We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is only a short walk from the station (100 meters). From there the city center is just a short walk. The rooms are not very 'design' like if you ask me but suffice for a short weekend trip. I think the hotel offers good value for money and would consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MattB757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    553
    210
    80
    18
See reviews for
117
752
22
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

In a few words, as writing the whole story would be too much; if you are looking for a luxury hotel dont book the design hotel. The staff/intern that was helping us was inexperienced and not helpful at all, the only person that helped us with the wrong room problem was Kiki and for that big thanks to her. We wasted 40 min waiting for a technician that never came and the staff did not bother to inform us. Also, the breakfast is a waste of money, very limited choice.
The nice part about the hotel are the beds! We both enjoyed a good night sleep, but for the money you pay i am sure you can find some other great hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

on our arrival we were offered a bowl of soup which was very welcome after a long journey the staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. the room was basic and clean but as we were over for a couple of days to see the Andre Rieu concert it was fine.
The hotel is very close to the station which is handy and easy to find and close enough to walk into town and to the market all in all we had a lovely stay. and are hoping to go back next year,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AeroScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The idea of being surrounded by art during your vacation is a wonderful concept and the town of Maastricht is a MUST SEE for anyone visiting Holland, in our opinion. We’ve been to Holland several times and have cycled all around Amsterdam and the north but this was our first trip to the south. The cycling down here is excellent and the town is a hidden gem.

It is easy to see that when the hotel itself first opened it would have been beautiful, however it is now tired and in need of a renovation. The common areas of the hotel are run down with stains on carpets, a lack of attention to detail (such as the bad astro-turf covering on a lower roof) and a general dirty feel to many of the common areas. On the up side the staff were fairly friendly but I’d say below average for our encounters in Maastricht, and the self-serve lounge was very cool.

Our room (comfort XL) was large, clean and had an interesting décor. The open concept, in my opinion, is taken a little too far with the shower and sink in the middle of the room. It also broke up the spaces of the room in an un-natural way. At least this room had a self-contained water closet with a toilet, however the lights for this little room were on the same switch for the rest of the living area which meant a late night trip to the loo required either fumbling in pitch dark or turning on all the lights in the room. The a/c in the room worked fabulously despite record temperatures outside.

To the owners, please put a little more tlc into this hotel, it is well worth saving but at present is fast becoming a 3 star hotel for budget travelers.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a little extra for the larger, nicer rooms in this hotel based upon our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnExPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our room was NOT as shown on the site we used to book it. The furnishings were sparse and in very poor condition. In fact the couch was so badly stained we didn't use it!! The bed itself was very comfortable, but the linen was too small for it!! Our room was at a close angle to the one next door, so we had to keep windows and curtains closed as we could've shaken hands with our neighbours!!! If we did open the windows, we had the noise of a fan and staff downstairs. Staff were friendly enough, but they cancelled our room key three times as they kept getting our booking wrong! Room service was OK but, again, staff got our order wrong and at 10.00am the next morning, our empty tray was still outside our room and hadn't been collected. This hotel could be a LOT better if attention was paid to detail: practical hanging space, clean carpets, furniture that isn't ready for the town dump etc., It's in a great location and has many good points, but some fundamental faults.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esme23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel for a year for business and looking back, it is an okay hotel. It can be a good hotel if They take care of a couple of important things. The staff at the reception are young and inexperienced, I think They just get out of the hotel school nearby when They arrivé in the design hotel. They oftenly made annoying mistakes, most of the time not properly activating my room card for example. And i always got nonchalant reactions and when i complain i get a beauty set as a present. i just want a proper and constant service in the first place. The quality of the rooms are completely different, which is also annoying. They have rooms with great hottubs and large rooms with hastens beds, but the cheaper rooms have low quality beds and a bit of a cheap feeling to it(not a design vibe). They also have rooms without windows, which is pretty scary. Fitness room is small but sufficient, breakfast is Nice, but could use some variation, I ate salmon for over a year. Sounds snobby offcourse, but why not change menus? Breakfast ladies are my favorite staffmembers by the way. Location is their key asset, "wijck" is the nicest part of town, you have Nice boutique shops, great bars, good restaurants closeby.

Room Tip: Check your room upfront, it really makes a difference in this hotel since They have two different qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group and had no part in booking the accommodation. I stayed in room 294 which was apparently a suite. It had a king size bed and big bath with shower and small seating area with floor to ceiling windows. Sound great you might thing but the room was no better than any travel lodge or premier travel inn that I have stayed at. The cost for two nights including taxes was 479 euros! And guess what................breakfast was extra at 19 euros!

There is nothing special about this hotel at all apart from I slept like a log in the comfy bed. The carpets are all multi coloured block affect and they are full of stains throughout the hotel. Tea/coffee wasn't replenished in the room and the complementary shampoos/lotions etc had already been used. There is no ceiling or wall lighting so getting ready for a night out is like getting ready in a dark cave.

Don't bother...................you will be seriously disappointed. The whole experience was underwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#10 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Property: Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 BR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht is just a few minutes’ walk from the central station. The hotel is in the heart of the trendy Wyck district, known for its unique fashion boutiques, delicatessens, antique shops, interior and design shops and art galleries. The old city centre is within walking distance; ideal for a city walk along the Markt, Onze Lieve Vrouwebasiliek, ‘t Bassin and Vrijthof, enjoying a terrace cafe along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing