We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location in this historic city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Awesome location in this historic city”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is located in one of the most picturesque spots in this city. The view of the city over the river Maas is priceless .Its location in the trendy Wyck and Rechtstraat areas is great.The hotel was clean,WiFi was always on and its proximity to the St.Servaas bridge couldn't be better.The walk into Maastricht from this hotel is quick and the hotel easily recognizable from anywhere because of its rooftop sign. Breakfast was enjoyable especially on the riverfront however variation to the menu on a daily basis would have been appreciated especially if your stay is longer than a week. Rooms are always clean .Maintenance on the AC is scheduled for later in the year I'm told, because in the late afternoons the room got a little warm. The hotel staff were all friendly and very helpful.Special mention of Sekoy the porter and Rick for arranging tours and airport transfers. Front desk CSR's were very kind and patient. Overall the hotel was great and I would like to visit again very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the Riverview rooms-the view of the river and the city is awesome especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander J, Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Lovtravelbug

Thank you very much for filling out your review. It's very good to read that you would like to stay with us again.

With kind regards,

Sander Janssen
Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    294
    144
    35
    11
See reviews for
92
254
23
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My rating would be much higher, but I can't if the Crowne Plaza claims to support business travellers. The wireless was just plain awful. Reminded me of dial-up. Painful. Besides that I liked the hotel. Comfy room, friendly staff. Great location just across the foot bridge from city center. Nice views of the river. Breakfast was extensive and tasty. The architecture is a bit dated for such a nice location, but that's minor. If I was here on holiday, probably a 4. Poor wireless dictates a 2.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OlyRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteinCity, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear OlyRanger,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is great to know you appreciate our location as well as your concerns were addressed by our staff during your stay. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the condition of our internet. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Sander Janssen
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed here for nearly two weeks and was in suite 317 with a great view and access to Maastricht. I loved the location and two patios that overlooked the river and the old city. The lobby and restaurant were very nice. The breakfast buffet was delicious and abundant. My personal preference would be for a smaller/lighter option with a lower price, but that's no complaint about the hotel.

The amenities in the room were very nice. Nice toiletries, bath robe and slippers, comfortable bed and plenty of room. My complaints are that the room looked like it was 20 years old and in need of paint, deep tile cleaning, wood floor repair and most of all there was a bad smell. I thought it was musty from being near the water, but a visitor of mine said perhaps it smelled like a dead mouse. The room was clean, but certainly worn. Also, perhaps it was simply the time of year (transitioning from winter to summer), but despite turning the AC all the way up and the radiators "off", the room was almost always too warm.

On the up side, there was remodeling ongoing at the hotel throughout my stay and it appeared that perhaps after my departure, they would get to suite 317. Overall, my stay was pleasant and just needed to have open windows when possible to make the room more fresh.

Room Tip: definitely try to get a room with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micrane253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

From the outside it looks to be quite compact, hotel is modern with a good quality of service.
I stayed in an Executive room for couple of nights, which was quite large and well equipped, bathroom was of a correct size and clean.
The bed is very comfortable, breakfast has a pleasant view and the continental buffet is correct as well.
Location of the hotel is correct too, as it let you being close to restaurant & bars, and you can cross the bridge located next to the hotel to get into the old city.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on Square 1992 ("Plein 1992")
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleXTrip009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxembourg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

nice hotel, ideally situated on the river Maas, we had only to cross the bridge to be right in the old town of Maastricht. delicious breakfast although a little overpriced. the bar and the restaurant have outdoor sitting with view of the Maas and the city....wonderful place for drinks at sunset

Room Tip: if you have a room on the riverside, you have a lovely view but hear the big boats as the come rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josieontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a standard guest room but upon check in we were upgraded to an executive room. It was not clear to us whether this was due to my gold card or simply because of the renovations they are doing. The restaurant and several rooms are going through renovation but we never had any noise from that. Here and there there were signs of the renovation with carpet rolls etc in the hallway, but nothing that really bothered us. With the restaurant closed, breakfast was served in a meeting room in the conference center in the basement, without windows. Therefore, not enjoying the views over the river. The executive room we got was fine, it looked brand new, but in my view nothing special or more spacious one would get in other hotels I am used to stay at, e.g. Hilton, Marriott, Fairmont, Wyndham. The bed was fine and the room was quiet. The breakfast was ok. The location of the hotel is very convenient, as well as the parking garage, directly accessible from within the hotel. Overnight charge is 18,50 and is fair in view of charges at other parking garages downtown. After checkout you can leave your car while you are shopping so that is very convenient too. 5 minute walk straight into the shopping district, and many fine restaurants around the hotel. Bottom line: average hotel, nothing really wrong with it, nothing exceptional either, and in a very convenient location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DutchB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear DutchB,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stay away a lot for work so used to sleeping in numerous hotels. I have to say this is one of the best
Check in was seamless, On arrival, car parking was offered, though when we chose to park ourselves - the concierge still provided assistance as we had right hand drive and barrier left hand. Late check out was offered.
Reception provided good information about places to eat and suggested a good walking tour of the city.
The hotel is ideally located for seeing the city. It is well served with nearby restaurants - Italian,Thai,French......
The room was clean and bed comfortable.
I had the best nights sleep that I had had for ages! Even at home! Comfortable bed, good linen and super pillows! And of course the added little luxury of the essential oils to aid a good sleep.
My only small gripe and it is a personal one - is that I do not like showering in a bath with a shower curtain.
We did not eat in the hotel as we wanted to experience local restaurants.
Would definitely stay again either on business or pleasure

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 38 in Maastricht
1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 38 in Maastricht
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Property: Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing