We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stop in Maastricht”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely stop in Maastricht”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel 2 times over the course of the last year on two separate weekends. First time our friends had to bring their kid on a very short notice and hotel was extremely accommodating by providing an extra bed. Second time was part of our mini-moon. Not only did the hotel give us one of the nicest rooms, they also gave us a voucher for 2 glasses of champagne at a restaurant downstairs. Overall, location is great, rooms are nice and clean, beds and pillows are comfy and new. I would recommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita T, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Adeline,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor!
It is great to read that your first visit had been to your wishes and you decided to visit us again. Of course we hope to welcome you back very soon in Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO.
On behalf of the entire team,
Esmée Tusek – Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    540
    207
    80
    18
See reviews for
113
734
22
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel was right next to the train station and only 5 minutes from the center of the city. Personnel was very kind and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy and we heard no noise from adjacent rooms. The only thing missing was a small refrigerator in the room. But overall, it was a great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank FrankFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita T, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear FrankFinch,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences with us on Tripadvisor!
We are very happy to read that everything has been to your wishes while staying with us.
We hope to welcome you back very soon and please feel free to ask us for a small refrigerator in the room.
On behalf of the entire team,
Esmée Tusek – Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Very good location and friendly staff. Not sure why they still call this a 'design' hotel... It definitely could use remodeling! Bathroom was not that clean and a very bad shower with no water pressure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bp8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita T, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear bp8000,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry to read that the design in our hotel is not to your personal wishes, though I am glad to mention that we have successfully finished our refurbishment throughout the hotel. We are very proud of the fresh look and feel of our rooms.
Due to our Green Key Gold certificate we have certain rules & regulations we have to apply, one of them is to reduce water waist. Therefore we have special showers that safe water to help creating a better environment.
We hope to welcome you back in the future so you can experience our new and fresh rooms.

On behalf of Team Designhotel & Brasserie FLO,
Esmée Tusek – Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My room is rather cramped. Layout of room is awkward. Wall partition is thin, can hear clearly a couple having a good time next door. Furnishing and atmosphere is not well designed. Air conditioning is not really effective. However, room is very clean. Two minute walk from train station. Nearby has many cafes, restaurants and shops selling pastries, pharmacy, shoes, clothes, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita T, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear JacobXin,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry to read that the design of the room has not been to your wishes, I understand that this is very personal. Please feel free to give us your feedback during your stay, so we can adapt to it. Though I am glad to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and have seen some of the surroundings.

On behalf of Team Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Esmée Tusek – Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for a weekend and booked the room cheap through a bidding-website. When I arrived early, the staff was a bit snobbish and ignored me while they chatted a bit. I was able to leave my luggage since the room was not ready. When I returned, checked in and walked to the room, I was surprised by the bright and dirty carpet in the hallways of the hotel. It certainly could use a good vacuuming and scrubbing. The walls of the hotel were scratched and it had a bit of a rundown feel. My room was also not what I expected from a 'design' hotel. It also had the feel that it needed a thorough scrubbing and updating. On the other hand, it was a good size room. The lampshade had weird spots and was crooked. The shower/restroom had some mold and cobwebs. The room was on the first floor and very noisy (traffic outside the window). Since the room had no air-conditioning, I either had to open the window and hear the outside noise, or suffer the heat. I had the feeling this room was specially for people who booked through a coupon/bidding site, since other reviews were excellent.
On the other hand: breakfast was excellent and the breakfast staff was very friendly and caring. The location of the hotel (close to the train station and about 10 minutes walk to downtown) make up for a lot. The beds were wonderful. And when I left, they were replacing lamps in the rooms, so the dirty and broken lampshade is probably gone by now. Now all it needs is a good, solid scrubbing ...

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the higher floors. The traffic noise can be pretty bad and not all rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDutchLingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita T, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear ChrisDutchLingo,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us on Tripadvisor.
At this moment we are finishing our refurbishment throughout the hotel, which includes our rooms on the first floor. We are very excited about the new and fresh look & feel of these rooms.
Our Timeless Basic rooms have no air-conditioning, though if you prefer this I advice you to book our Modern Medium or Comfort XL rooms as these do have air-conditioning.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and the beds were to your wishes.
If you decide to visit Maastricht again, we would be happy to show you the results or our refurbishment!

On behalf of the entire team,
Esmée Tusek – Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I've loved the design of the hotel!!! I had a dark brown-white room and it was just amazing! Only that it was a bit cold for me in the room (I was there in autumn and my country is a bit warmer :) ). The location very good, close to the center and the food was amazing as well - I've especially loved the freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast.
The only funny (or strange, point of view) :) thing was that the bartender did not know what a vodka-martini was and it took us 5 mins at leats to make him understand what we wanted... :)))

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita T, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Viktoria,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor!
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel & in our beautiful city Maastricht. Of course we hope to welcome you back soon and our bartender will be waiting with a vodka-martini especially for you!

On behalf of the entire team,
Esmée Tusek – Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed her recently for a weekend break with a friend of mine. We arrived early so the rooms weren't ready yet, so checked in our luggage. When we came back after 15.00 hrs and got to our room there was a little surprise for us in store, a see thru bathroom! Whilst this maybe an interesting gadget when you are a couple it becomes a little awkward when you are travelling with a friend. Anyway the room got changed, I am happy to report they do have rooms with enclosed bathrooms to.
Walking to the vrijthof ,restaurants and shops will take you about 10 mins.
One negative point tho, the matrasses absolutely tied a knot in my back.
Breakfast in the morning was a delight with plenty to choose from

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sita T, Guest Relations Manager at Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Sonja,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us on Tripadvisor!
With 105 different rooms, some of the rooms have see through bathrooms and others do not. If you wish to visit us again in the future, please feel free to share your preferences before arrival and we will do our best to fulfil them.

On behalf of Team Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie Flo,
Esmée Tusek – Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dutch
The Dutch
#1 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
#11 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht

Property: Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 BR Maastricht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht is just a few minutes’ walk from the central station. The hotel is in the heart of the trendy Wyck district, known for its unique fashion boutiques, delicatessens, antique shops, interior and design shops and art galleries. The old city centre is within walking distance; ideal for a city walk along the Markt, Onze Lieve Vrouwebasiliek, ‘t Bassin and Vrijthof, enjoying a terrace cafe along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing