We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good location, OK hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

On previous stays I have enjoyed the hotel restaurant. Nice to see not-your-average items on the menu, albeit not very cheap. My latest stay (dined in town) I got a duplex room. Nice! Good choice of breakfast items, too. The problem was at the front desk while trying to check-out: we were a party of five and, apparently, it was difficult for the agent to add those five rooms to my credit card. Also, my bill was mixed up with another guest having a similar name. Eventually, everything was settled, but it did take awfully long and inbetween the agent answered several phone calls. I'd recommend having at least two (capable) agents available.

Room Tip: get a room with a river view - highly romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    286
    141
    34
    11
See reviews for
91
248
20
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

My husband and I spent there three nights there in June 2011. The location is excellent, close to good restaurants and with the bar/restaurant right by the river - this is probably this hotel's best feature. The room was fine, although a bit modest for a four star hotel. The mezzanine bed was connected to the entrance and bathroom by a steep staircase.
The staff seemed to be mostly made out of students in their summer break. Some of them were polite enough in addressing guests, some not and in general there is lots of room for improvement to bring the quality to a true four star hotel. At the terrace cafe, there were just a couple of waiters for a full bar (a weekend afternoon) so it was quite frustrating to have to go inside, look for a waiter, wait again, confirm the order, etc..While we wanted to relax and take it easy, we ended up chasing service staff. Also, we found staff not very useful. We asked for help in finding the weekend edition of the Dutch FT and the reply was "it's impossible"...To finish things up, our bill was full of added items..
So, again, great location and very good potential, just needs more staff training.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lighttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Spent one night at the Crowne Plaza for an in-house conference the next day. Location is good. Easy access from the railway station should you come by public transport. Some very good restaurants close by. And being right on the river front it is just a short hop across the river into the old town of Maastricht. To my surprise the hotel does not have its own wellness centre. A missed opportunity I thought for a large hotel in this class.

The hotel room was decent. Nothing flash, but okay. Temperature in the room was hot though and I couldn't get it down. Not too bad for the one night I was there, but I can see that some people might find the rooms too stuffy and uncomfortable if you prefer your accommodation cool and airy.

Maastricht is a nice city. Would come again with my better half to spend a lazy weekend there. The Crowne Plaza does its trick, but I would probably give another hotel a try next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

My husband and me stayed for the weekend. The hotel is in a great location to wonder around Maastricht. We found the room to be very noisy, people slamming doors in the corridor and some kind of noise we could hear like a hydraulic pump, that was very annoying.
The price for parking is ridiculous expensive.
Other than that, we had a fantastic weekend in Maastricht!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotselaar, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

At new year's eve I spend one night with one of my best friends in the Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht. We specially choose this hotel because it's situated very close to the Sint-Servaasbrug and approx a 10-minute walk to the city centre. Service at the reception was quite good and I mostly appreciated the long and very very comfortable double beds, certainly if you measure 2 meters!!

We only felt a bit unpleasant about the fact that they did not mention that we could park for free outside (1). Luckily we asked the reception lady otherwise we probably paid for nothing.. When I booked this hotel via booking.com some weeks ago, I only found a paid Q-Park parking besides the hotel (€ 22/day) and a parking beneath the hotel (€ 23/day). Because we didn't knew where to park, we grabbed a spot in the street nearby, where we found out that parking our car was free due to firework prevention measures (all other days you have to pay).

What also bothered was the fact that we paid € 200/night for a hotel room with and old 24 inch(?) television (2). For this price I would rather expect an 32" LCD tv and lights that go out by themselves when you leave the room (like at the Ghent Marriot Hotel, Belgium). Also they mentioned when we arrived that check-out was 1hour delayed due to "New Year", but we had to pay € 40 IF we checked out at 18h. Funny thing is that someone of the reception said to me at the telephone one week earlier that it was just € 25 (rip-off?).

What also struck my attention was the fact that you had to pay for the wireless internet through the whole hotel: €9/day (3). I would rather expect that you have to pay for this in your room, but not the hotel's reception/lounge. We didn't booked (4) the breakfast (€ 26 per person looked quite expensive, knowing there's a bakery nearby). The ice dispenser near the elevator's was very useful for making some drinks in our room before we left to the restaurant (5).

Overall this was a quite good hotel which looks a bit old on the outside, a very friendly staff, but we were a bit unpleasant about the price. I never stayed in a Crowne Plaza Hotel before, but perhaps € 150 was better than roughly € 200/night.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl_Vanormelingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Clean stylish rooms and incredibly good value. Excellent restaurant but bar food also great. Breakfast with view of old town over the river. Not in old town but close enough to walk easily over the bridge. Garage underneath hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tune-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Fantastic hotel, very friendly and helpfull staff at the reception desk. Especially upon Check-out, Ms. Felix and Mr. Wieringa, were very friendly and attuned to each other. Good job guys!

The room was spacious and equipped with all supplies a guest needs. Bathrobe, slippers, soft towels and most important a very nice bed. Soft and comfortable.

The hotel is well located next to the Maas river. The city centre is easy to reach by the Ceramique bridge which is located just next to the hotel.

And having breakfast in the breakfast room, with the view over the river makes the picture complete.
We absolutely enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Property: Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing