We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Staying at the Crowne Plaza is convenient and OK. It is a comfortable, standard, modernist business hotel with a good location in a charming part of the city. I did not try breakfast, but the business buffet lunches were actually quite good. Service was fine, but I do find it annoying you still have to pay for WIFI in such a place; I mean, I had free WIFI in nearby cafes, and also an route more or less all the way home from Maastricht, including the intercity train to Amsterdem Schiphol airpoirt, the airport itself, on board the Norwegian flight, and in the local trains and even the bus service to my house in my home town, just not in that penny pinching Crowne Plaza hotel! But OK, that is a minor issue; i would not discourage a stay for thet reason.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobileDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Crowne Plaza Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read reviews written by our guests. I would like to thank you for taking the time for this. Or course the location of our hotel is unique in Maastricht. The fact that Wifi still has to be paid for, is because we offer a high speed, safe and secure connection. It is very important nowadays, that the connections are safe, to avoid information to be received by others. It would be great if we may welcome you again in the near future!

Warm regards
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

The crowne plaza hotel is a standard crowne plaza hotel in the center of maastricht. Located only five minutes walk from the vrijthof in de center of maastricht.
The room is clean and standard crowne plaza room, with a very comfortable bed. The funny thing is that in a lot of hotels you get sweets on your pillow, however here you get two mini solutions for a better night's sleep, which is nice. The room is nice, however a bit outdated, with an old thick tv and some wear and tear places in the bathtub. It does need a bit of a do-over.
Breakfast is good with lots of choices. Parking is (as in many europian hotels) paid under the hotel.
In short, the hotel is good: great location, clean rooms, comfortable bed, nice service and good breakfast. however it could use a little fixer uper for it to be great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottevanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Ms. van Beek,

What a nice comment about our hotel! Of course a good night sleep is the most important wgen staying in a hotel, followed by a balanced breakfast to start the new day. Indeed the televisions have to be replaced by new (flat) ones and the bathroom also need an up date, however we are glad you still enjoyed your stay and took the time to write about it.

We hope we may welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

It's my first trip overseas and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza. I've stayed in plenty of Crownes in the US and they're just ok. However the one in Maastricht will have to be rated as my favorite Crowne Plaza. The location was perfect, the room was comfy, the staff was the best and that breakfast buffet along with where it is located at, was to die for! Not only a nice breakfast, but a view worth writing about!! Thank you Crowne Plaza for making my first overseas trip, perfect!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl75555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne6221, Mariska Schuurmans Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Crowne Plaza Maastricht Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice comment. It is very special for us to be the hotel you stayed at during your first trip overseas. We hope you may make more of those trips and enjoy your stay with Crowne Plaza worldwide and if you ever come back to Maastricht, we will make sure you feel very welcome again.

Warm regards
Mariska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We visited Maastricht as a couple and stayed in the Crown Plaza hotel.
We travelled by car and used the navigator. We had no problem founding the hotel. We arrived around noon on a Saturday and asked the reception where to park our car. The entrance to the underground car park was across the square, next to the hotel. We received an entrance card from the reception. Via the car park you have access to the hotel, so you don' t have to go outside.
The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Although we arrived very early, we promptly got the key for our room. We had an upgrade to the rooms at the Maas side. These rooms are renovated and gives you a lot of comfort. The only minor is an old TV, no flat screen and no free Wifi.
We had two kingsize beds in the room. The beds are fine, we slept well.
The location of the hotel is not in the centre, but on the other side of the river Maas. Just around the corner there is a bridge, de Hoge Brug (bridge) and less then 300 meters to the right you will find the Sint Servaas Bridge.
From the hotel to the centre is just an 8 minutes walk, via both bridges. If you are visiting Maastricht for the first time take the Sint Servaas Bridge to walk to the centre.
In the centre you will find a lot of shops and places where you can have a drink or have lunch/diner.
In the evening we went to Valkenburg, by car. From the reception we received a new ticket for the car park. You need a new ticket because on one ticket you can just go in and out once.
Valkenburg is situated about 8 km from Maastricht. In Valkenburg you will find f.i Therma 2000 and the Casino.
When we returned at the hotel we went to the bar for a drink. Staff at the bar was very friendly and we had a couple of drinks. Bar closes at around 1 am.
In the weekends you can have breakfast until 11:30 am. The breakfast was very good, a variation of bread and fresh rolls.
Resume: quietly situated on the Maas near the centre of Maastricht, just an 8 minutes walk along the river and across the bridge. Lot of shops, churches, cafes, terraces and small restaurants in the centre, lovely place to be. Not one of the cheapest hotels, but sometime you just have to go for some luxury.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ydoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writing this extended review on Tripadvisor. It is good to now that you enjoyed your stay with us. Maastricht is known for shopping and dining, Crowne Plaza Maastricht is located centrally inbetween.

Please feel free to contact us any time in case you are planning a new trip to Maastricht.

Warm regards
Mariska Schuurmans
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Nice rooms, sufficient facilities, very good restaurant and very nice and friendly people. Very close to the main attractions of Maastricht, restaurants and shopping area. Easy to go to other parts of the area. Parking by staff. Several meeting rooms.

Room Tip: Although a quite area, we were waken up by some happy people singing outside in front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013
Google Translation

Beste Meneer Henry H.,

Allereerst de beste wensen voor 2013!

Het is voor ons altijd erg fijn om te lezen wanneer onze gasten een prettig veblijf hebben gehad en wij waarderen het zeer dat u uw ervaring op deze manier wilt delen.

Wanneer u voor dit jaar weer plannen heeft om richting Maastricht te komen, maken wij graag een nieuwe reservering voor u.

Met vriendelijke groet,
Mariska Schuurmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

Good surprise as there actually is a refurbished wing (left side when facing the hotel). Those rooms are spacious and modern enough. Personel is very friendly, flexible and efficient. The hotel restaurant is really fine, and you can always try Kobe (Japanese restaurant) around the corner.
Very nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippeP3625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012
Google Translation

Beste PhilippeP

Hartelijk dank voor de genomen moeite om deze mooie opmerkingen over ons hotel te delen. Uiteraard doen wij altijd onze uiterste best om onze gasten een onvergetelijk verblijf te verzorgen. Wij hopen u dan ook snel weer te mogen begroeten!

Hartelijke groet,
Mariska Schuurmans
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

If you're looking for an old fashoned, noisy, not well furnished and an expensive hotel with unfriendly staff, I'd recommend that one! I had to wake up every morning on a sound of a truck collecting the trash, I felt like am sleeping in the street, the windows do nothing, you can here the same noise whenever anybody passes by the door as well as the noise of doors being closed. The TV is very small for the amount of money pay for the hotel. Staff (With exceptions) is not friendly, they found it hard to even smile. The good things is that the hotel is clean with good location next to the river (Not the best in Maastricht anyway) but there are a lot of better options if you're not staying in a more-expensive river side room. The restaurant is good with a nice view and the breakfast was above average. Ahhh btw I got back one day at night and found that my roomwas not cleaned.
In brief, not worth the money AT ALL.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Sherif E,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked our restaurant and noticed the cleanliness of our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations specifically with unfriendly staff, housekeeping, and noise concerns. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Family Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range: £87 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing