We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing but convenient ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing but convenient ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the CP Maastricht during Andre Rieu weekend as our first choice was fully booked!

We waited about 10 minutes to checkin when we arrived although there was 8 people behind the reception serving 1 person! Our room looked well furnished but dated. The weather outside is hot, our room even hotter the AC needs upgrading. The fridge didn't work.

We decided not to pay €26 per person for breakfast and when we checked in they offered it for €17 which is still expensive considering local restaurants offer it for €9.

The location is great looking out to the river but we were just located above the outside bar and it was still noisey at 2am but didn't stop us sleeping, beds were comfortable.

Tea and coffee making facilities and ice machine were appreciated.

Overall not great value for money but convenient for the short walk to the city square for Andre Rieu concert and railway station.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pwalker19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    294
    144
    35
    11
See reviews for
92
254
22
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht when I was over to see Ander Rieu on 6th July. Excellent service all around, bit pricey but have no complaints. All staff spoke Dutch and English, meals were top class as was the hotel. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I don’t think CP Maastricht qualifies for the four stars it boasts. I spent there three nights in July 2014. It’s a fine hotel badly managed and poorly maintained. The receptionists have the attitude of nobility whose peace has been disturbed by some lower form of life. The fridge in the room didn’t work, the footprints on the bathroom floor (it was raining all the time) were never washed, but the corner of the toilet paper was always dutifully folded back. Probably cleaning the bathroom is not considered necessary. The bed linen was never changed. On top of that, though the room was prepaid by the company I work for, the receptionists couldn’t find the payment and blocked 509 euros in my credit card. A week later the sum is still earmarked as a pending payment and will probably be automatically unblocked by MasterCard in two weeks time. Thanks a lot for the excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oylok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Due to my Platinum Membership and a fully booked Hotel I was upgraded to a Suite(otherwise you get the renovated Executive rooms).
It was raining heavily, so the rain could be heard from the windows. The Hotel is in need of some renovations in some areas.
The beds are very comfy and the service is nice for dinner.
Breakfast gets a bit busy and the staff seems a little less smiling as I have seen on several occassions.
The Valet Service for the car is very pleasant and worth the money.
Check out took again some time as my address that I had asked to change had again not been made correctly and a new employee or trainee was working there.
Overall, the location makes this Hotel a top choice and you know what you get.
Will return ver frequently as of August/September until end of the year.

Room Tip: take a room with a view to the river Maas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lufthansa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maresfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked months ago for a motorcycling break. Specified a twin room, but got a double. Asked to change rooms and they said they were fully booked. Pointed out that we had booked months previously, and that the requirements were explicit. Just shrugged shoulders. We were eventually given the option of having a room which had been "closed" due to the smell in the room. The smell was bad, but bearable if windows were kept open - and definitely preferable to a double bed with someone renown for his snoring decibels. Agreed to take room - and then they said they were going to charge for it!! The justification was that they would have to clean the room afterwards - i did point out that they clearly hadn't done a great job previously!! Worst customer service in a very long time!! Crowne Plaza are off my list.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJC996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear MJC996,

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. It is regrettable to read that the room quality was a let down. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We have forwarded your concerns with the respective departments and I can assure you that necessary actions will be taken to ensure this type of situation does not reoccur.

We appreciate all the feedback we receive from valued guests like you, as this allows us to focus on areas of improvement. Should your future travels bring you back to the area, we look forward to serving you better.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've spent a romantic overnight stay in the wonderful Crowne Plaza of Maastricht. It's also the only hotel in Maastricht which is a member of any large loyalty programme; this was also important as a choice of hotel;

The entry area is very spacious, as were the rooms. Parking is nearby at 1min. distance and can be reached directly from the hotel. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast area had a 'posh' feeling and when the weather is good, you could enjoy your eggs benedict from the outside terrace on the banks of the river Maas.

The hotel is located in an area which is a bit quieter than the city central, but closeby the best strip of restauraunts in Maastricht. Dinner in the hotel is also possible, but we haven't tried that since we went for a tapas menu closeby.

Would stay again for a romantic retreat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
161 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is located in one of the most picturesque spots in this city. The view of the city over the river Maas is priceless .Its location in the trendy Wyck and Rechtstraat areas is great.The hotel was clean,WiFi was always on and its proximity to the St.Servaas bridge couldn't be better.The walk into Maastricht from this hotel is quick and the hotel easily recognizable from anywhere because of its rooftop sign. Breakfast was enjoyable especially on the riverfront however variation to the menu on a daily basis would have been appreciated especially if your stay is longer than a week. Rooms are always clean .Maintenance on the AC is scheduled for later in the year I'm told, because in the late afternoons the room got a little warm. The hotel staff were all friendly and very helpful.Special mention of Sekoy the porter and Rick for arranging tours and airport transfers. Front desk CSR's were very kind and patient. Overall the hotel was great and I would like to visit again very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the Riverview rooms-the view of the river and the city is awesome especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander J, Manager at Crowne Plaza Maastricht, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Lovtravelbug

Thank you very much for filling out your review. It's very good to read that you would like to stay with us again.

With kind regards,

Sander Janssen
Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
1,274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 37 in Maastricht
1,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#2 of 37 in Maastricht
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#5 of 37 in Maastricht
1,056 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#12 of 37 in Maastricht
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Property: Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing