night. This is a bit of a disappointment and you would not expect this in a hotel like this and with this price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rotterdamerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    591
    220
    83
    21
See reviews for
126
813
24
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Nice location near to town and the station with parking on the street nearby. Lots of restaurants close by. Room is fine including shower stall which I like compared to a tub. They have a small gym which is not typical of most hotels in the area. Nothing amazing on the upside but also nothing wrong.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We were given a room (standard type) at the ground floor, with the window facing a small terrace with some fences and then the street! To access this room one had to pass through a very small hallway with old and dirty carpet, and storage and other hotel staff facilities were also there.
The room itself was good enough for the price paid, but no design at all except for a "nice" lamp. There were no power sockets close to the bed, and the TV was pretty small. The bathroom was clean enough, not perfect though.
I would not advise anyone to eat the FLO "small" lunch bar. The food wasn't good and, with almost no one sitting at the tables, we were hardly considered by waiters and had to wait for them for ages every time we had a request.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessandroLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We were first surprised by not having a toilet and shower in the room and the room was not-design in any means, so upgraded to a suite after some hassling. The furnishing in the suite was worn out and lacked any practical concepts (e.g. toilet door which should close and is not see-through, mirror and sink at 3m distance making shaving in the morning a hassle) and the water for the shower did not get warm. All in all disappointed in light of expected design features, room quality to what was presented on website as well as to similarly priced and visited hotels in Maastricht.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times before and have always found it to be a nice hotel, although the "Design" part of the hotel has aged over the last couple of years. We stayed here at one of the busiest weekends of the year, just before Christmas. Fortunately, I remembered that the hotel has dedicated parking spots in the nearby garage under the cinema (rate € 23/24 hrs) so I had made sure to reserve a slot - this turned out to be a very wise decision as all the parking garages in the city were full or closed off due to the heavy traffic.

Breakfast is not included, but is ok, although the a-la-carte is rather limited. Room was spacious, although could have been better layed out if the bathroom wasn't that insanely large. The hotel is easily reachable by car and train.

Overall, good hotel to stay in if you are planning to do some sightseeing in the city, but if you are looking for a high end hotel, there are better choices nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel in general is good value for money, close to the central station. Service at reception is not up to standard though, exhausted, bored receptionist, answering multiple calls while serving in wrinkled uniform.
The Flo fish restaurant adjacent to the hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpongor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2012

i had a standard room it was perfectly enough for me, but i missed a table. First time it was such a labirynth feeling for me to find my room. :D
The breakfast was perfect as well fresh fruits vegetables, rolls, egg, salmon ect. . Staff was nice and helpful!!

Room Tip: if you want a standard room 180 is ok. a medium room 109 is also very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Do K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Property: Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 BR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht is just a few minutes’ walk from the central station. The hotel is in the heart of the trendy Wyck district, known for its unique fashion boutiques, delicatessens, antique shops, interior and design shops and art galleries. The old city centre is within walking distance; ideal for a city walk along the Markt, Onze Lieve Vrouwebasiliek, ‘t Bassin and Vrijthof, enjoying a terrace cafe along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing