We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, service and what an ideal base while exploring Maastricht's old town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent location, service and what an ideal base while exploring Maastricht's old town!”
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

This is another long-delayed review. I must have visited Maastricht in May 2010 but I won't give justice to the hotel if I don't share my thoughts.

Traveled with my husband and 3-year old daughter. The hotel is on the more modern side of Maastricht with the museums and the promenade where you have convenience stores like Albert Heijn and Blokker. So being near these places, it's great to have shops where you can get provisions if you need to fill up that toddler's snack pack.

I loved the convenience of just crossing the bridge and you are right in the old town area.

I remember our room was rather small and our window was facing the back of the italian restaurant near the hotel. I must have gotten a very cheap rate via booking.com but it didn't matter. We were in Maastricht to see the sites and not to stay inside the room :0).

Service is very nice. Servers during breakfast are very friendly. Breakfast buffet is delicious and you can have your omelette, fried egg -- freshly cooked.

We totally enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to book another weekend, this time with two kids in tow.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    294
    144
    35
    11
See reviews for
92
254
23
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I am currently here at the hotel, and thought I would write a few comments while sitting outside on the terrace of the bar area.

Firstly the good point (yes point / not points) - its a very nice location, on the river bank, and the terrace bar is great for sitting around in the nice weather and people watching.

However, everything else about this hotel is very average. I am a member of the so called ‘priority club’ (on the highest membership tier), meaning I am a loyal customer of IHG, but quite honestly that means nothing in a hotel like this, you don’t feel any better looked after or than anyone else. The only ‘benefit’ was a free beer at the bar! (compare this to some IHG hotels in asia where you get access to all kinds of business facilities, internet, and buffet / snacks free of charge!). As others have said, nothing is complementary at this place (sorry – my mistake, 2 very small complementary bottles of water).

The check-in was very impersonal, staff don’t look particularly friendly or approachable, the bar staff aren’t really interested in making sure you have a drink. I’ve been sat outside for more than 15 minutes waiting for the bar man to notice I have an empty glass, while inside I see about 7 customers sitting around and no one at the bar.

The rooms look very tired, and as others have said they still have the big old CRT TV’s in 2012, which sums the décor in the rest of the hotel up perfectly.

Needless to say, its unlikely I’ll be going out of my way to stay here again….. not exactly inviting / enticing. I might give them another try, just to check if I was unlucky the first time here.

Room Tip: No advice if you want a good room, I wish you good luck... I have a Platinum membership and I got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaykay1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear JayKay1975,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and for leaving us feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service received from our staff. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We arrived here by train and walked the 10 minutes to the hotel with our rolling suitcases. It was easy to find--just off the main street down from the station.
The hotel is large and located on the river and we did get a river view room which was delightful. We observed the river cruise ships arriving at the dock across the river and we enjoyed all the activity along the river and the people crossing the nearby bridge, etc. Very picturesque.
The restaurant in the hotel had good service, but the food was not that good--one night we went down to eat dinner there. The general ambiance of the hotel is sort of impersonal, but every amenity is offered, and the rooms are comfortable and the bathroom is nice. We were able to store some sandwiches in the little refrigerator they had.
The front desk was very helpful to me when I needed to print out tickets to an event, but they didn't know any suggestions for good restaurants, which I would think would be a thing they are asked often. However, all the service we experienced here was good.
It is easy to walk across the bridge to the main shopping areas of Maastrict, and it is a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanlgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This a modern hotel on the opposite side of the river from the old town. It was satisfactory but expensive for what was on offer. We had booked a standard room through an online agency and asked for a river view. We were told at reception that only superior rooms had river views . We were offerred breakfast at 25 euros per person per day, very expensive compared with some of the lovely nearby cafes. The television was an old cathode ray tv that needed updating. There are a very limited number of channels available. Internet wi-fi access was available at 10 euros per day, again very expensive. The place is mainly aimed at the business and small conference market and the reception staff although efficient lack the personal touch.

Room Tip: If you want a river view a go for something other than a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kejori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear kejori,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances into the light as these will allow us to reflect on improving our performance.Your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to The Netherlands.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Rooms not in condition. Front desk staff should be trained once more.
Breakfast view is excellent but food wise not at all good rate as below average.
So, in short try another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuttan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Kuttan1969,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

they checked me in to the wrong room and basically through a parking ticket at me, made it clear it was EUR 22 and you could only park once, no in and out

internet was EUR17 a day

funny that they were promoting movies for sale and the TV was around 20 years old, a cathode ray tube model

the pillowcases and sheets were the cheapest blend

this hotel is a poor value despite being in a decent location

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numberoneson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear numberoneson,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Crown Plaza hotel for four days in April when we were in town visiting my daughter who was attending university there. We were very disappointed in the place. It is a boring American-style business hotel with no character where everything is ala carte. On the plus side, the rooms were nice. They were furnished with a large king sized bed with four pillows and a very nice comforter. The room had a minibar with a refrigerator and a tea pot with instant coffee packets. The bathroom was good sized and there were 3 sets of towels. Housekeeping was good; the room was always clean. The hotel is right on the Maas River, which our room faced, and that was nice watching the boats ply the river and large canal cruise ships dock across the way. On the negative side, the front desk crew was often misinformed about where to purchase necessities or how to rent a car, and they were totally clueless about the public transport network, for example not knowing where to catch the bus even. (To be honest, after being fed up and finally complaining, the front desk manager was accommodating and apologetic.) More annoyingly, everything was extra: no business center and no internet access for the use of guests; WiFi in the rooms cost an additional 18 euros per day; no workout room unless you wanted to pay 13 euros per person per day to go several blocks to a local gym with with they were associated. The TV was a small non-high def TV and it was rather small. Also, while Maastricht is compact, the Crown Plaza is across the river from everything in Maastrict except for the train station, so it was a hike over one of two footbridges to get to any of the sights in the City.

Room Tip: The river side has a nice view of Maastricht, but the river boats are literally a few feet from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear MrTransit,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Property: Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing